Living Proof • (Spray) Straight Making No Frizz Styling Spray • Styling Products

rated 2.7(40 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lichi79 on 6/25/2014 12:26:00 PM more reviews by lichi79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this thinking it would be the same as the styling cream but in a spray format. Boy, was I wrong, it caused me cysts behind my ears where my hair touches. Also, as other reviewers had mentioned previously, it truly does make your hair drier. You can feel it the next time you wash you hair after using this product. It feels like straw. It does not make your hair more manageable, and although it is not sticky, it does make your hair feel dirtier sooner. The packaging is convenient though, and good for traveling. At this price point, and for not seeing results, and breaking out, it is not worth buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shirl195 on 5/5/2012 2:00:00 AM more reviews by shirl195

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

ok, i think this spray is misunderstood. i have the frizzy coarse asian hair that is kind of curly when i get out of the shower and dries to naturally poofy. i prefer my hair to be pin straight- think fine blonde pin straight hair, this helps me achieve that look, though im sure there are cheaper products that do that as well. first off, DO NOT follow the directions on the can. the mist is very fine and doesnt really dispense that much product, so you CANNOT use this in place of a blowdry cream like it suggests. when my hair is damp, i smooth styling/straightening cream through my hair and blowdry with a roundbrush. only AFTER my hair is dry, do i spray liberally with this spray and flatiron. sometimes i'll spray it section by section AS i flatiron. result: pin straight hair a la vogue ads. the problem with this product is, that it's not heavy enough on the hair to use for blowdrying. you need a thicker consistency to blowdry with, that will give hair a little weight. oh and finally, i finish off with a shine serum

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 1/24/2012 11:13:00 AM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this spray when it first came out because i've used other products from this line before. This spray is just okay, really nothing special. It smells bad, but that's really the least of the problems with this. This contains a lot of alcohol, which dries out hair and is just bad for your hair. It's more like an actual hairspray to me? Not really for helping my hair stay straight. It actually made my hair frizzier. And I honestly didn't really notice that it kept my hair straight. This isn't the worst product i've ever used, but it definitely is not the best or worth buying again. Especially, for how expensive this was I would expect it to work a lot better than it does. I prefer John Freida's semi permanent 3 day straight spray you can get at walmart for $10 over this. It works much better than this for a lot cheaper. And, not to mention the John Freida spray lasts way longer than this one. The can for living proof goes out fast. To me, not worth it. But everyone has their own opinion, I just know that I will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alisonb77 on 12/17/2011 9:17:00 PM more reviews by alisonb77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't understand why this is getting such bad reviews. I have fine hair that is naturally wavy and can also sometimes be quite frizzy, but if I use this before drying my hair, the end result is beautiful straight hair with hardly any fly-aways (which allows me to avoid using hair straighteners to get a similar result). It is one of my must-have repeat-buy products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kellybethga on 9/27/2011 10:40:00 PM more reviews by kellybethga

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I LOVED this, but the last bottle I bought (total of 3) seems to be less effective? I am wondering if they changed the formula. Previously this made my hair silky and straight and helped fight frizz. I use a lot in my long hair and it's really expensive, but I figured, what the heck, it works! The new bottle, I swear, is different. My hair seemed frizzier and more sticky, although the end result was OK. My favorite curling iron died, though, so I'm not sure who's the culprit (I don't like to straight iron all the way to the ends).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bluemymind99 on 9/18/2011 4:34:00 PM more reviews by bluemymind99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used this as directed to straighten my fine, wavy hair and was disappointed. I sprayed it into my towel-dried hair in preparation for blowdrying, but my hair still had a bit of wave to it. So I sprayed more of it on my dry hair before flat ironing. It worked, but should I really have to use so much product? And the style only lasted about four hours, by lunchtime my hair was a mess and I had to put it up in a ponytail.

And the smell is rank, like hairspray in a sweaty armpit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sueg374 on 7/26/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by sueg374

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the Straight Making styling spray for fine - medium hair. I had the good luck to find this at a new beauty supply in town that sells to licensed professionals only at a discount. I instantly fell in love with this product. I have very wavy/curly fine to medium hair which gets curlier in the humidity. I was impressed at how smooth this product makes my hair and keeps it that way. In fact, although I shampoo daily, I wake up in the morning looking good enough to run out to the store. It adds a little body; this does not keep my hair perfectly straight - nothing does that, but it does a great job of keeping it frizz free with smooth waves. Lucky for me, I can pick up a few more bottles at a discount, but I would definitely fork over the ridiculous amount of money they are charging for this in Sephora :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tycho12 on 6/12/2011 9:42:00 AM more reviews by tycho12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Did absolutely nothing to protect from frizz. Used as directed, blow dried straight and flat ironed. Added more before heading out to walk my dog around the block in the humidity. Super frizzy when I got back. This is going back to Sephora.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 findingbliss on 5/27/2011 11:20:00 AM more reviews by findingbliss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Whatever the aerosolized PolyfluoroEster that's in this can is, it doesn't do anything. I was really excited to try this, and used it exactly as directed and my hair seems to be even poofier and frizzy! I even used it when my hair was wet and then after blow drying it, used it again on my dry hair. Considering the small can is $17 and that probably won't last more than a few uses, this really isn't a good value. I'll keep using it until the can is out but I am disappointed so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Aniax021 on 3/4/2011 1:34:00 AM more reviews by Aniax021

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This may be the worst product I'v tried.
I was looking for something to get rid of my very frizzy hair.
I have very fine/thin hair that's very frizzy.
I was recommeded this by MUA.
So the directions say to use like 10 sprays for short hair,
15 for medium, and so on, and the more you spray thebetter.
So not true!!
So I started spraying a few sprays just to get the product all over my hair, after that I brushed through and when I got to blow drying..my hair actually looked worse then before.. this is like water on my hair!
It dries it up and makes it more frizzy! and the smell is horrifying.It's soo strong it's like very strong cologne. It actually gave me a headache it was way too intense.. I'm dead serious.
So then after 20 sprays, my bottle was almost empty(I used up the small travel size bottle) and did not see any diff. in my hair. It was left wet, smelling like strong cologne and very frizzy!
It did nothing! It actually looked worse..
and why would you want to use up so much of your product, like the directions say(the more you use the better) I think the less the better, not more! you want to use as little as possible..
Also, the very first ingredient is some kind of alcohol..would
explain why it dried out my hair so much..
Horrible horrible product. Probably the worst.

->Made my hair worse. Did not control frizz. Dried out my hair. Gave me a headache, the smell is waay too strong, I seriously couldn't take it.
Def. will not repurchase again or recommend this product to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products