Neutrogena • Healthy Volume Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.0(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 blue1berry on 2/6/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by blue1berry

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a difficult time finding a mascara that doesn't run on me. I purchased this one because it was highly rated in Good Housekeeping magazine and received high marks for not smudging and leaving raccoon eyes. Wrong! This has to be the worst mascara I have tried. Within an hour, I had black smudge circles under my eyes. How could this be waterproof? I will continue with Makeup Forever Smoky Lash in navy blue. Strangely Makeup Forever's Smoky Lash in blue doesn't run on me but their same mascara in black does. Back to Netrogena's Healty Volume Waterproof, total disappointment. It wasn't cheap either for a drugstore brand. I think I paid about $9. Note to self - take Good Houskeeping Magazine's makeup reviews/recommendations with grain of salt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mischa on 1/21/2014 2:49:00 AM more reviews by mischa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I put it on like I would any other mascara. By the time I got to work, my eyes felt irritated, were watering and I ended up with raccoon eyes. So much for waterproof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thowell124 on 5/10/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by thowell124

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was pleasantly surprised. I've tried so many drugstore mascaras and always go back to my HG L'Oreal Voluminous Waterproof. I have to have waterproof formula as somehow, with any non-waterproof formula I use, it always ends up in a goopy mess under my eyes within an hour or so. While the Neutrogena formula does tend to smudge occasionally beneath my eyes (whereas L'Oreal doesn't), and the brush is a little too big for my preference, it's still workable because this mascara is so buildable and makes my lashes look so beautiful, that I can overlook the flaws with the brush & formula. Somehow, the word "healthy" in the name really does make my lashes look healthy. It sounds crazy, but I feel like my lash count has doubled since using this mascara. I love this as my everyday mascara, as with 2-3 coats, it's subtle yet still makes my lashes pop, and when I layered L'Oreal over the Neutrogena, it was so perfect for a night-time look. I will definitely buy this again, as this has become my new favorite daytime mascara, although I think I will try the Healthy Lengths next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 badwolf42 on 3/14/2013 7:38:00 PM more reviews by badwolf42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is so amazing! It is one of the few mascaras that is actually waterproof which is fantastic. I am very athletic and run 3 seasons of the year then swim in the winter. This stays on through the many workouts I go through and DOES NOT BUDGE AT ALL!!!! I wear the color black/brown and it is the perfect color for my green eyes. I love the big brush that really does add volume to my lashes unlike others. It doesn't clump either so it looks amazing. It comes off with makeup remover too. This is probably the best mascara I have ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kendall2 on 1/23/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by kendall2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For me, this mascara is an answer to prayer. I don't normally write reviews but I'm posting this one in hopes that it will help others who suffer from the same problem I have. I had used Maybelline Great Lash waterproof mascara for more than 20 years just because it was inexpensive and I saw no reason to try anything else. Over the past few years, my eyes have become more and more watery and irritated. My upper eyelids were wet at the outside corners and which was super annoying and made a mess of my eye makeup as I was constantly dabbing at my eyes. I consulted an eye doctor and a pharmacist and was told that dryness or allergies could be the cause of the irritation. They suggested various eye drops which didn't help at all.

I was sure my mascara couldn't be to blame since I had used the same product for so long. Finally, I started doing research and discovered that mascara does sometimes cause eyes to water. I don't know if Maybelline changed the ingredients or if I became allergic to something in the product over time. Giving up mascara wasn't an option because I have blonde very sparse eyelashes and look awful without eye makeup. I can't afford permanent eyeliner and have had no luck learning to apply false eyelashes.

I started trying different mascara products. (Inimitable, Telescopic, L'Oreal Double Extend.) L'Oreal Double Extend was the worst - It made my eyes sting so much that I had to remove it immediately. The others were less irritating than the Maybelline Great Lash but my eyes still watered. I considered trying the Blinc mascara since many people report that it's non-irritating. However, it's also known not to be very dramatic so I haven't tried it yet. I used Neutrogena lengthening mascara for a while but it isn't waterproof and kept washing off the outer corners of my eyes. I then tried the 100% Pure Mascara (Blackberry shade). I thought it would be the answer since it doesn't contain any chemicals. Surprisingly, it made my eyes sting so ot was back to the drawing board. Recently, I read on a blog about someone who was having the same issues as I have with stinging, watery eyes. She said that the only mascara that doesn't irritate her eyes is Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara. It is made without many of the chemicals found in most mascara. I tried it but it also made my eyes water so apparently products that work for one person may not work for another.

A week ago I bought the Neutrogena Healthy Volume Waterproof Mascara. Voila - problem solved! For the first time in years, I've enjoyed dry eyes with no irritation. I'm so grateful and relieved to find mascara that works for me.

I had no problems with smudging at all. This mascara is fairly dry. I would say that my lashes feel a little powdery and if I touch them, the mascara could flake off but it isn't a problem since I don't touch them. I do hate the big brush. My eyes are small and because of my short lashes, it's a challenge to use such a huge brush. I'll gladly put up with it. This mascara is hard to remove. I use Vaseline which works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 highschool101 on 10/25/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by highschool101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love Neutrogena foundations, so I thought I would try this mascara, ewwwwww! The brush gets mascara on my eyelid and crease. I can't get my outer or inner lashes with the brush. It does give my lashes some volume, but not much. For a Neutrogena product, this is dissappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelbysahara on 10/25/2012 9:41:00 AM more reviews by shelbysahara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I am in love!!! I naturally have long, thick lashes, but they're light at the tips. This darkens, defines, lengthens, and thickens beautifully. One coat is great. No clumping, whatsoever, it just looks like just really awesome eyelashes!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gabster90 on 9/26/2012 7:48:00 PM more reviews by Gabster90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I rate my mascaras based on whether or not they can hold a curl: this one didn't. I always go for waterproof mascaras because they tend to hold curled up lashes better than non/waterproof mascaras (I have poker straight lashes). Plus this mascara flaked a lot. I got this for $4 at rite aid since there was a buy one get on 50% off deal for all neutrogena products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CyborgAnnie on 9/2/2012 1:40:00 PM more reviews by CyborgAnnie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I gave this only a 3 even though it's my favorite mascara, until I run upon a better one. I think the best thing for mascara is to have tricks up your sleeve. Befor applying mascara I make a paste from baby powder and a bit of water. Apply it with a clean wand, let dry, then brush through with a metal eyelash comb, then apply my mascara. Also there is another product I use prior to my lashes as a primer, but cant suggest it bc its not made for eyelashes and I would hate to.cause someone to have irritation but it's work for me for years. All mascaras run under my eyes bc I use sunscreens, foundation, and lotions. Using this secret and powder helps a lot. I'm also trying no foundation and only spot covering which has been doing really well. There has to be a good mascara primer out there. Until I find it I will keep doing what I'm doing carefully. Hint: Matte hair sculpting aide. I looked up the ingredients and found most in cosmetics already. This mascara is the best I've tried so far, I just wish I didn't need a primer or that they actually primers easily avaible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HollyG69 on 8/12/2012 10:15:00 AM more reviews by HollyG69

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Gave little volume, didn't flake, and clumped a little, stayed in place but gave me a natural look that's why I gave it 4 lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Mascara products