Laura Mercier • Eye Basics in Flax • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 pensivern on 1/27/2013 10:35:00 PM more reviews by pensivern

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've tried several primers including MAC paint pots and UD primer potion. I've found this to be my favorite by far; it goes on smoothly, dries quickly, neutralizes my reddish lids and dries completely crease free. It leaves my lids silky smooth with no crepey texture and looks simple and classy with a touch of liner and mascara for a fresh clean polished look. MAC paint pots are faster in terms of application but they always came off as chalky on me and I never understood the popularity of UD pp.- a messy annoying applicator with a product not easily visible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautifulthings on 10/9/2012 5:54:00 PM more reviews by beautifulthings

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. However, I don't like the tube as it's impossible to get the applicator to the bottom and scrape it clean when the product runs low, and for this reason would prefer it if it came in a pot.

It does do a great job at priming the lids and ensuring that eye shadow stays put. Definitely staying in my make up bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BazookaBaby on 7/14/2012 3:32:00 PM more reviews by BazookaBaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This was recommended to me by a local pro who did my best friend's makeup for her wedding when I asked her what she used as eye primer for her clients. She was nice enough to let me try it that day and it worked fantastically for me. The next week when I was at Sephora I snapped up one of my own and I love it.

It is very creamy and I don't find that it takes too very long to dry. I use this under every eyeshadow I use, from light neutrals to the crazy bright colors I wear on weekends. It is a bit on the expensive side, but the amount that comes in the tube will last for an extremely long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CristiK on 6/23/2012 4:32:00 PM more reviews by CristiK

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A friend recommended this as a primer, but it hasn't worked well for me. I find that it goes on very liquid-y and slides around my lid. It also takes a while to dry and I am not that patient. It isn't bad as a neutral eye shadow on its' own-but it doesn't improve the performance and staying power of eye shadow in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MyNameIsHoney on 4/3/2012 10:37:00 PM more reviews by MyNameIsHoney

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Bought this initially to use on my under eye area so that my Tarte corrector/concealer did a better job concealing the dark circles when layered on top of the LM. However, on stepping out into the daylight I realized it would gray out my under eye area rather than providing a more natural skintone base. In any case, I kept it to use as a primer underneath eyeshadow (its original purpose). It creases like crazy on me, and I did a hand test by swatching MAC paint (sublime nature) and this, then sweeping a multi-dimensional shadow (MAC Club) over both. The LM needed several layers of the shadow to show up true to colour, whereas the MAC only needed one swipe. For these reasons (creasing and difficulty showing up colours), plus the cost of it, I won't be repurchasing. I agree that it looks great on its own with a sweep of mascara, but I can easily find that with other slightly shimmery shadows that are similar to my skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hopflower on 8/20/2011 9:44:00 PM more reviews by hopflower

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Flax is one of my favourite Laura Mercier Eye Basics. It is a light pearly beige, and adds a subtle sheen and polish to an otherwise unmade up eye. You don't need much else except for mascara and a touch of liner if you like it. I tend to have oily eyelids, and it is the best at staying on a long time without creasing and as a base for other shadows if needed.


The Eye Basics last a longtime, too. I have had one of them for over a year and still have a lot left.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tagg on 10/5/2010 2:56:00 PM more reviews by tagg

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this! The newer colour formulation is really pretty, with just a bit of pearlescence. It's great under shadow, but really pretty on its own for a "no makeup" look. It makes you look somehow finished and polished all on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ckapp on 5/1/2010 10:28:00 PM more reviews by ckapp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far my favorite eye primer. The eye basics in flax has a really pretty pearlescent tint and provides the perfect canvas for other eye makeup applications. It dries quickly to a matte finish, applies beautifully and I love how it evens out the slight discolorations I have on my lids. I sometimes wear it alone when I'm in a jiffy. Your eye make-up will last all day long and no creasing whatsoever. My eyes are pretty sensitive and I experience no adverse side effects from this primer. I LOVE this product!

Edit: I now prefer using MAC paintpot in painterly only because it seems to handle my oily eyelids a tad better than eye basics in flax. I still love the color and works wonders on those with normal/dry eyelids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 curlygirl45 on 8/15/2009 9:58:00 PM more reviews by curlygirl45

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used to use the LM Linen (too light) and Wheat (too dark) so gave up on the Eye Basics and found Trish McEvoy Bare eye primer. Well, I tried Flax and it works (maybe I wasn't the only with the Linen/Wheat issues). Anyway, once I've used up the TM Bare, I'll just use the Flax.

I have oily lids and never liked the UDPP so I'm glad LM got a new color. I'm coming home to LM.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz91 on 7/2/2009 3:53:00 PM more reviews by liz91

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a sample of this in the color Buff after placing a Laura Mercier order. I bought Flax at Sephora because I wanted to try a lighter color. It has a sponge-tip applicator, but a lot of product comes out on it, so you have to thin it out on the lid with a brush. I bought this because I wanted to eliminate the step of using a brush to apply primer, and I'm having to use a brush anyway. For that reason, this is only getting 3 lippies. My Benefit F.Y.Eye and MAC paints do a much better job and get 5 lippies, and they prevent creasing. The Laura Mercier creases.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eye Shadow products