Amouage • Homage • Fragrances

rated 4.3(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Taifi on 12/29/2012 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Taifi

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The earlier bottles of Homage were mind-blowing, but there appears to be much batch variation these days, even when purchased from authorised retail outlets.
I hope that this divine fragrance can survive as it is my absolute favourite, ever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmellyFaerie on 9/21/2012 7:56:00 AM more reviews by SmellyFaerie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The Middle East has been source of perfume inspiration since ancient times and, in my opinion, nothing evokes the “One Thousand and One Nights” imagery better than Amouage Homage. This is the stuff the dreams are made of, rich and sophisticated.



Let’s start with the packaging: Amouage Attars come in wooden boxes, a very nice presentation. Mine just has the Amouage logo on the front with “Attar” written below it. On the top of the box, there is the inscription “The Gift of Kings” (very appropriate, considering its price tag, I’ll get to it). The box is lined with velvet on the inside and the bottle is well secured.



Now, the bottle: it is tiny (12 ml), just with the Amouage logo in front and a sticker that says “Homage” on the bottom. If you decide to purchase this online, please ask the seller to open the box and be sure that the stopper is very well placed, or it may leak in transit. Mine didn’t: if I remember correctly, it had a plastic wrap holding the cap, but depending on the delivery circumstances, this may be not enough.



Now, what does “Attar” mean? Attar is the Arabic word for “fragrance”, a highly concentrated perfume in oil form. You only need a couple of drops of it to perfume yourself, so a “tiny” 12 ml bottle does last for ages. The price is still high, I’m talking about at least $ 350 for this tiny little bottle. Now you get my concerns about leaking?



Yes, the price may be prohibitive, but the quality is definitely worthy. There is still the option of buying decants or splitting a bottle. And, considering how much is used on each application of this precious oil, it may last longer than a very high-end bottle of EDP in the same price range.



Finally, the juice: from the first application you can notice that this was made only with the best materials available. It smells pure and perfectly balanced. It is very potent, but being in oil form, it stays close to the skin and the longevity is probably the best one among my perfumes.



Homage includes notes of: Taif rose, silver frankincense, jasmine, amber, musk, silver oud, orange, lemon and sandalwood. The predominant note is rose, and it is one of the most beautiful rose notes I’ve ever sniffed. These roses are full and lush, blended with some indolic jasmine, which balances that fruitiness that can be detected mature roses. The citrus notes (orange and lemon) are surprisingly long lasting, but never really predominant, they just add some more depth to the floral bouquet.



The frankincense here is a nice contraposition to the warmth of the amber: it is almost icy. If this is an “incense rose” (as described by Luca Turin on “The Guide”), it definitely doesn’t share the same smokiness of other great incense fragrances around.



The oud in Homage is very subtle, it doesn’t have the notorious “band-aid” note. It gives the composition a resinous and balsamic undertone. The musk has a sort of animalic vibe, which is more noticebale in the late drydown, but never gets “dirty”. The amber, as I said before, plays along with the coldness of the frankincense and rounds up the edges.



In terms of progression, it starts out as a bright heady floral and evolves to a woody-floral with abstract incense undertones. The late drydown is plush and slightly animalic. I won’t put this in terms of timing, because each skin reacts differently to perfume oils. On mine, the development is really slow, but always breathtaking. It is not exactly “casual” scent, but makes me feel like a queen even when I am wearing jeans and sneakers.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KKAI on 1/1/2012 8:47:00 AM more reviews by KKAI

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to add to the glorious reviews here: this is georgeous! A deep, sensual floral oil which screams luxe! Roses and incense are dominant and it is definitely long-lasting. The price tag is outrageous, tho, so I will just stay satisfied with my small sample.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 10/5/2010 1:31:00 AM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really was looking forward to this being fan of Amouage . A sample cost me $10 . Anyhow, it was just tenacious men's aftershave on my skin- no roses - just aromatic and herbal .I was very disappointed. Gold and Homage do not do well on my skin . In these cases, I would like to blame my skin chemistry for how these scents turned out on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ethota on 2/20/2010 5:47:00 PM more reviews by ethota

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I just tried this scent for the first time last night-- and firecrackers went off in my brain, and I'm inhaling so much I may actually pass out!
It is the richest scent experience I have ever had in my life. And, as other have noted, it does wear close to the skin (thank god,-- otherwise, strangers would be following me around all day just to keep smelling this! The sillage is just right: I can smell it, and so can those in my personal space.) and it is LOOOONG lasting.
The price tag is more than I've ever paid for anything (other than one piece of furniture in my house!), but when my sample runs out, I will be buying a full bottle of this, as it is a scent to live in, to revel in.
This is a redefinition of perfume; a meaning-of-life scent. I will not be without it again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeslieCZ on 11/11/2009 10:56:00 AM more reviews by LeslieCZ

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The prior reviews describe the details of this Amouage Limited Edition Homage Attar very well. In fact, doree -001's review is one the reasons I decided to try this. I will try not to repeat what she wrote. But, because I am in LOVE with this, I am writing my own review to add my personal ultra positive reaction to this unique fragrance....it's a long lasting, exotic floral oil....a magic elixir on my dry skin! Since its an oil, it works beautifully as a layering base under my other fragrances or it can be worn alone. It's incredibly beautiful and lingering (due to my skin being so dry, a lot of scents don't last at all on me) and has a womanly, sensual "air" about it, making me feel feminine, chic and glamorous while wearing it. The 12 ML square glass bottle is lovely and does not seem quite as small as I expected. It has an easy to use dabber to avoid waste and you really only need a couple of tiny drops on pulse points to smell fabulous all day or all night. It's very expensive at $350, but worth it to me. It's certainly not an every day item, but for special occasions this is a PERFECT, elegant addition to my fragrance collection and I am 100% thrilled with it.

Homage Attar Notes: Rose Taifi, Silver Oud, Silver Frankincense, Jasmine, Amber, Citrus, Sandalwood

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* doree_001 on 7/16/2009 8:52:00 AM more reviews by doree_001

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a wonderful perfume oil, in a 12 ml bottle. There's no alcohol in it, so it is really fine, concentrated, noble scent.

Not as strong as I have expected -- it definitely has a 'presence', but actually it is not strong, it is pleasant, rather soft, smooth and comforting scent.

Yes, sillage is here, but it is never loud, this scent always stays close to the skin (probably because it is a perfume oil). So, although it is so concentrated fragrance, it can never be too agressive.

Floral-oriental composition: the finest oil of Taifa rose petals, famous Silver Frankinces from Oman, blend of Jasmine, Silver Oud (very expensive wood), Sandalwood and well blended citrus notes.

It is an unisex scent, and it chages its feminine and masculine facets all the time when you wear it: from more floral-rose-bright and gentle, slightly sweet, feminine facet to more frankincense/spicey, but smothered, masculine one.

I prefer when I catch the whiff of its feminine side. All in all, this fragrance has not a strong sillage -- but you catch its whiff now and then all the day, long after you've applied it, and this is very nice; it is especially interesting how it can surprise you with some notes you haven't catch before -- I guess that it changes with temperature, weather, maybe even depends on your mood (because you put just a few drops of oil on the pulse points).

Very expensive but worth money if you are completely tired of all those today's bland, boring, flat fragrances... You'll need only 2 drops, and the bottle will last you for a really long time. And you are sure that you have something made of finest ingredients, not a crap.

It is a limited edition, produced 2008.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julieolivia on 2/16/2009 12:13:00 PM more reviews by julieolivia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for a decant received from immaculately reputable e-tailer.
This is a recklessly expensive fragrance, I think 350 for about a quarter ounce? Once you start thinking about that, you wind up in getting pretty philosophical about scent, why and what it is, why we pay for it. Why we would pay so much for it. The same morning I received this in the mail, the temperature went above freezing and started to melt the layers of ice and snow, I live near a lake and it started to thaw a little, and the smell of the air when I opened the door was arrestingly beautiful - and free. Homage also is quite beautiful. Definently worth the 8 bucks I spent to get a tiny little sample - but definently not worth three figures. It is very, very rich and according to a friend who would know, extremely authentic Middle Eastern perfume. It is outstandingly rose to my nose, and its true, just a tiny drop will last all day and give off very cozy sillage. I wore it to bed and felt like a Queen, my bed should be a canopy the size of a boat, draped in embroidered white silks. It is the scent of ten thousand roses, layers and layers and layers of the best quality rose, just when you don't think there could be more, there is, another thick silky dimension. Which brings up problem number two. Who am I, to wear ten thousand roses? I like roses on the bush, alive and pulsing. Dead roses in a box are antithematic to romance. Their fragrance was taken from them, stolen. This perfume reminds me of those roses, too - except ten thousand of them, dead roses sacrificed to my vanity. I couldn't bear it. If someone told me this was headspace, and not sacrifice, I would feel better. But even then, too much to smell like rose. Underneath the rose is frankincense, a slight herbal edge, and then lemon to balance out the narcotic burgundy wine depth of the rose. It is lovely and worth sampling. On the far drydown is the most ironic twist of all. A fragrance that provokes musing on life, death, economics and roses, such a serious and provocative concept as well as fragrance, and it dries down to, and I mean this sincerely - it dries down to Realities. Liz Clairborne Realities.

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Amouage products

More Fragrances products