L'Oreal • Sublime Bronze Luminous Bronzer Self-tanning Lotion • Self Tanners

rated 3.4(68 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 kayabee85 on 1/3/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by kayabee85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have never seen this product in the drugstore before so when I stumbled upon this I bought it immediately. I am a quick fix type of girl. I don't want to wait a week for a tan to develop and I stopped using tanning beds a long time ago because of the damage it will do to your skin. I have used various self-tanners and bronzers over the years, and this one is by far the best.

As mentioned below, you will probably want to mix this with another lotion to tone down the orange hue and the smell. That's pretty much all you need to do and you will end up with an amazing glow - one that used to take me a month to develop in the tanning bed. Be careful how much you put on because the color really sets and you will likely wake up the next morning very dark and make sure to wash your hands or wear gloves.

Bonus: The cool thing about this product is that it doesn't wash or rub off easily so no one will catch on to the fact that you're "faking" it. Another cool thing is that it really is instant so you can see exactly how and where you are applying the product - instead of waiting for the color to develop and then seeing where you missed a spot or streaked. Final bonus: it doesn't clog pores. I have very sensitive skin on my face and breakout easily, I dare say this actually has improved the condition of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheMickster on 10/22/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by TheMickster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a horrible self tanner on its own... It's weird because I used it last year and it was fantastic. BUT: I found the perfect solution! I mix this half and half with my "Moist" brand Hemp Pomegranate Mango lotion (fabulous smoothing body lotion available at Sally Beauty) and apply it all over (WITH GLOVES!! Believe me use the gloves unless you want orange hands.) The result is a wonderful and natural streak free glow after the first application and day 2 application is so deep bronze and natural. A few tips: make sure you mix these two products together very well. Use gloves. Blend into your skin evenly and blend until it feels dry. In a circular motion, do your legs first and work your way up. Make sure you finish with rubbing onto backs of hands and tops of feet or you'll be sorry. Blend a bit of the self tanner with your facial moisterizer afterward and apply to face and neck for an even tan all over. This method is quite easy and works well. The bonus to this is you still get a bit of shimmer (not a crazy sparkle fest like this product gives on its own) and the shimmer helps to see where you have already applied to avoid those ghastly streaks! So in conclusion, this product is crappy and gross on its own, but mixed with this fabulous hemp body lotion it is the most amazing self tanner I've ever used. Ps- the smell of this tanner is also really gross on its own but with the hemp lotion it smells amazing! I end up smelling like a delicious coconut. (The pomogranate lotion actually has a more coconut/fruity scent). So please if you are using this product and getting crappy results, try paring it with this lotion. It really sucks that loreal can't just catch on and change their formula so I don't have to spend over $30 but hey, nothing is perfect! The hemp lotion runs at about 14.99$ and the loreal tanner is around 13.99$ . I think loreal should lower the price to about 7 bucks because this product cannot be used by itself . Sorry for the long review but I know ladies out there are looking for the perfect sunless tanning solution and it's impossible to find... Until now! Toodles!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 7/23/2013 11:42:00 AM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in my mid 40's and have used self tanners for 20+ years. I've used high end and drugstore always hoping the latter will suffice given how often self tanner must be applied in the summer to look consistently good. I've also tried all the L'oreal Sublime variations and here is my take, for face get the gelee version, kind of clear/bronze/jelly looking in a tube. For body out of the same line, I'm gonna rec this one.

Here's why, I can apply this in minutes and instantly have color. Someone said there is no color guide in their review below. When a self tanner isn't clear nor white blending to invisible, you've got yourself a tinted st which means you've got a color guide. The bronze tint in this is its initial selling point and pretty hard to miss given its a dark, yes somewhat shimmery bronze, straightt from the tube. Its gold based as is the slight shimmer. Thats fine, not orangey on my fair olive-leans yellow skin. However the one day tan by L'Oreal Sublime was red based so was much better, more natural color. I believe it was discontinued as it was not a user friendly product but perfect color wise. I can use this last minute and don't look like a disco ball. If used at night, washed off in the morning, your shimmery color guide is gone, so no real issue there.

It has a kind of men's cologne/body wash scent which dissipates on me, so again not an issue. I have very dry skin and this will cling to dry spot but they ALL do! So take preemptive strikes!

For me I exfoliate in the shower with scrubby mit or gloves and any old moisturizing soap/shower gel I like (read Dove and the like). If you like scrubs that's fine too. Just unnecessary if you've got gloves or a mitt, for me they work better and way cheaper than buying scrub after scrub. Every few days I use a BHA or AHA body wash (often the cheapie Neutrogena acne body wash knock off) and go over wrists, knees, elbows etc, all areas self tanner tends to accumulate.

Lastly I go over the self tanner with a lotion RIGHT after I've applied it. I've tried many lotions and most work if your goal is to soften the look as the lotion slightly dlutes the st. But my fave way of using this self tanner is to apply an AHA/BHA lotion right after. Since I only use similar wash every few days its not overkill. I love Palmers lotion for dry/ashy skin for this, not affiliated just works best for me.

Done that way its not streaky; I really like how I can use this minutes before going out and I have believable color, it dries fast, does not stain my clothes, the color guide doesn't transfer on me as long as that's dry before getting dressed.
Ymmv, of course and while I always try to love the one I'm with, when it comes to st I'm a commitment-phobe and always on the lookout for the next best thing:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mzmaheen on 7/22/2013 4:15:00 AM more reviews by mzmaheen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

ive been looking for a good self tanner...this one just didnt cut it..it makes me orange..and im naturally tanned..nc40..
i just use tanner to even out my skin tone..this makes me more Orange then Oompa Loompas or snooki.

i dont mind the shimmer, it would look better if it was finely milled shimmer instead of glitter

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Abeyxx on 6/25/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Abeyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok So.... I had the L'Oreal sublime one day bronze and LOVED IT! So I thought hey lets try the long lasting one.
Firstly applying there is no color guide. Second it smelled like turpentine, thirdly it had more glitter in it than a seven year old Disney princess party. I am all for a shimmer but there is nothing sublime about this shimmer.
It took forever to dry me legs and arms were sticking together. Worst drugstore tanner I have tried would NEVER buy again!

Happy Tanning Peeps

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Marisela99 on 5/12/2013 5:09:00 PM more reviews by Marisela99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for a month now.. At first it worked great i really saw a tan and the glitter usually went away. When i stopped for a couple days i have patches now all over and looks HORRIBLE.. I recommend not put this on ur face . I used it for stomach and butt where the sun dont shine.. Will not buy this again..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iamommy on 5/9/2013 2:12:00 PM more reviews by iamommy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is the worst self tanner I've ever used. I bought this after reading positive reviews. The first thing I noticed was the awful chemical smell right out of the bottle. It was almost unbearable. As I started to apply it, I really thought the glitter was overkill. I've used self tanners with shimmer, but this was ridiculous. I figured it could be washed off in the morning, but it rubbed off onto my sheets. It dries pretty quickly but I felt sticky until I showered the next morning and luckily it came off after scrubbing in the shower a few times because despite doing everything I do before during and after applying self tanners which I have success with with other brands, I could not avoid a streaky mess. The color that develops is brown not orange, but that doesn't mean much when you're covered in streaks and can't get rid of the awful smell. I even tried mixing it with body lotion and I still streaked and smelled awful. After several failed attempts, I realized it was the product, not an application error to blame for the bad results and I tossed it in the trash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missy44 on 5/4/2013 11:04:00 AM more reviews by missy44

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product. Just bought it and it dried very quickly. Plus I felt the color was very pretty and natural looking. I bought the dark and it looked like I had been to the beach.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWhit99 on 4/29/2013 1:56:00 AM more reviews by JaneWhit99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

so I have tried 6 different L-oreal sublime products in my life and this has to be one of the worst. This is super runny, blotchy, got all over my clothing and takes FOREVER TO DRY!. I didn't really experience this problem with the other products which was interesting.

It did provide a nice tint but so not worth it. Will never buy again and highly recommend NOT BUYING!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CaitlinSahlaney on 4/29/2013 12:05:00 AM more reviews by CaitlinSahlaney

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This self tanner is a great drug store tanner. Does it blow St.. Tropez or MODELCO out of the water? No but it's probably the best drug store tanner I've tried! Would be better with a pump... The squeeze bottle gives a lot of product unexpectedly sometimes and the bottle gets a little messy... But here's my overall experience: I bought this tanner as a cheap/quick option before going on vacation. I didn't wanna spend a lot of money on spray tans. I applied this product at night with latex gloves on. The gel takes a while to work into your skin but keep rubbing! It will blend eventually... I applied a second coat after It dried and the color started rubbing off the bottom layer-- ahhh I immediately stopped-- only apply one layer per day. The glitter affect is pretty extreme but I never put tanner on except at bedtime so I didn't mind. In the A.M. I was left with a surprisingly natural glow after a shower. The color is slightly orange but still natural. I am naturally brunette/brown eyes so I'm not sure how it would look with other coloring. The next night I mixed the tanner with lotion and applied... This made the tanner turn chunky in my hand, but no worries it blended well once on. After two nights of application I was left with a pretty flawless natural glow. I used a nail brush in the shower to scrub some saturated areas around my ankles and the product came right off/ lightened up the saturated color. I used a cotton ball with a tad of tanner on the back of my hands and wrists. I highly recommend wearing gloves. I took the gloves off for just a minute to blend and washed immediately but my hands still stained a bit! Can't imagine if I applied without gloves the whole time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Self Tanners products