Neutrogena • Healthy Volume Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.1(67 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ACupOfGreenTea on 6/24/2014 10:29:00 PM more reviews by ACupOfGreenTea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
+ Really waterproof
+ Lightweight
+ Widely available at drugstores and major retailors

Cons:
+ Big brush might be tricky to work with
+ Kind of expensive to purchase in-store (i.e. drugstores)

Reference:
I purchased this product in the shade Carbon Black at my local Target for just under $10.00 USD if I remember correctly. At drugstores, the price point is a little bit higher at around $11-$12, at least in my area it is. Strangely the official Neutrogena website lists the price at $7.49 (as of June 24, 2014)... My application technique involves repeatedly zig-zagging the brush along my lashes for even product distribution for one coat. I personally prefer a more natural look. I can't really speak for how well this product holds a curl since my stubborn eyelashes will not curl for the life of them.

My Experience:
The formula is "tacky," somewhere between "wet" and "dry," but not sticky. As I have previously stated, I prefer a more natural look so I don't really apply more than one coat. I have tried applying multiple coats (letting the one before dry a bit first) and I did notice some clumping. However, lashes can be separated or redefined if you go over them again with another clean, dry mascara wand. Carbon Black adds a nice, darker tint to my already dark lashes.

It's a little bit intimidating to work with the huge brush (see the reference picture), but with the application technique I use, I find that the brush helps makes my lashes look fluttery in a very natural way -- length, definition, and some volume. The two things I like most about this product is that it practically becomes weightless once it dries down and secondly, it does not make my lashes brittle or prone to breaking.

I have oily skin, my eyelids included and this product does not flake, budge, or smudge even after moderate exercise and daily sweat and wear. This lasts through rain, and while it hasn't underwent the tears test yet, get this: I forgot to take off my eye makeup before showering and when I got out, most, if not all of the product was still on my lashes! Forget waterproof, this is practically bulletproof! Needless to say, I cannot be any happier with the performance of this product.

This product comes off easily with (probably most) waterproof eye makeup removers. (I use the Lumene Waterproof eye makeup remover). I would imagine something really emollient such as petroleum jelly and olive oil would work as well in a pinch.

Other Comments:
The packaging is pretty standard for mascara. No bells and whistles there. I did notice a slight scent to it. According to the Neutrogena website (as of June 24, 2014), fragrance is listed as the very last ingredient. This product does not emit a strong scent, but to me it comes off a bit like chlorine, as if you went to the swimming pool or water park. It doesn't really bother me, but this might be something worth reconsidering if you are sensitive to fragrances.

Closing Commentary:
I definitely recommend this mascara for every occasion since not only is it indestructible, but that it doesn't leave your lashes feeling brittle or "crunchy." The only thing I don't really like about it is that it is priced slightly higher than other comparable products. But then again, Neutrogena is kind of expensive for drugstore products.

(If the price really turns you off, the Maybelline Full N Soft Waterproof is another fantastic product at a slightly friendlier price.)

[EDIT]: This product also lasted through an eye exam, one where the optometrist puts drops to dilate your eyes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 classymum on 6/8/2014 2:23:00 PM more reviews by classymum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh the endless search for a waterproof mascara that doesn't clump, run, gives voluminous, full lashes and most importantly does not smudge under your ever-important concealer! I really liked this mascara and I have tried a lot of them. It has a nice, big full brush that grabs every lash and works great with an eyelash curler. The curl holds very well. It did not bother my very sensitive eyes, which for me is a huge plus. The color is a nice soft black -- very natural for daytime events. The one downside is that it did smudge underneath my eyes within the first hour -- once I rubbed it off and reapplied some powder under my eyes, I didn't have any other issues the rest of the day. On that note, I always have trouble with my mascara smudging under my eyes -- I have oily lids and my concealer is a Bobbi Brown; which I really like but it is very creamy -- that, combined with my combination skin means I get smudges and there isn't much I can do about it. Oh well! Overall, I would purchase this mascara again. I found it to much better than many pricey brands such as Lancome's Hypnose Waterproof which in my opinion is terrible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blue1berry on 2/6/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by blue1berry

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a difficult time finding a mascara that doesn't run on me. I purchased this one because it was highly rated in Good Housekeeping magazine and received high marks for not smudging and leaving raccoon eyes. Wrong! This has to be the worst mascara I have tried. Within an hour, I had black smudge circles under my eyes. How could this be waterproof? I will continue with Makeup Forever Smoky Lash in navy blue. Strangely Makeup Forever's Smoky Lash in blue doesn't run on me but their same mascara in black does. Back to Netrogena's Healty Volume Waterproof, total disappointment. It wasn't cheap either for a drugstore brand. I think I paid about $9. Note to self - take Good Houskeeping Magazine's makeup reviews/recommendations with grain of salt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mischa on 1/21/2014 2:49:00 AM more reviews by mischa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I put it on like I would any other mascara. By the time I got to work, my eyes felt irritated, were watering and I ended up with raccoon eyes. So much for waterproof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thowell124 on 5/10/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by thowell124

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was pleasantly surprised. I've tried so many drugstore mascaras and always go back to my HG L'Oreal Voluminous Waterproof. I have to have waterproof formula as somehow, with any non-waterproof formula I use, it always ends up in a goopy mess under my eyes within an hour or so. While the Neutrogena formula does tend to smudge occasionally beneath my eyes (whereas L'Oreal doesn't), and the brush is a little too big for my preference, it's still workable because this mascara is so buildable and makes my lashes look so beautiful, that I can overlook the flaws with the brush & formula. Somehow, the word "healthy" in the name really does make my lashes look healthy. It sounds crazy, but I feel like my lash count has doubled since using this mascara. I love this as my everyday mascara, as with 2-3 coats, it's subtle yet still makes my lashes pop, and when I layered L'Oreal over the Neutrogena, it was so perfect for a night-time look. I will definitely buy this again, as this has become my new favorite daytime mascara, although I think I will try the Healthy Lengths next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 badwolf42 on 3/14/2013 7:38:00 PM more reviews by badwolf42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is so amazing! It is one of the few mascaras that is actually waterproof which is fantastic. I am very athletic and run 3 seasons of the year then swim in the winter. This stays on through the many workouts I go through and DOES NOT BUDGE AT ALL!!!! I wear the color black/brown and it is the perfect color for my green eyes. I love the big brush that really does add volume to my lashes unlike others. It doesn't clump either so it looks amazing. It comes off with makeup remover too. This is probably the best mascara I have ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kendall2 on 1/23/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by kendall2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For me, this mascara is an answer to prayer. I don't normally write reviews but I'm posting this one in hopes that it will help others who suffer from the same problem I have. I had used Maybelline Great Lash waterproof mascara for more than 20 years just because it was inexpensive and I saw no reason to try anything else. Over the past few years, my eyes have become more and more watery and irritated. My upper eyelids were wet at the outside corners and which was super annoying and made a mess of my eye makeup as I was constantly dabbing at my eyes. I consulted an eye doctor and a pharmacist and was told that dryness or allergies could be the cause of the irritation. They suggested various eye drops which didn't help at all.

I was sure my mascara couldn't be to blame since I had used the same product for so long. Finally, I started doing research and discovered that mascara does sometimes cause eyes to water. I don't know if Maybelline changed the ingredients or if I became allergic to something in the product over time. Giving up mascara wasn't an option because I have blonde very sparse eyelashes and look awful without eye makeup. I can't afford permanent eyeliner and have had no luck learning to apply false eyelashes.

I started trying different mascara products. (Inimitable, Telescopic, L'Oreal Double Extend.) L'Oreal Double Extend was the worst - It made my eyes sting so much that I had to remove it immediately. The others were less irritating than the Maybelline Great Lash but my eyes still watered. I considered trying the Blinc mascara since many people report that it's non-irritating. However, it's also known not to be very dramatic so I haven't tried it yet. I used Neutrogena lengthening mascara for a while but it isn't waterproof and kept washing off the outer corners of my eyes. I then tried the 100% Pure Mascara (Blackberry shade). I thought it would be the answer since it doesn't contain any chemicals. Surprisingly, it made my eyes sting so ot was back to the drawing board. Recently, I read on a blog about someone who was having the same issues as I have with stinging, watery eyes. She said that the only mascara that doesn't irritate her eyes is Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara. It is made without many of the chemicals found in most mascara. I tried it but it also made my eyes water so apparently products that work for one person may not work for another.

A week ago I bought the Neutrogena Healthy Volume Waterproof Mascara. Voila - problem solved! For the first time in years, I've enjoyed dry eyes with no irritation. I'm so grateful and relieved to find mascara that works for me.

I had no problems with smudging at all. This mascara is fairly dry. I would say that my lashes feel a little powdery and if I touch them, the mascara could flake off but it isn't a problem since I don't touch them. I do hate the big brush. My eyes are small and because of my short lashes, it's a challenge to use such a huge brush. I'll gladly put up with it. This mascara is hard to remove. I use Vaseline which works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 highschool101 on 10/25/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by highschool101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love Neutrogena foundations, so I thought I would try this mascara, ewwwwww! The brush gets mascara on my eyelid and crease. I can't get my outer or inner lashes with the brush. It does give my lashes some volume, but not much. For a Neutrogena product, this is dissappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelbysahara on 10/25/2012 9:41:00 AM more reviews by shelbysahara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I am in love!!! I naturally have long, thick lashes, but they're light at the tips. This darkens, defines, lengthens, and thickens beautifully. One coat is great. No clumping, whatsoever, it just looks like just really awesome eyelashes!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gabster90 on 9/26/2012 7:48:00 PM more reviews by Gabster90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I rate my mascaras based on whether or not they can hold a curl: this one didn't. I always go for waterproof mascaras because they tend to hold curled up lashes better than non/waterproof mascaras (I have poker straight lashes). Plus this mascara flaked a lot. I got this for $4 at rite aid since there was a buy one get on 50% off deal for all neutrogena products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Mascara products