Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(151 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Callmecorrina on 7/24/2014 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Callmecorrina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I suffer serious oily skin in the summer and lately i have been suffering bad acne (not too sure why). I bought this VERY PRICEY moisturizer because it catered to both these two problems. The consistency of this product is just like everyone says, it very closely matches Elmer's glue consistency & even smells like it. Because it is so thick, you need a good amount of product which is disappointing because the bottle is so small for 40$. Also, the thick consistency means you really need to work it into your skin & no, you won't get the best moisturizing relief from this so people with dry skin STAY AWAY. However, this is the first time a mattifying moisturizer has actually WORKED & kept me matte all day!! It makes a great base for makeup as well, at least for my skin i felt that the thick consistency helped make a smooth canvas for my makeup. Another great thing about this product is that it contains SPF, yes you do get a slight white cast in pictures but nothing too bad. As far as an "acne medication", it did absolutely nothing for my acne. It did not control future acne nor cure my existing acne. Overall, I would buy this product again but only in the summer time. Your skin needs some oil in the dry winter! And on a student budget..its not very practical to purchase all year round. I will continue to search for a dupe, but I am really impressed with this. I recommend this to anyone with combo or oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 6/29/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So this is a bit pricey, but I like it. My skin is schizo-combination, oily in T zone, dry patches around nose and on forehead, slight wrinkles, acne-prone and large pores. I don't get as shiny when using this product, even in 90 degree weather I only have to blot once and still don't get that bad. The product doesn't have a strong scent and the texture is a bit thick and takes some effort to work in. It doesn't leave a white cast on my skin and feels very light and breathable. I appreciate the SPF, even though my foundation has it, too. This has never caused me to break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miltonh81 on 6/24/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by Miltonh81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After a pretty horrific time with the 30 day acne kit you really wouldn't think I would dare try anything else in the range!, but I was given a sample of this and I have read good reviews so thought I'd give it a go and just patch tested it first and I decided to put it on the oiliness part of my face which was my nose which also has a lot of open pores all over!. For I'd say about 7hrs my nose stayed oil free and the foundation on top did not separate like always I was stunned!. So the next day I put this all over as all of my face gets oily no dry patches at all. Again 7hrs later from start of work until the end my foundation stayed on and I hadn't had to blot once!. I do not not feel the need to use primer this is the perfect moisturise/base I have tried and have now bought the full size highly recommended!.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EleBees on 5/31/2014 10:45:00 AM more reviews by EleBees

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this more as a priming lotion than a mattifier. I live in Puerto Rico, and I find that this does not keep my t-zone mattified throughout the day when used by itself. However, it is a lovely product, it does not cause me any breakouts or make my sensitive skin itchy. The smell is a bit strange but it goes away fast, and I like that it feels creamy even though it's a bit liquidy when it comes out of the tube. I gave it 4 lippies instead of 5, because it really does not mattify me as much as other products do. However, it is a nice product for priming in general, and it may work in climates that are less harsh. I plan to buy more once it runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaleiokapualani on 3/17/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by kaleiokapualani

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS. I am very picky about my moisturizers. I have very VERY oily skin, and it's very sensitive/acne prone. It's usually about 88 degrees and humid, where i live, so I was looking for a great moisturizer/sunscreen for my oily skin (which is something ridiculously hard to find). After years of searching, I have finally found a perfect combination of sunscreen, oil control, and moisturizer!! I pair this with my Becca matte primer, and i'm good to go! Like other reviewers mentioned, this is not a miracle product for oily skin. Especially if your an extremely oily girl like myself. However, this is by far the best product i can find for maintaining my oil control, and protecting my skin at the same time. I highly highly recommend.

The scent is a little funky- definitely comparable to Elmer's glue. And this stuff is so expensive- 1.7 oz for $40! But definitely worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MimiCakes88 on 3/17/2014 5:30:00 PM more reviews by MimiCakes88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the best moisturizer I have came across for my oily skin. This plus the smashbox primer in light is the best combination for my super oily skin. I've been using it for over a month and I did not have ANY breakouts. If anything I feel like my occasional breakouts have calmed down after switching to this product. Also, very little product goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 11/8/2013 8:19:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the ONLY product I've ever tried that keeps oil away til evening. It is a bonus that its a moisturizer and has SPF (although not enough if I'm out like for a full day outing in the sun). But good for daily use. Every oil control 'primer' I've tried doesn't work and if anything makes it worse! Maybe it's some ingredient I'm sensitive to. Anyway yea this doesn't smell great but it doesn't linger at all. I have dry patches near my mouth that I ALWAYS put a heavy moisturizer on right after cleansing to lock in the water. This, I keep by my makeup not my skin care and use more like a primer. I sometimes put a dab of Clinique moisture GEL on under it if I'm not doing my makeup right away. Doesn't affect outcome. Love the stuff and will always rebuy. I wish it had a higher SPF but then high SPF items always make me greasy... I'm sure that's why this one is only 15.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emysiu on 8/10/2013 8:16:00 PM more reviews by emysiu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this for the past month and I'm on the fence about this product. On the one hand, it provides a really nice base for my makeup, but it is not good for oil control. I get shiny within the hour of application, but I know that I have skin that gets greasy very easily. Yes, it does have a consistency similar to Elmer's glue, but it doesn't leave a whitish cast on my tan skin. For the price, Paula's Choice Hydralight Shine-Free SPF 30 moisturizer is significantly less in price and to me is quite comparable in its qualities (perhaps even better). Moreover, I prefer a physical sunscreen, personally, which Paula's Choice uses. I wouldn't use Murad for the sunscreen, but as a primer. I think this product is suited not necessarily for oily skin but for more normal skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dhook on 6/19/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by dhook

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. Doesn't completely give a matte finish right away but when used under my makeup, it really does keep shine down for the duration of my day (approx 10-12hrs). Even when traveling across the country for work - with different climates, it does it's job.

I apply to the areas that get the shiniest for me during the day - IE: forehead, t-zone & chin. A little goes quite a way too. Does great with a BB cream and light finishing powder & I'm set.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Flassie on 6/7/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Flassie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really like this. It is not amazing, and does not totally mattify my super oily skin. However, it does make it take a bit longer before I look like a complete grease ball. I also like that it have SPF 15, which is enough for me on a daily basis. Also I find that when using this in the morning I don't need to use a moisturizer in the morning (I still use a heavy moisturizer in the pm).

I don't know if I will buy it again, because I think there might be something better, but it does a good job.... just don't expect any miracles.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products