Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(159 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 alley1019 on 12/9/2014 8:59:00 PM more reviews by alley1019

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This product didn't work for me. Skin was still oily after a few hours. It was no better than a normal moisturizer except the spf.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 p206p206 on 12/8/2014 5:29:00 PM more reviews by p206p206

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I really was hoping this product will work for me! It had so many good reviews. Unfortunately, it did not at all. It didn't mattify my skin when applied after my regular mattifing-moisturizing moisturizer (if that makes sense;)) It gave me some semi-matte for around 1h when applied on bare skin. Well- I did it once only on bare skin because it was irritated and felt soooo dry. Pros: It didn't clog my pores. You can blend foundation (liquid) over it (when dried). Neat tube- you don't dig into the product using your fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatrionaShadowleaf on 12/7/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by CatrionaShadowleaf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have very oily skin normally, but very, very rarely do I get acne. I noticed that this lotion works best as an area treatment - I can slather it all over my forehead in the morning and I won't get sludge there until about 2 pm, which is pretty good. I would never use it on my cheeks, though.
It smells like glue and is expensive, and it's not really moisturising in my opinion, but it certainly banishes the oil slick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maldiveslover on 12/2/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by maldiveslover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive skin with an extremely oily T zone. I would only use this product during the summer. I wouldn't use it in colder months because my skin tends to get a little dry and this only makes it worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChesterMaria on 10/1/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by ChesterMaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only product that actually MATTIFIED my very oily skin. I have tried a lot of products that are ''mattifying'' but the effect lasted for 1-2 hr until I started to look greasy.
This mattifies my skin from about 7 h in the morning until 12 h or even longer. Then my skin starts to grease a bit but still not as much as before!
When I put this on my face at first I feel like it's hard to rub in but after a second I feel as if it released its moisturizing substances and my face starts to feel very nice and smooth and hydrated.
It does have a weird smell and looks a bit like glue but it's just at first, so once I applied it, it feels comfortable on my skin.
I haven't used it for a long time but so far it seems I have finally found my favourite mattifyer. The only bad side is its price, it's really expensive, so I use it in small amounts.
I would recommend this to everyone who has very oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amoenaonline on 9/10/2014 7:37:00 AM more reviews by amoenaonline

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This moisturizer pretty much changed my life. I love it so much! It keeps my face matt all day, it's moisturizing enough, doesn't take forever to sink in, my makeup looks amazing with it (I use BB creams mostly)... the only downside is the price. I stash this like crazy when it's on sale!

The product itself is quite thick, but it doesn't bother me. It's still easy to apply and like I said earlier, it does sink in pretty fast. I usually put this on, brush my teeth and then I am ready to proceed with my usual BB cream. I love the fact that it has SPF 15. It's not much, but it's better than nothing at all. My BB cream has SPF 20 so I think they work well together,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 foxyknoxy on 8/15/2014 6:56:00 PM more reviews by foxyknoxy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product. For the first two days I actually did since it banished the oil dramatically....then I started to breakout. I finally was clear of breakouts beforehand so I knew immediately that it was due to this product. Reason.....high silicone content (as will see one of the first ingredients listed on the packaging). Those not allergic to silicone will love the mattifying aspect. For those like me that are sensitive, the silicone will trap in the sebum and in turn clog the pores. I'll just stick with blotting paper and powder. Possibly consider birth control to reduce the oil production.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 8/9/2014 3:14:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent product. I have combo-oily skin that leans more toward oily. And this is my favorite, most effective mattifying product. It truly keeps the oiliness at bay. I have tried many others but Murad's really is the best. It's a little expensive but it's so worth it! Have repurchased and will continue to do so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Callmecorrina on 7/24/2014 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Callmecorrina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I suffer serious oily skin in the summer and lately i have been suffering bad acne (not too sure why). I bought this VERY PRICEY moisturizer because it catered to both these two problems. The consistency of this product is just like everyone says, it very closely matches Elmer's glue consistency & even smells like it. Because it is so thick, you need a good amount of product which is disappointing because the bottle is so small for 40$. Also, the thick consistency means you really need to work it into your skin & no, you won't get the best moisturizing relief from this so people with dry skin STAY AWAY. However, this is the first time a mattifying moisturizer has actually WORKED & kept me matte all day!! It makes a great base for makeup as well, at least for my skin i felt that the thick consistency helped make a smooth canvas for my makeup. Another great thing about this product is that it contains SPF, yes you do get a slight white cast in pictures but nothing too bad. As far as an "acne medication", it did absolutely nothing for my acne. It did not control future acne nor cure my existing acne. Overall, I would buy this product again but only in the summer time. Your skin needs some oil in the dry winter! And on a student budget..its not very practical to purchase all year round. I will continue to search for a dupe, but I am really impressed with this. I recommend this to anyone with combo or oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 6/29/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So this is a bit pricey, but I like it. My skin is schizo-combination, oily in T zone, dry patches around nose and on forehead, slight wrinkles, acne-prone and large pores. I don't get as shiny when using this product, even in 90 degree weather I only have to blot once and still don't get that bad. The product doesn't have a strong scent and the texture is a bit thick and takes some effort to work in. It doesn't leave a white cast on my skin and feels very light and breathable. I appreciate the SPF, even though my foundation has it, too. This has never caused me to break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products