Maybelline • Line Express Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.2(61 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frootloop75 on 6/8/2014 2:57:00 AM more reviews by frootloop75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Having seen the overall rating for this product on MUA, I think I have the honour of being the only person who's batting hard for Maybelline's Line Express. I love the brownish black shade so much I'm onto my third pencil. Something that's never ever happened to me.

Pros:
- price, seriously it's less than $9 AUD full price
- brownish black is perfect for me to use everyday at work, not as harsh as black but a bit more striking than browner shades
- blends impressively for the price point
- excellent colour pay off
- soft texture
- decent smudge tip at the other end of the pencil.

Cons:
- does smudge and fade at the end of the day
- you do get through the pencils quickly as they need a good sharpen every third use.

All in all, I'm really happy with this product from Maybelline. I've been a long time fan of their mascaras and it's nice to see the drug store price point being represented by high performance products like this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TinaLeNguyen on 12/4/2013 9:21:00 PM more reviews by TinaLeNguyen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this eyeliner, it has a creamy smooth texture unlike other kohl liners I've used so its so easy to apply and doesn't tug at your lids. It gives a lovely finish and I would definitely consider this eyeliner one of the best drug store kohl liners I've ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Foreversearching on 9/8/2013 8:17:00 AM more reviews by Foreversearching

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Really nice colour range and goes on your face sooo smoothly that you hardly have to press. However it is super super smudgey. Do not combine with alcohol or you will become a hot eyelinery mess

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizi357 on 3/22/2013 11:15:00 AM more reviews by lizi357

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this product in black. It glides on well BUT it ran under my eyes within an hour or two and made me look like I had undereye circles. I could not remove it easily without a makeup remover. I did not like the product and would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 2/22/2013 8:33:00 PM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this eyeliner in blackened sapphire, which is a dark blue. The color is so gorgeous!! The liner is really great. It is the kind you sharpen and comes with a smudger on the opposite end. The smudger is really useful to get a smokey eye look with the eye liner. I love this stuff. It glides on easily and stays, plus it's pretty cheap. YAY.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 denaerea on 2/12/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by denaerea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I usually like Maybelline products but this was a disappointment for me. I bought this in Ebony Black and although the colour was awesome, halfway through the day I realized that I was sporting black smudges under both eyes. The pencil comes with a smudge stick on the opposite end but I didn't like the feel of the rough sponge on my sensitive lids, nor did I understand why it was there in the first place, considering this liner seemed to smudge itself. What can I say, I just didn't like it at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EL2016 on 1/15/2013 10:31:00 PM more reviews by EL2016

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought these on a whim because I had lost all of my eyeliners on a trip. I bought them in brownish black and ebony black. I was pleasantly surprised :) the black eyeliner itself is really easy to work with and is that perfect creaminess so it dries down and doesn't move. I usually used the black as an upper water liner (tightliner) and it stayed decently well. The brown I used on the lower lash line, and I had no problems with it. It was a little stiffer than the black, but it works fine for the price. The only problem I have was that it only took about 2-3 months to use up the black, which I consider fast on my standards, even though I used it everyday. However, it is so cheap that to me, it doesn't matter too much :) I will most likely repurchase the black liner when I use up my other ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 samsungasong on 8/17/2012 8:06:00 AM more reviews by samsungasong

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've never really found an eyeliner I've loved yet this is the closest yet. Either the colour isn't right, it doesn't stay on, it smudges or is just plain hard to apply.

As I've become older I find the colours I used wear are too dark for me.

I purchased the brownish/black in this brand which gives me a softer more natural look.

It has eyeliner one end & a sponge applicator the other which helps with blending making the look even more natural.

The cost is reasonable & until I find something better, I will continue to purchase this one.

Edit - After purchasing the Urban Decay Grind House sharpener, this eyeliner is even better. After applying my liner to the lower lashes & blending it with the sponge applicator, I then use the applicator to add a little colour to my eyebrows. I'm happy with this product & want to try other colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vvn1995 on 8/6/2012 3:37:00 AM more reviews by vvn1995

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

wore this when i went out and went to look at my face to touch up and it was all smudged under my eye and by the end of the night it was literally all gone, it was like i had removed my makeup. Also cant sharpen it because it keeps breaking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 7/15/2012 10:24:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not my favorite ever eyeliner, but it fares quite well in my standards. It glides on smoothly, and I can sense that it has just a hint of waxiness, but not enough to actually cloud the product's ability to go on well. The color is not as black as I had hoped, which is a minor drawback. It does have good staying power, when used with primer of course. What kinda bugs me about it is that it needs a lot of sharpening, after 5-6 uses. It is one of those liners that comes with a blender tip, and this liner is okay for blending, but having a good primer underneath makes it hard to blend. The price was good, I got it for $8, and I'm happy with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products