L'Oreal • Sublime Bronze Luminous Bronzer Self-tanning Lotion • Self Tanners

rated 3.4(73 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Taterbugdancer on 8/13/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Taterbugdancer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am very very fair skinned so I love using this stuff. It makes my tan so natural looking and I can apply as much or as little as I want and it won't turn me orange. The way I apply it is by adding a small amount to a bunch of lotion and smoothing it all around and I find that it helps it to spread more evenly and smoothly. I recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stylesnburberry on 6/9/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by stylesnburberry

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great self tanner that makes my slightly olive skin look about 3 shades darker. I love how it dries super fast. I put it on after the shower typically and put my clothes on right away. I really dislike those tanners that you have to walk around naked for 20 minutes. There are sparkles but they are so tiny and sparse. I also use it around the 5th day after I get a spray tan, which seems to make my spray tans last a good 9 days! I haven't streaked with this product yet. I guess the only thing I would want more out of this product is more color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chrissie69 on 6/1/2014 12:27:00 AM more reviews by chrissie69

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Makes my fair skin "glow" and gives me just a bit of color. The slight sparkle looks fine, not obnoxious. I use just a smallish amount most every morning. It dries quickly and yet washes off my palms well. I've repurchased this twice. I often get compliments on my "tan".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 racheezy on 5/22/2014 8:31:00 AM more reviews by racheezy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wish this was in a pump bottle but I can handle it not being in one because it's SO GOOD. I followed everyone's advice of mixing it and that made it splotchy as heck on some places. So the next night I did it without and it is perfect all over. My streaks are gone and it looks so natural and even. I'm so dark after only two uses too. I didn't use gloves but washed my hands every few minutes and no orange on them. When you wake up in the morning you may see streaks but remember there's bronzer in this too, so take a shower and it'll be gone and you'll have a perfect tan. I actually love the sparkles in it but I love glitter with a passion haha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fettcourt on 5/19/2014 2:43:00 PM more reviews by fettcourt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is crazy good. I used it once and was already two shades darker, however you must rub it in really well and make sure you don;t miss any spots because they will be noticeable since its a lot darker then your natural skin color. When you shower some color comes off but not very much which is an added plus.

This stuff is really good if you want an instant glow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayabee85 on 1/3/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by kayabee85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have never seen this product in the drugstore before so when I stumbled upon this I bought it immediately. I am a quick fix type of girl. I don't want to wait a week for a tan to develop and I stopped using tanning beds a long time ago because of the damage it will do to your skin. I have used various self-tanners and bronzers over the years, and this one is by far the best.

As mentioned below, you will probably want to mix this with another lotion to tone down the orange hue and the smell. That's pretty much all you need to do and you will end up with an amazing glow - one that used to take me a month to develop in the tanning bed. Be careful how much you put on because the color really sets and you will likely wake up the next morning very dark and make sure to wash your hands or wear gloves.

Bonus: The cool thing about this product is that it doesn't wash or rub off easily so no one will catch on to the fact that you're "faking" it. Another cool thing is that it really is instant so you can see exactly how and where you are applying the product - instead of waiting for the color to develop and then seeing where you missed a spot or streaked. Final bonus: it doesn't clog pores. I have very sensitive skin on my face and breakout easily, I dare say this actually has improved the condition of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheMickster on 10/22/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by TheMickster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a horrible self tanner on its own... It's weird because I used it last year and it was fantastic. BUT: I found the perfect solution! I mix this half and half with my "Moist" brand Hemp Pomegranate Mango lotion (fabulous smoothing body lotion available at Sally Beauty) and apply it all over (WITH GLOVES!! Believe me use the gloves unless you want orange hands.) The result is a wonderful and natural streak free glow after the first application and day 2 application is so deep bronze and natural. A few tips: make sure you mix these two products together very well. Use gloves. Blend into your skin evenly and blend until it feels dry. In a circular motion, do your legs first and work your way up. Make sure you finish with rubbing onto backs of hands and tops of feet or you'll be sorry. Blend a bit of the self tanner with your facial moisterizer afterward and apply to face and neck for an even tan all over. This method is quite easy and works well. The bonus to this is you still get a bit of shimmer (not a crazy sparkle fest like this product gives on its own) and the shimmer helps to see where you have already applied to avoid those ghastly streaks! So in conclusion, this product is crappy and gross on its own, but mixed with this fabulous hemp body lotion it is the most amazing self tanner I've ever used. Ps- the smell of this tanner is also really gross on its own but with the hemp lotion it smells amazing! I end up smelling like a delicious coconut. (The pomogranate lotion actually has a more coconut/fruity scent). So please if you are using this product and getting crappy results, try paring it with this lotion. It really sucks that loreal can't just catch on and change their formula so I don't have to spend over $30 but hey, nothing is perfect! The hemp lotion runs at about 14.99$ and the loreal tanner is around 13.99$ . I think loreal should lower the price to about 7 bucks because this product cannot be used by itself . Sorry for the long review but I know ladies out there are looking for the perfect sunless tanning solution and it's impossible to find... Until now! Toodles!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 7/23/2013 11:42:00 AM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in my mid 40's and have used self tanners for 20+ years. I've used high end and drugstore always hoping the latter will suffice given how often self tanner must be applied in the summer to look consistently good. I've also tried all the L'oreal Sublime variations and here is my take, for face get the gelee version, kind of clear/bronze/jelly looking in a tube. For body out of the same line, I'm gonna rec this one.

Here's why, I can apply this in minutes and instantly have color. Someone said there is no color guide in their review below. When a self tanner isn't clear nor white blending to invisible, you've got yourself a tinted st which means you've got a color guide. The bronze tint in this is its initial selling point and pretty hard to miss given its a dark, yes somewhat shimmery bronze, straightt from the tube. Its gold based as is the slight shimmer. Thats fine, not orangey on my fair olive-leans yellow skin. However the one day tan by L'Oreal Sublime was red based so was much better, more natural color. I believe it was discontinued as it was not a user friendly product but perfect color wise. I can use this last minute and don't look like a disco ball. If used at night, washed off in the morning, your shimmery color guide is gone, so no real issue there.

It has a kind of men's cologne/body wash scent which dissipates on me, so again not an issue. I have very dry skin and this will cling to dry spot but they ALL do! So take preemptive strikes!

For me I exfoliate in the shower with scrubby mit or gloves and any old moisturizing soap/shower gel I like (read Dove and the like). If you like scrubs that's fine too. Just unnecessary if you've got gloves or a mitt, for me they work better and way cheaper than buying scrub after scrub. Every few days I use a BHA or AHA body wash (often the cheapie Neutrogena acne body wash knock off) and go over wrists, knees, elbows etc, all areas self tanner tends to accumulate.

Lastly I go over the self tanner with a lotion RIGHT after I've applied it. I've tried many lotions and most work if your goal is to soften the look as the lotion slightly dlutes the st. But my fave way of using this self tanner is to apply an AHA/BHA lotion right after. Since I only use similar wash every few days its not overkill. I love Palmers lotion for dry/ashy skin for this, not affiliated just works best for me.

Done that way its not streaky; I really like how I can use this minutes before going out and I have believable color, it dries fast, does not stain my clothes, the color guide doesn't transfer on me as long as that's dry before getting dressed.
Ymmv, of course and while I always try to love the one I'm with, when it comes to st I'm a commitment-phobe and always on the lookout for the next best thing:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mzmaheen on 7/22/2013 4:15:00 AM more reviews by mzmaheen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

ive been looking for a good self tanner...this one just didnt cut it..it makes me orange..and im naturally tanned..nc40..
i just use tanner to even out my skin tone..this makes me more Orange then Oompa Loompas or snooki.

i dont mind the shimmer, it would look better if it was finely milled shimmer instead of glitter

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Abeyxx on 6/25/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Abeyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok So.... I had the L'Oreal sublime one day bronze and LOVED IT! So I thought hey lets try the long lasting one.
Firstly applying there is no color guide. Second it smelled like turpentine, thirdly it had more glitter in it than a seven year old Disney princess party. I am all for a shimmer but there is nothing sublime about this shimmer.
It took forever to dry me legs and arms were sticking together. Worst drugstore tanner I have tried would NEVER buy again!

Happy Tanning Peeps

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Self Tanners products