Milani • Totally Cool • Polishes

rated 4.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 12/13/2012 11:40:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous shimmery golden-flash purple color that reminds me of a scarab beetle's iridescent shell except in purple rather than teal or green. Sheer dark purple jelly base. Glittery sparkle result in sunlight. Easy to apply & would definitely buy again. Like other reviewers, I recommend layering it over a dark base color - I, too, topped it over a disappointing shade & the result was instantly gorgeous.


Totally Cool is totally cool. :)


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlycolor on 1/21/2012 12:12:00 PM more reviews by curlycolor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ladies, if you love this gorgeous color---and I do---then get to a Kroger store (if you have one in your area) and see if it's being discontinued. My local Kroger is getting rid of this color, don't know if it's all Krogers or not, but I picked up the last two bottles dirt cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 8/22/2011 8:51:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! I layered it over Revlon Modern Grace after the color wasn't what I expected and it looks great. I'd recommend layering it because four coats would be a pain. A cheap alternative to Clarins 230!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zombiekitten87 on 5/31/2011 12:22:00 AM more reviews by zombiekitten87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My first thought was "ooh! looks like unicorn pee!" Its a pretty, purple shimmer in a blue base, and while it lacks the green and amber shift of the pee, its kind of the pee's third cousin: Not twins, but you can see the family resemblance.
It takes a lot of coats to achieve bottle color (around 4) but it layers nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HoneyBomb on 1/18/2011 12:16:00 AM more reviews by HoneyBomb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! I just scored Totally Cool at this random drugstore in my town. The store is called Phred's Drugs and as far as I know, it's only a small chain in RI. I'd never been in there & decided to check it out tonight, in search of some polishes I'd been hoping to find...

Well, they have a GIANT bin of 50% items, so, being the polish addict I am, and being that I had some time on my hands, I took it upon myself to empty most of the bin into two shopping carts to mull through. Seriously, this bin was a MESS. There were compacts that were broken, open packages, powder on a lot of items, lots of expired products, etc... It was not pretty! But just as I was about to give up, there she appeared among the rubble - that beautiful glittery purple one, part OPI DS Mystery, part OPI Ink, and another part uniquely "Totally Cool". =)

Well, the sticker price (yes, this place was very mom n' pops & they actually had stickers stuck on each item with the price!) was $3.39... This alone would make it a steal among Milanis that can be anywhere from $5-$6 at other drugstores around. BUT, it was also in the 50% bin. AND, I wheeled & dealed to get another 10% off when I told the clerk how much of a mess the bin was - about having to dig in & put things in baskets in order to find it. So, at the ultimate bargain price of $1.36 (before tax), I walked away with a little powder on my hands from the messy bin, but quite pleased indeed!

When I got home, I couldn't wait to try it out, so it's now swatched on a few of my nails.

It took 3 coats to become opaque, the application was not the best, not the worst, and the clean-up is a bit tough. The flashy glitter didn't come off with remover & a pointed q-tip around my cuticles, although the purple did. It took too long of a time to dry for my liking...

The color is absolutely brilliant, deep purple jelly with mostly hot pink/purple flashy glitter. Definitely eye-catching & glamorous!

Milani bottles are smaller than most, with less polish per bottle, so having a larger bottle would be my biggest qualm with their packaging. I also think the taupe/gold handle is a little cheesy. The brush is good though.

I really can't complain about my experience with Totally Cool overall. I scored a gorgeous color with decent formula for next-to-nothing! Yay! =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Carissaxx on 9/23/2010 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Carissaxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this nail polish a few weeks ago, and so far it seems great! I love the color, its so purple with a touch of gold glitter. I cant comment on the chipping since i just wore it on my toes so far, and my toe polish barley chips.. but over all, i like it alot so far. the color is so pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 imagination3112 on 4/2/2010 9:24:00 AM more reviews by imagination3112

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Georgeous colour, a violet purple base, full of subtle micro glitter.

The colour is very similar to the one linked to the picture here. It appears duochrome in the bottle but does not look duochrome upon application (need to check out different lighting situations)- but I still love the colour and look. Unique in my collection.

The first coat was thin and streaky, however after applying a 2nd coat it became smooth and opaque.

Drying time: Did not dry super fast, just seemed the right time to be able to work with the polish and practise application skills (some polishes seem to dry too fast for me to work wth them).

If it wears OK I would def be interested in trying more in the range.

Purchased at CVS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indigoangel on 1/15/2010 11:19:00 PM more reviews by indigoangel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is sooo gorgeous! It's like a sheer purple jelly base with a generous amount of color-shifting pink/magenta/gold glitter. I just layered it over Misa Fatal Affair and it seems to have changed the glitter to a rich wine color (still color-shifts to gold!). Really pretty; and I only needed one coat for that *WOW* factor! No issues with application or drying time either. I will definitely be purchasing more of these types of Milanis in the future. My only beef about Milani polishes is that their bottles aren't very stable; easy to tip over if you're not careful; but that's not gonna stop me from buying more of it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilSphinx on 11/27/2009 7:53:00 PM more reviews by LilSphinx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a gorgeous deep amethyst semi-transparent purple color with micro glitter that shifts between gold to pink/fuschia to a blue/purple duo-chrome color.
So far, I've only worn it over top of a black base coat and it looks so gorgeous. I haven't tried to layer it by itself for an opaque finish, I don't see the need to with all of the different purple and black polishes I've already got that I can layer this over top of. :)

The micro-glitter is thick throughout the polish so you get a good amount of glitter with every coat, vs. some glitter polishes where the glitter is unevenly dispersed across your nail.

I recently combined this with Milani's "Garnet Gems" polish over top of a black base and it's GORGEOUS!!

I may end up going back for an extra bottle of this polish as a back-up, it's just too beautiful.:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 10/29/2009 10:59:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Totally Cool is a great shade and surprisingly unique in my stash which is saying a lot. It's fairly sheer, so this one for me is ten times better layered over something darker (i.e. LPAD, Chanel Black Satin, etc). This is a rich deep purple with plummy undertones and infused with fuschia micro shimmer/glitter. This applies well and while Milani's last power isn't stellar IME, the polish itself is so pretty that it's worth an extra coat here and there. Overall, very happy with this and one I love on both tips and toes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Milani products

More Polishes products