Yves Saint Laurent • Rouge Volupte - Sweet Honey / Miel Exquis #4 • Lipstick

rated 4.2(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 gundieb on 9/30/2012 6:08:00 PM more reviews by gundieb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I have written one review on my blog about this. I was very happy when I got it.
Design is just so beautiful, stylish. Even my boyfriend joked - I must have gotten it because it looks so great.
I saw a promo picture of it online, I fell for it instantly. And I have big lips and years ago when I was looking for a nude lipstick I could not find one. This seemed to be a perfect for a first timer in nude lips.
I love the smell, it also feels very nice, very buttery but not sticky. But here comes the BUT,
It really makes my lips chip and split. Once I dont use it it is all great and I use my Burts Bees and it fixes them. But when I use this for a day, it feels horrible. I thought it is other things at first but it goes like a magic once I stop using this. Shame really as it is not a cheep one but I wont be using this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 martaab on 6/25/2011 5:46:00 AM more reviews by martaab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, so the lipstick itself is very creamy and feels like heaven when applying. The scent is barely there- i wouldn't have noticed it if I hadn't put my nose in it :D It is a bit drying indeed.
But let's get to the colour. I expected more of a brown colour and it actually looks like orange. Like rusty-orange, Don't really like that. But if you pat it with finger it can look quite good. I do have very pigmented lips- maybe if it was applied on lighter coloured lips it would look nicer.
I will however purchase the lipstick again- not in this colour though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 5/8/2011 9:57:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This shade is the PERFECT nude for my skin tone (NC42ish). I love to pair it with a smokey eye and fake lashes. YSL lipsticks are quality products and this one is no different. The texture is very smooth and creamy. I strongly recommend exfoliating lips before applying for the best finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jessma3 on 3/16/2011 9:00:00 PM more reviews by Jessma3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

So I spent days looking at reviews, and then hours circling and trying different lipsticks at the department store (so much so that the sales people recognized me when they would go to another stall to borrow something ><)

Finally I decided to try the YSL but I was hesitant, only cuz I'm new to makeup and I know MAC is popular and YSL seemed more of an older person's kind of makeup.. and the price. But after trying every single MAC lipstick, none of them made my rather pigmented pinkish red lips get that nude effect (while still keeping some color from my lips so I don't look washed out). This doesn't blend in 100% with my semi dark Asian skin tone, but it gives me that perfect look I wanted with a smokey eye look. It's moisturizing and smells nice, I love it!! I'm very happy with this purchase and I don't use it everyday so it's justifiable.

One thing though, and I'm not sure if this is for all lipsticks, but I find I have to keep reapplying every hour.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darkenedxstar on 9/17/2010 5:38:00 AM more reviews by darkenedxstar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A little goes a long way for this product. I love all of YSL's Rouge Volupte! The only down side is the price of the lipsticks. They are rather expensive. The amazing thing about these lipsticks are that they're very moisturizing and the colours show through very opaque. With Sweet Honey, it's such a perfect nude lip colour! For me, the tone is just perfect, no pink undertones whatsoever. Unfortunatly, I don't wear lipstick daily so it's a bit of a waste for me to use it so seldomly. But if you're looking for a neutral nude lips look, I'd definetly suggest giving this one a try. Personally, I think it's worth forking out the money for this stuff, not to mention the packaging itself is gorgeous!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tcw99988 on 5/26/2010 1:43:00 PM more reviews by tcw99988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been looking for a nude lipstick that i can wear for a long time, I was going to be NARS honolulu honey but it is out of stock everywhere, then i came across to this at Sephora. I swatch on my hand first and was amazed by how pigmented and smooth it is. When I put it on my lips I fell in love with this even this is a really pricy product. It last long on my lips and goes on really smoothly, but it does dry my lips more than NARS'. I would still recommend this as a nude lipstick to people around NC25-30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mochavida on 4/24/2010 10:33:00 AM more reviews by Mochavida

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This color is a creamy beige with no pink undertones. It is a very neutral honey colored lipstick. Fantastic texture, a little bit more drying than some of the other Rouge Volupte I have tried. This type of beige is hard to find, perfect for a true nude lip . Very pigmented ( which I need bc i have very pigmented berry colored lips) . This color is very close to one of my all time favs EVER- Vincent Longo " Hush Delight". So when I swatched this in the store I was excited to see this color come out. Packaging is phenomenal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 11/19/2009 5:22:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This lipstick is called Sweet Honey -- exquisite honey. and it is a beige/'honey tone. The packaging is exquisite for all the Rouge Volupte's. The price reflects the beauty.

I have many beige lipsticks, but this one is special. It is a beigey/honey gold tone which is not easily found in many brands. I don't detect any pink or orange in the lipstick so it works perfectly with a brown smoked eye and pink cheeks.. wow.

I did this look today and even my husband told me how great I looked... and the only thing that was different was my lipstick.

This color might not be for everyone, but it is perfect for me.

Will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ICandi520 on 11/7/2009 2:06:00 AM more reviews by ICandi520

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this lippie. I'm not going to lie...the packaging reeled me in something serious. Its a gorgeous gold tube with a cute mirror on top of the packaging. The texture of this lippie is to DIE for! It's so smooth and creamy. It has a bit of a mango scent to me but that didn't bother me at all. My only complaint is that for this color, if you have pigmented lips, it takes a bit of work to get to the way you want it to look. I used a Chestnut lip pencil lightly and Who's that Lady gloss lightly over it and it looks beautiful!!! I'm a NW50 DDD for refrence. Overall it is worth the buy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Msjuneday on 10/25/2009 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Msjuneday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The color name is "Honey", but it's really more of a burnt orange color. When I think "honey" I think of light golden, maybe some shimmer. So, I was disapointed in the lipstick to start with that, but I thought maybe I could rock some more natural color lipsticks since I always seem to make lipstick a statement piece of my look. Well, as applying it, it did go on too muddy and orange, but then it sheered out to a nice color, and then it completely dried out my lips. I had to use a sugar scrub on my lips after a day wearing this product.

Also, I did a swatch of it on my hand when I was trying to figure out what color to wear. I washed my hands and everything, but later in the evening I had a welting rash on my hand where it was. It was right where I put this lippy, so I must be mildly allergic to something in it, and maybe that's why my lips dried out so horribly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Lipstick products