Parissa • Persian Cold Wax Hair Remover • Hair Removal

rated 4.6(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ordanka on 8/17/2014 8:47:00 PM more reviews by Ordanka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The best hair remover ever! Very gentle to a skin, excellent results, almost no pain!

I have tried wax strips before, Oplica, Veet, Parissa hot wax, and others. Also made laser epilation.
This one I have found the best of all wax product I ever tried in my life- well, actually it's a sugar product and not a wax.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daisygems on 6/11/2014 7:54:00 PM more reviews by daisygems

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This wax is amazing, I highly recommend it. Not only is it affordable, but it actually removes hair (thin or course), NOT skin, effectively with LESS pain and LESS mess! It's also easy to clean up afterwards.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Krystallulu on 6/8/2014 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Krystallulu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

After reading the reviews here on MUA, I decided to purchase this cold wax and give it a try. I am glad I did, because it is far more effective and easy to use for at home waxing compare to other products I used (such as Sally Hansen).

I've been using it for over 2 years. I don't wax every month, only on special occasions or when I feel like a bikini wax is needed. Therefore I still have the jar I purchased a long time ago. I would say I probably had at least 10 bikini wax sessions with this jar. It still has about half of the product left.

What I love about it is that it is water soluble, I can wax, and toss the strips into a bowl of water as I go, and by the time I am done waxing, the wax on the strips have dissolve in the water. I can pick up the strips and rinse them under water, and dry them overnight, and viola! no mess no fuss. Also after I'm done waxing, my bikini area gets sticky, but with this wax, I can just wipe it with a damp towel, and I'm ready to go, no need to put oil to remove the wax residue.

As far as how I use it.. I find it very helpful if I spread the wax the OPPOSITE direction of my hair growth, apply the strip, rub the strip surface for a few seconds, and pull it off the SAME direction of my hair growth. This way I noticed it removes my hair more effectively and usually don't have too much stubborn hair left. I think I read about this trick on MUA and it does help!

It's definitely a must repurchase product for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megieroo on 3/1/2014 3:07:00 PM more reviews by megieroo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I've only ever been going to salons to get bikini waxes done and it's always been a very painful and expensive experience. I also always ended up with ingrown hairs and irritation from the after lotions they would put on even though I'd ask them not to. I've been shaving for probably the last year because of this, and while it works ok it also causes a bunch of ingrown and it is the biggest pain ever to do on a regular basis. I essentially got fed up and since I'm going somewhere where I'll be on a beach for a week finally decided I should delve back into home waxing.

Now, the last at home wax I tried was the Nair cire divine peel off wax about five years ago. That was an -absolute- nightmare. It was extremely painful, and I was only waxing my legs. It was hard to stay warm, get it to an appropriate temperature to begin with, and to top it off it ripped off layers of skin. So needless to say I was very skeptical going and picking out one this time. The section of my local Walmart was very barren this time so there was limited selection to begin with. This stuff looked promising because it was "cold" wax, and for sensitive skin. So I picked it up ready to be disappointed again, however, I was pleasantly surprised!

I did have to pop it in the microwave for about 30s, but it didn't get overly hot and it wasn't too hard to spread. I will say, as a beginner there was a learning curve. If you spread it too thick, you'll just rip off excess wax. Overall, it wasn't too hard to spread and once I figured out how to spread it properly. It removed the hair fairly consistently, and was less painful than the salons. I did not experience any abnormal irritation (The skin did turn red - but that's expected) This kit is awesome because the wax is water soluble, so if you get it anywhere it's easy to clean, and the strips are reusable! It was about $14 and I foresee this lasting quite awhile.

If your sick of hot waxes, or a beginner give this a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaicg on 12/31/2013 11:11:00 AM more reviews by kaicg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this product! Convenient, fast and no mess. Used it on my underarms and side-burn area. Cleared the areas and there was only some slight/short-term redness. I previously haven't been able to wax my face because it would immediately break out in what resembles hives (large sore bumps for several days, and I've even tried cream and hard waxes), but I do not have that problem at all with Persian wax! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 steelcitygal on 4/20/2013 4:40:00 PM more reviews by steelcitygal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my go to facial hair removal product, and it will be for as long as they make it. I used to buy the "nads" brand, but couldn't find it in stores anymore, so I decided to try this in it's place. I wish I had just been using this all along! This is essentially the same product for MUCH cheaper. (cheaper still if you make this yourself, but I don't have the patience for that)

This product comes in a smaller container than the nads did, which I actually like because these types of products don't stay fresh forever. I found my nads was spoiling before I got through the jar. Not the case with this product. Much less waste in that regard, which I like. I'm not super crazy about the jar packaging but as long as you keep your hands and applicator clean, it's fine.

This is easy to apply, which I do with the provided applicator, out of the jar. I find my body heat warms the wax as I am applying, so I don't microwave this first, though you may prefer that method. This is also really easy to wash off from skin.

In action, this removes my hair fairly easily which is saying a lot, considering I have very thick / coarse, ethnic hair. Sometimes I have to go over a spot with a second strip, but it doesn't irritate or hurt my skin like other products have. I can say this removes the HAIR, not your face. Some 'waxes' can't say the same, as I learned the hard way.

Acne prone skins might want to patch test an area first. This can cause some blocked pores for me, even when I wash my face immediately after. (Removed one point for that) The skin is far too tender after hair removal to use any sort of proper acne treatment, BUT, I'm less likely to develop blemishes if I rinse/flush the area very, VERY well with tepid water. I also follow up with a good moisturizer, which I think is essential. (for me it's Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Gel, which I will eventually write a review for).

Hair regrowth for me is ridiculously fast, but this keeps my hair at bay (typically) for about a week and a half, to two weeks which is nice. That might not sound like very long, but for my rate of hair regrowth, it actually is. Obviously personal results will vary. ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* linet182 on 11/4/2012 10:11:00 PM more reviews by linet182

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this product since I was 13 years old and it works wonders. I have tried many other waxing products and they can be super messy and they don't remove all the hair. This product is great because it is water soluble and doesn't make a big old mess. Another plus is that you don't need to heat it up and spend forever for it to cool off. I definitely recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sorrels88 on 6/20/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by sorrels88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to wax for hair removal, I have yet to find another wax that works as well as it does and is this affordable.

I have been using it for over a year now. I have very sensitive skin and course, dark hair, but this wax has never caused me irritation. I use it on my whole leg, bikini line and underarms. The fact that is it washable is a big plus because it makes clean up quick and easy. Especially when working on difficult areas like the bikini, any excess wax can be wiped away with a damp cloth.

The only con is that I have to heat it up several times during a session. But this doesn't really bother me as I usually reheat the wax after I wash off any wax, so my skin has time to dry as the wax heats.

This product is well worth the money because one tub lasts for a few sessions. I usually can squeeze out two full body sessions with it.

Another big plus is that I usually only have to wait for 1.5-2 weeks for hair to grow out, which is very good for a washable wax. Most washable waxes need a lot of growth, which is gross to wait for.

Tip: To make my clean up faster, I fill my sink with hot water, and as I wax I toss in the used strips. When I'm finished waxing, I only have to drain the sink and rinse off the strips.

I always suggest this wax to my friends, it works so well!


5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tereserocha on 4/24/2011 8:01:00 PM more reviews by tereserocha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Iím a student and Iím broke most of the time and I needed another option to remove unwanted body hair that was cheap, easy to find, and effective. Iíve tried drugstore brands, creams, salon waxing, threading, sugaring, and even infomercials from Australia. And just when I thought all hope was lostÖ I saw Persian Cold Wax on sale in a local drugstore flyer!!! I immediately went online to read MUA reviews. I was convinced to go out and buy this stuff as I was already familiar with Parissa products and I paid $14 total (I live in Canada and they overcharge things) which was fine with me given that it had 400g of product. I must admit, the only thing that prevented me from buying this before was the outdated picture of the naked dark-haired woman on the box! Also, it reminded me of Nadís with its claims of it being a ďnaturalĒ sugar wax. It is basically a formula composed of sugar, lemon, and water--- a formula you can make at home! But if youíre like me, you know youíve watched those Youtube videos on ďhow to make sugar waxĒ and failed miserably and probably burned your fingers in the process! But Persian Cold Wax is ready to use! The consistency is like molasses, itís very thick but when it hits the skin, the body temperature warms it up and is easier to spread. I do heat it up in the microwave for 30 seconds and I think it works better warmed up than cold. I apply a thin coat of wax towards the direction of hair growth, apply the strip, rub rub rub, make sure the skin is pulled/stretched nice and taut, and pull the strip against the direction of hair growth. I would say it removed about 90% hair, but Iím no expert. I was able to use the same strip with the same wax on it to go back and remove the stubborn hairs that stayed put.

PROS
-Fair priced
-A LOT of product
-Available in drugstores and stores like Walmart.
-Water-soluble (thank god, because I got some on my hair!)
-Long strips are durable and reusable
-Packaging is attractive, kind of like a mysterious little black tub from Persia

CONS
-Cleaning the hair and sugar wax off the strips!
-Wooden popsicle stick (splinters)
-My skin got red and itchy but went away after 1-2 hours but I guess thatís normal.

I would definitely buy this again and would recommend to my family/friends.

EDIT - 06/13/11 - I get better results and less hair breakage when applying the product AGAINST hair growth and pulling the strip TOWARDS the direction of hair growth.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PLASTICC on 8/24/2010 11:04:00 AM more reviews by PLASTICC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

First of all, I'm Asian. Not super hairy but my hair is fine and long. I know, gross. the hair is so fine that when i use wax, it would simply rip the hair in 2 - so its like shaving with pain (which defeats the purpose of waxing) this wax is nice because it can be spread really thinly because your body temperature will warm it allowing it to be a really nice consistency. Normal "hot microwaved" waxes i have used cools by the time you get to your other leg - and then you have to warm it up again, and again, all in one self-waxing session. Another plus is that the strip they provide you are reusable, which is a total plus for me since in a super environment freak. But, what i find also works are your old receipts from stores/shops (totally random eh?) but make sure your wax is thinly applied. the receipts thing works best with arm and leg hair because its not as coarse. This wax defiantly reminds me of salon quality because of its consistency and its ability to remove hair. its wonderful. Another thing to point out is that this is not "waxing" it is technically sugaring because the ingredients include sucrose, honey, citrus extracts, gum arabic, water (according to website and box) the reason why this is so effective is because it adheres to your hair, not your skin :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Parissa products

More Hair Removal products