Prescriptives Virtual Skin

4.0

370 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENT: OCTINOXATE 5.40% INGREDIENTS: WATER (AQUA PURIFICATA) PURIFIED [] DIMETHICONE [] CYCLOPENTASILOXANE [] GLYCERYL STEARATE SE [] HDI/TRIMETHYLOL HEXYLLACTONE CROSSPOLYMER [] BUTYLENE GLYCOL [] TALC [] CHOLESTEROL [] TRITICUM VULGARE (WHEAT BRAN) EXTRACT [] MELANIN [] SODIUM HYALURONATE [] TOCOPHERYL ACETATE [] OLEA EUROPAEA (OLIVE) FRUIT EXTRACT [] POLYACRYLAMIDE [] PALMITIC ACID [] C13-14 ISOPARAFFIN [] LAURETH-7 [] LINOLEIC ACID [] PEG-9 DIMETHICONE [] CITRIC ACID [] SODIUM CITRATE [] DISODIUM EDTA [] SORBIC ACID [] IMIDAZOLIDINYL UREA [] PHENOXYETHANOL [] METHYLPARABEN [] [ /-(MAY CONTAIN) TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891) [] IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) [] MICA]


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I have fair skin (I'm between shades 10 and 12 in Marc Jacobs foundation concentrate). I used to buy Prescriptives when they still had counters at the Mall and loved their foundation. I stumbled across Prescriptives online in my search for a new foundation and ordered this in the lightest warm shade.
This foundation was a strange color on me. It was far too dark and didn't look like skin, it had a strange greenish/ muddy cast. The finish was very tacky and greasy looking. Somehow it also accentuated every pore on my face and brought out old acne scars I didn't even know I had.
I was disappointed, I paid $42 for this foundation. I think for that price it should be better quality. This cosmetic line is nothing like I remember.



on 4/24/2015 2:32:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The first thing I want to say is that while this is not available in stores, you can still purchase it online. Shipping is free as are returns. Sales or gwp are frequent.

I have been using foundation since I was a young teen which was many years ago. For a long time I used Estee Lauder demi matte which was wonderful though I did need to powder my nose mid day with it. (I am wearing it in the 1981 pic in my profile) Alas, that product was discontinued , and I moved on- to Prescriptives Virtual Skin which I am wearing in Real Ivory in my profile pic.

The coverage on this is light to mediumt. The finish is natural. The best thing is that it totally lives up to its name. This looks like your skin - the very best version of your skin. Most people will not think you are wearing foundation. I have had people remark about my amazing skin and told them, " I don't have amazing skin. I have amazing makeup."

In recent years I began trying other foundations just to see if I could do better. My skin is aging and I think it is good to rethink your look every 5-10 years. None compared to this, and I tried - CoverFX, Lancome, Estee Lauder, Clinique, Nars, Becca, Hourglass, Chanel, the list goes on. Seriously, if you can match it to my skin, I probably tried it!

I would recommend this to everyone except those seeking full coverage and especially to those with sensitive /prone to breakouts skin like mine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2013 11:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I wonder if they have changed the formula for the better. This used to be my favorite foundation being it withstood my cardio and strength training sessions, and resisted humidity. The color match was awesome too! It was medium coverage on me, and left me flawless.But they "improved" the formula. After that, it dissolved in white streaks when I sweat. I couldn't even reserve it for occasions, as I did not dare get caught in a downpour. Since then I have been using EL DW. Will never repurchase.


on 9/24/2013 8:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'd previously used this foundation in my teens and early 20s and LOVED it. That was until I discovered CHANEL's Teint Fluide Universel (in shade "Clair") and it became my HG foundation. Sadly, Teint Fluide Universel has since been discontinued and I haven't (as yet) found anything that comes close.
When I used this foundation previously, I had been color matched at a local department store. (Yep, I started using Prescriptives when they still had their own counters in stores!) The rep who matched me recommended the shade Real Cream 02 . This worked for me (or did it?) for years, until I switched to Chanel foundations. Once the Chanel foundation was discontinued, I spent the last couple of years switching back and forth between drug store foundations, but never finding something that really fit me.
2 weeks ago I was browsing online and decided to see if Prescriptives' Virtual Skin still existed. It did, and I promptly ordered a bottle in Real Cream 02. When it arrived, it clearly wasn't the foundation for me. I don't know if my skin's tone has changed over the years, or if I wasn't matched correctly when I first got color matched at the Prescriptives counter. Real Cream had far too much yellow undertone and was too dark for me. I looked majorly jaundiced wearing it. The other thing I really didn't like about it was that it didn't allow me to build decent coverage. I guess back when I started using it that light/medium coverage was fine, but now that I'm older I feel like I need a little more! I returned the Real Cream 02 shade to Prescriptives, went online and took their color match quiz. According to their color match quiz, my skin has COOL undertones and the site recommended that I choose Real Rose 23 or Real Camelia 22. I chose the Real Rose shade and waited for my order to arrive. When I received my second order, the Real Rose 23 shade was TOO DARK for my skin. WTF? It also did NOTHING to cover all those little imperfections on my face like the CHANELTeint Fluide Universel could do perfectly. Sadly, I had to send my second shipment back to Prescriptives. I thought about trying to order another foundation from them, but I was really bummed out after two different orders didn't work for me. When Prescriptives was in stores, I loved using their products and was a loyal customer. Heck, my MakeupAlley user name is a nod to one of their perfumes - Calyx - one of my all time favorites. I might try their foundations again one day, but for now my search for a HG replacement for the CHANEL Teint Fluide Universel continues.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 6:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Similar to most reviewers reviewing this product, I am very loyal to the Prescriptive brand and was gutted when they shut up shop. Now I pay almost $100 per bottle for a US company to buy it and ship it to Australia but I am still paying - yes, Estee Lauder if you are reading this, open up your international shipping!!

Colour is Real Ecru

My favourite Prescriptive foundation was Virtual Youth which I found had much better coverage. Whilst I like Virtual Skin, the coverage is a bit low for me and the lasting power is not as long but it does sink into my sensitive dry combination acne prone skin beautifully and looks very natural after a light dust of powder. I recommend using a sponge. When I was using my Chanel foundation brush, I just had streaks. You do need a lot of this product to build coverage.

UPDATE: I recommend putting the foundation on the back of your hand and using a DAMP sponge (soaked in water & towel dried) to get the best application. Since I have started using this technique + a dust of Clinique loose powder, this has become my HG foundation. It's just such a pity that Prescriptives has stopped shipping to MyUSA which is my US mail forwarding agent :o( Come on Prescriptives!! open international shipping - you have plenty of loyal clients in Australia!!

As a comparison, currently in my cupboard I am using the following foundations:

1. Mac Matchmaster NC15: it's drying and I experience some breakouts if I use it for more than 2 days in a row and it's a little light on the colour.
2. Estee Lauder Double Wear 1N1 Ivory Nude 72: it does stay on all day...and night but it is drying and photos poorly. But don't get any breakouts and it's the perfect colour.
3. Estee Lauder Futurist Soft Ivory 01: it's very oily on and it doesn't stay on and breaks me out. I only use this for a few hours at a time when I need to moisten my skin. It's a very dewy finish but the colour is too yellow (orange tinge).
4. Clinique Super balance 63 fresh beige: it's the closest thing in consistency to Prescriptives foundations and it doesn't break me out. The colour is a decent match but it gives me a fairly oily T-zone and the lasting power isn't as great.
5. Shu Uemura's Face Achitect 764 medium light beige: Despite the lovely matte finish, it breaks me out terribly and the colour is a little too dark (too yellow). I only use this one in desperate times.
6. Skin79 Super BB Cream (hot pink version): love the SPF and I wear this when I know I will be out in the sun but it will break me out (guaranteed) so I use it very rarely. The colour will dry to match your skin colour (starts off a little grey) and it will cover all your pores (sinks in real well), dewy finish and decent lasting power but photos white under flash just like Estee Lauder's double wear.
7. Estee Lauder Double Wear Light in Intensity 1.0: the colour is not perfect, I think there is a slight pinkish tone? But it is the easiest everyday foundation, covers my red acne blemishes perfectly. Love the consistency and it's breathes and stays on all day.
8. Bourjois Healthy Mix in 51 Vanilla Clair (Light Vanilla): colour is a good match and applies well with a damp sponge and it's meant to be hydrating but unfortunately, it gives my T-zone a brilliant shine after only 3 hours and the coverage for such a thick foundation is not great.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2012 5:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this foundation. I think it's one of the best covering foundations, without looking cakey or un-natural. It's always my go-to foundation for attending parties or weddings! it doesn't burn my skin at all like the Traceless did (must have a lot of fragrance or something in there)...however you can get some flakies so a good moisturizer underneath is a must! I would give this product a 5 however b/c it has some "bad" ingredients (toxic) I will settle with a 4! But 5 for how it looks ;)


on 11/25/2011 10:36:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Love this foundation, it has always worked for me. I was really miffed when I went to get a refill and discovered that they had gone out of business. However, I did discover the website and got my Virtual Skin. I have some comments to add about Lauder pulling this product line from the stores and their new decision to supply it online.

A few days ago, I got an email from Prescriptives Online that linked to a video heralding the "new" online Prescriptives, saying they had listened to the numerous letters they had received and so they were making the products available online. It had been pretty obvious over the last year that they were manufacturing again because product wasn't running out.

Personally, I think the Lauder organization messed up here. When they pulled this product line, they ignored the loyal customers. If you read their financial reports you find it is their policy to pull products that don't increase in sales consistently. I would think steady sales should be good enough, but not for them. Prescriptives was not supported by Lauder because it had zero advertising. I would have appreciated something approaching an apology from Lauder, rather than a semi-cryptic video emailed to me.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2011 11:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Omg! Why did no one tell me this was back via the prescriptives website? This has been HG for years and when the counters closed i found nothing else like it. I googled it on a prayer today hoping id find some old bottles for sale after failed attempts at NARS sheer glow and every other sheer formula from big brands.

This is the most gorgeous coverage that leaves a dewy finish. My only complaint is the bottle (needs a pump) and the length of time it stays on (not bad if i set...its gone in 2-3 hrs if i dont).

Buy it up on the site ladies so they will bring back this awesome brand!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2011 3:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used this foundation exclusively about 10 years ago, then stopped after a couple of years because I wanted to experiment with other brands. I tried everything from DS to $70+ foundations over this time and found a few I liked but never anything that I loved. When I recently tried to find a new foundation, I was lucky enough to be able to swap for my old shade, Real Ecru. Now I remember how lovely this foundation is. My sensitive, combo, very reactive skin has had no issues with this (just like 10 years ago). This is a solid, basic foundation that provides light to medium buildable coverage without any frills. I don't like that the jar does not have a pump, but I dip a clean q-tip into the jar to apply to my face, then spread with my Px foundation brush (which has lasted more than 10 years!). Real Ecru is the lightest Y/O shade and is either bit more yellow than I remember it, or my skin has become more neutral since first using this product. Either way I'll definitely repurchase this and the Traceless TM as long as Px keeps selling them. For reference, I'm about a NC15 in MAC, 010 in Dior, and Chantecaille FS in Alabaster is the best color match I've found.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2010 7:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite makeup. I am so glad they started making it again. You are able to purchase it on Prescriptives website. It lasts all day. It does not get too oily during the day. It has no fragrance. It is the only makeup that works for my sensitive acne prone skin. Every time I try something else, I regret it and end up right back using Prescriptives. Worth the money!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top