Chanel • Hysteria • Lipstick

rated 3.8(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Stefaniey on 11/16/2011 2:05:00 AM more reviews by Stefaniey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this lipstick. Almost black, with purple hints. Chanel's classic pop tube means it's always secure and when you layer it over a pink base it shows up that great purple tone. Fantastic smoothness to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lleux on 6/15/2010 6:31:00 PM more reviews by lleux

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Not exactly sure why I bought this. I think I wore it out of the store the first day I did, and intended on using it for Halloween (or something?) since its launch date was around that time. Still, I have barely used this at all...it's a deep, aubergine black that needs to be built up to see a coat of opaque color. I guess I'm conserving it for the right time. It's more of a museum artifact in my makeup drawer than a product of use at the moment, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 as3090 on 12/15/2009 7:51:00 AM more reviews by as3090

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i've buyed this product because i love very dark lips. at the chanel model it looked perfectly and i was expecting a lot from it.
i was very dissapointed when i didn't cover at al. You could see my lipcolor trough it.

It it a beautiful color and when i fade it a littlebit very wearable at daytime. I would buy it again but only because i never found this color before.

this was my first Chanel lipstick and for that price and because it's Chanel, i expected to have one of the best lipsticks there is. but i paid 30 for it. The Bodyshop lipsticks are 10 and way better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* medicredfearn on 10/17/2009 11:33:00 PM more reviews by medicredfearn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for Halloween thinking MAC's Black Knight was sold out at my counter. Well, this was the last one at my counter so I decided to give it a whirl. At first glance it looks like a black lipstick with a tinge of purple and purple shimmer in it. Indoors it looked pure black on me. But outside in direct sunlight, you can see the purple undertones. It's still very dark, just not black. You can't see any shimmer when you're wearing it, which I think is a bummer. But it's still a gorgeous color imo.


The formula is soft, creamy and a bit glossy. I applied this over a reverse lip liner and have to say I had no problem with it no staying in place. My only complaint about this is that yes it did accentuate all my lip wrinkles. So I'll have to moisturize and exfoliate before wearing this color again. Other than that though, I'm in love with this! Here are a few pics of it in direct sunlight.


Here it is the color on the right. The one on the left is MAC's Black Knight.



Here it is by itself.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FleurDefendue on 10/4/2009 5:33:00 AM more reviews by FleurDefendue

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wanted so much to get this, even if I was not sure if I could pull that look off. Anyway, I got it (it was very difficult to find it, it is sold out almost everywhere here). On me it is totally opaque, not sheer, and it has a glossy finish indeed. I also noticed that it is not as drying as other RA can be on me. So, I am very happy with the consistency. As for the color, it is the darkest cool purple, almost black. When I first applied it, I was a bit dissapointed, because it looked very unnatural. I tried it on a very pale face, with just mascara (no eyeshadow, liner or blush) and it was certainly over the top, it looked like I put a fake plastic mouth on. However, after experimenting a bit with it, I found out that:
a) A cupid's bow is indeed a must! It looked much better when I lined my cupid's bow a little bit more intensely.
b) It is strange, but on me it looks better with dark rather than nude eyes!
c) It needs a matte face, but not too white, just a little bit on the pale side. My skin is fair all year round and I am used to it, but this lipstick needs a bit of definition or something to highlight my cheek bones, because it makes my almost round face look like a circle!

I paired it with Chanel lipliner in Grenat (this is the one I use for Rouge Noir lipstick rather than the Rouge Noir lipliner; Grenat is more purple/plum, whereas Rouge Noir is more red/brown). It was not a perfect match, but it was ok after a little blending.

Ok, too much analysis for a lipstick. However, I do like it for special occasions (for night only) and what I love about it is the way it wears out; it leaves a nice all-over dark vampy stain (which is just like the effect I get from Lancome's Piha Black Gloss), without giving me the "O" look I get with other dark lipsticks. Also, it makes my olive-green eyes look very large and light, almost aqua-green.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 9/30/2009 5:28:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Of all the 3 "Noir Obscurs" collection it's the one I like least (not that the other 2 have gone into my "to buy list").
This is the darkest of the 3 shades.
As much as I like Rouge Allures Lipsticks, Ladies, this particular lipstick collection is rather disappointing.
Hysteria is a deep, dark cool-toned eggplant black.
To my surpise, they have not that laquery, deep creamy finish you see on the model.
They are rather glossy and sheer (you can see your lip color underneath).
The texture is awful! It settles into lines, is UNEVEN, and feathers like crazy (lipliner is mandatory).
It spreads unevenly in many tiny filaments - weird - and is not smooth enough.
These "filaments" go straight into your lip lines (the vertical lines) and settle there. The result is pretty awful.
You can build up colour with 2 or 3 coats, but believe me, the result is not pretty: I was expecting a dramatic, full colour, deep black.
Got a streaky glossy lipstick with a silly finish.
Very difficult to wear, in my opinion, does not flatter lips; I mean, if you are to wear black lipstick, you might want to have a perfectly defined, deep, laquery, shiny vampish mouth.
This lipstick will NOT give you that!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanel_junkie on 9/18/2009 5:40:00 PM more reviews by chanel_junkie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

When you look at the lipstick in the light, you will notice grape-popsicle purple sparkles, which do not in fact show up when applied. Despite its blackness, the purple hue makes it wearable. The shade is like the deepest, darkest eggplant. It reminds me of black and white photos of 1920's screen sirens (or what I would imagine their lip colour to look like). A unique, semi-sheer shade that, with simple eye makeup, looks sophisticated. It has great staying power and does not feather or bleed. And I agree, a cupid's bow is a must!

Of Hysteria and Maniac, I like this one the least. Mainly due to its lack of opacity. I was expecting coverage like in the Chanel photo of it, but alas, it is not so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luluhalabaloo on 9/16/2009 2:01:00 AM more reviews by luluhalabaloo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have not been this excited in a while! Edgy, really new, a cross between old, eccentric witchy victorian and the 22nd century. Not at all drying, it stays in place and does not bleed, BUT, I wouldn't put the LE gloss on it - to me, the lipstick starts to dissolve and fade so you have dark around the lips and faded shiny interior. We used the new Demoniac black violet eye defining pencil to line the lips which worked fantastic. At first, it takes a bit of getting used to, but pair it with simply dark rimmed/lined eyes and a very clean, very matte almost dusty perfectly foundationed face and defined dark eyebrows, and wow, it's a very very cool look and really one of my favourite looks in a long long time. I love a clean eye and strong lip and no blush for winter, and this hits the spot in an edgy way. But, I also happen to have lips that can carry that look off - small, full and well shaped I guess, but a larger mouth might find it too harsh. The look lends itself well to a bow lip type, but hey, it's fun to see what works! Goes well with Vendetta nail polish. Very limited.
UPDATE: So I thought I lost this after the first wearing and found it yesterday morning. I applied Lip Smackers Cotton Candy on my lips, then used a brush and this lipstick, not too much, just enough, and frankly, I fell in love. It is exactly what I wanted and very wearable if you apply it correctly and with a lighter hand. It can be deepened, and I put a dollop of YSL Black gloss on top and it is amazing for night but for day, just as I described with maybe a bit of a light silver gloss and it is really great especially with the Noir Obscure eyeshadow quad. I actually sourced another one that I am going to pick up today because I have a feeling I will not find this colour again for a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ccmadamoiselle on 2/27/2009 11:21:00 PM more reviews by ccmadamoiselle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hysteria Rouge Allure (Les Noirs de Chanel 2009) is a deep violet lipstick (see pic below). When layered, it looks like blue-violet black. Unlike the cheap plum/black lipsticks of the 80s, Hysteria doesn't wear off into hot pink. It's almost a violet stain. I find that you do have to exfoliate your lips gently with a toothbrush and moisturize your lips, or this lippie will emphasize the lines in your lips. I pair it with MAC Vino l/l. I can't wait to wear Hysteria for a night out with gunmetal eyes. The Chanel makeup artist suggested that I pair it with a silvery glossimer. I grabbed this lippie at a Saks store, but not all the stores got it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Chanel products

More Lipstick products