Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(147 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 kaleiokapualani on 3/17/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by kaleiokapualani

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS. I am very picky about my moisturizers. I have very VERY oily skin, and it's very sensitive/acne prone. It's usually about 88 degrees and humid, where i live, so I was looking for a great moisturizer/sunscreen for my oily skin (which is something ridiculously hard to find). After years of searching, I have finally found a perfect combination of sunscreen, oil control, and moisturizer!! I pair this with my Becca matte primer, and i'm good to go! Like other reviewers mentioned, this is not a miracle product for oily skin. Especially if your an extremely oily girl like myself. However, this is by far the best product i can find for maintaining my oil control, and protecting my skin at the same time. I highly highly recommend.

The scent is a little funky- definitely comparable to Elmer's glue. And this stuff is so expensive- 1.7 oz for $40! But definitely worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MimiCakes88 on 3/17/2014 5:30:00 PM more reviews by MimiCakes88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the best moisturizer I have came across for my oily skin. This plus the smashbox primer in light is the best combination for my super oily skin. I've been using it for over a month and I did not have ANY breakouts. If anything I feel like my occasional breakouts have calmed down after switching to this product. Also, very little product goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 11/8/2013 8:19:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the ONLY product I've ever tried that keeps oil away til evening. It is a bonus that its a moisturizer and has SPF (although not enough if I'm out like for a full day outing in the sun). But good for daily use. Every oil control 'primer' I've tried doesn't work and if anything makes it worse! Maybe it's some ingredient I'm sensitive to. Anyway yea this doesn't smell great but it doesn't linger at all. I have dry patches near my mouth that I ALWAYS put a heavy moisturizer on right after cleansing to lock in the water. This, I keep by my makeup not my skin care and use more like a primer. I sometimes put a dab of Clinique moisture GEL on under it if I'm not doing my makeup right away. Doesn't affect outcome. Love the stuff and will always rebuy. I wish it had a higher SPF but then high SPF items always make me greasy... I'm sure that's why this one is only 15.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emysiu on 8/10/2013 8:16:00 PM more reviews by emysiu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this for the past month and I'm on the fence about this product. On the one hand, it provides a really nice base for my makeup, but it is not good for oil control. I get shiny within the hour of application, but I know that I have skin that gets greasy very easily. Yes, it does have a consistency similar to Elmer's glue, but it doesn't leave a whitish cast on my tan skin. For the price, Paula's Choice Hydralight Shine-Free SPF 30 moisturizer is significantly less in price and to me is quite comparable in its qualities (perhaps even better). Moreover, I prefer a physical sunscreen, personally, which Paula's Choice uses. I wouldn't use Murad for the sunscreen, but as a primer. I think this product is suited not necessarily for oily skin but for more normal skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dhook on 6/19/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by dhook

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. Doesn't completely give a matte finish right away but when used under my makeup, it really does keep shine down for the duration of my day (approx 10-12hrs). Even when traveling across the country for work - with different climates, it does it's job.

I apply to the areas that get the shiniest for me during the day - IE: forehead, t-zone & chin. A little goes quite a way too. Does great with a BB cream and light finishing powder & I'm set.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Flassie on 6/7/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Flassie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really like this. It is not amazing, and does not totally mattify my super oily skin. However, it does make it take a bit longer before I look like a complete grease ball. I also like that it have SPF 15, which is enough for me on a daily basis. Also I find that when using this in the morning I don't need to use a moisturizer in the morning (I still use a heavy moisturizer in the pm).

I don't know if I will buy it again, because I think there might be something better, but it does a good job.... just don't expect any miracles.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luineumaiel on 6/5/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by luineumaiel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you:
- Expect to spend the whole day in an air conditioned environment
- Wear really light makeup (moisturiser, tinted moisturiser, powder foundation, finishing/setting powder)
- Have normal/combination skin

then this product will stay COMPLETELY PUT for you for almost 12 hours. I tell you this not by just my own experience, but also that of 3 of my other friends' experience. I find that I don't have to blot, I don't have to wipe off fallouts, nothing. For rather clear skinned people who don't like caking on too much make-up, this is a fantastic buy instead of liquid foundations or tinted moisturisers.

Other benefits of this product:
- It's got SPF 15 WITHOUT the greyish cast - That's GREAT news for dark skinned girls like myself
- You can skip makeup primer with this
- Doesn't settle into fine lines or make your pores look bigger
- I am acne-prone, and I find that it doesn't clog my pores AT ALL.

This is really quite amazing for everyday wear if you're like me and don't have the time, patience or necessity for full coverage makeup.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 barbi11111 on 5/27/2013 4:51:00 AM more reviews by barbi11111

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

my skin is oily and acne prone.using it at the morning under make up. really amazing product !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 laurenheartsmakeup on 5/22/2013 1:34:00 PM more reviews by laurenheartsmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Words cannot describe how much I FREAKING hate this stuff. I was looking for something that would control my oily t-zone when I wore makeup, which is basically everyday. The directions told me to apply liberally so I did. Big mistake. About a week or two after I started using this as part of my regular routine, I started getting ugly breakouts. I even broke out on my forehead and cheeks which was weird because I usually only get breakouts on the lower half of my face. My chin was awful! The pimples I got were the deep, under the skin kind that you can't really pop. They were painful and embarrassing. All I wanted was to control my oil but instead I just got massive breakouts everywhere which are still healing from after 3 weeks of not using this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rydellpink on 5/7/2013 1:00:00 PM more reviews by rydellpink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't use this as a moisturizer. I use it as a primer. It works well on my skin, and I like that it has SPF. It keeps my skin from looking oily.

It can be drying, so I use a heavy cream at night. I haven't had any issues with breakouts from this product. I have been using it for several months and will continue to use it this summer.

The tube is large and will last a long time. I have already bought a back up of this product since I like it so much.

I paid $39.50 for mine at Sephora.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products