Clarins • HydraQuench Cooling Cream-Gel • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 daisydaisys on 4/6/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by daisydaisys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Over scented and therefore irritating to the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pianoBUTTER on 4/2/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by pianoBUTTER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

My skin absorbs this really fast but after a few hours it starts getting greasy and shiny. I've tested all of the moisturizers from the HydraQuench range but none could ever work. They don't hydrate or moisturize my skin as much as I need them to. I got a few samples of Clarins Bright Plus HP range recently and thank god both day and night creams suit my skin and the weather here (I live in the tropics). They're more hydrating compared to HydraQuench and my face looks fresh everyday even after long hours on campus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glamfish on 3/15/2014 4:24:00 AM more reviews by glamfish

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

What I love about this product is that it absorbs quickly and still leaves my skin matte. I have huge issues with moisturizers giving me that greasy look and this one has given me a lovely glow. My skin never felt tight and you don't need much so it lasts quite a few months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigerlily217 on 12/10/2013 12:37:00 AM more reviews by tigerlily217

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This moisturizer does a great job at keeping your skin hydrated while keeping it matte. It seems to absorb instantly and doesn't leave an extra layer on your skin. Which is definitely great if you have oily or combination skin. I do like the scent but I find it overpowering because it just stays on your skin and doesn't seem to disappear. I am not fond of the packaging because it doesn't seem hygienic to keep putting my fingers into the tub for more product. This is a good moisturizer overall but I ended up giving this to my boyfriend since I am switching over to Dr. Hauschka products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ooohdiamonds on 8/12/2013 3:37:00 AM more reviews by ooohdiamonds

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this moisturiser. It helps out by quenching my skin and improving its texture. My skin looks noticeably softer and 'glowing' because HydraQuench has helped nurse my skin back to health. The texture is great because it is not greasy and easily absorbed. It has a light, fresh scent that is not overpowering which I like. It is on the expensive side, but I feel like it is worth the money. The lady at Clarins counter told me to put a pearl-sized amount on my hands, and rub together to 'warm' the lotion. Then pat it on your face, rather than rubbing it in. With the small amount being used, I feel like the entire jar should last a little while. The only downside is the fact it is in a jar- I would've preferred a pump so I don't have to dip my fingers into the jar. I find that a little unhygienic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kwill89 on 6/2/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by kwill89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This product was disastrous. My original review stated that it was great, well fast-forwarding a month after purchase, I honestly have to say that the amount of perfume in this product managed to irritate my not-too-sensitive skin to a point where I am still recovering from the breakout!! I returned it ASAP and got the Origins Ginzing Moisturizer instead which is a million X better!!! This Clarins moisturizer dulled the skin and I had to put more and more on because it seemed to absorb quickly but yet made my skin feel tight, and my skin is not even dry!! I have regular normal-combination skin, and the SA at Shoppers Drugmart told me that my skin was dehydrated and that I needed to buy this...Well, I'm glad I was able to return it. What a terrible product. I really insist that everyone who is contemplating buying this product should go instead of their local Sephora or Origins counter and buy the Origins Ginzing Moisturizer instead...It does everything that this Clarins one is supposed to do, and brightens too. It will not breakout the skin. This Clarins moisturizer is a pass!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Koumiko on 12/5/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by Koumiko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have very dry, sensitive skin, and this product doesn't irritate it at all. My only problem is that I bought the gel formula, which absorbs really fast into your skin -- yes, there is no greasy feel, but there is no moisturizing feel either -- my skin still feels tight after it absorbs into my skin.

I used it at night, intending it to be a heavy night cream without the grease, but I might just switch it to my day cream, because it is still light enough and it won't be greasy. If you have dry skin like me, I'd suggest trying the Hydraquench CREAM instead of the Cream-Gel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janetbustamante on 11/7/2012 4:50:00 PM more reviews by janetbustamante

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like hydraquench cream gel from Clarins, I have oily combinated skin, it doesn´t brake me out, it keeps my skin hydrated with a matte effect ready for my make up rutine. I just have a con about the package cause it evaporates really fast in summer, thats all.
I use it at mornings and nights wich is great cause it is just one cream for day and night! I really recommend this!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spinnaker on 10/3/2012 2:44:00 PM more reviews by spinnaker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is part of Clarins Hydraquench line; a line based on Katafray bark. It contains a serum, several creams of different weights, a mask and a lip balm.

This is a lightweight, water based 'cream', which equals cream-gel in Clarins speak. The smell is similar to that of the serum but less intense. It comes in a heavy blue glass pot and is a reasonable price for Clarins - not as expensive as some of their line but not their least expensive either.

The bottom line: As I am in my late thirties (gasp! I don't know how I got to this age either!) I layer this with the HydraQuench serum. The cream gel is light and inoffensive and does have the advertised mattifying effect on my face. The lighter texture and mattifying effect work well with my combination skin but if my skin was any drier, this wouldn't be heavy enough.

It is okay. Just okay. Not stellar, not terrible. My skincare routine and indeed life in general, is too short for just okay. So I probably will not repurchase. Reach for stellar and never stop until you have found it!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsminniver on 9/2/2012 6:11:00 AM more reviews by mrsminniver

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have always had the belief that since I possess mature skin, I need a heavier moisturiser despite the fact that only have normal/slightly oily t-zone (but only in summer). With this cream, Clarins has managed to dispute that myth and improved my skin to no end. Towards the end of last winter, I was finishing a heavy textured skin cream aimed at wrinkle reduction and while it was alright, I did end up with blackheads and whiteheads and surmised that I needed to give my skin a break and just go back to a basic moisturiser which provided hydration and nothing else. Read the reviews here and decided to give this product a go.

Again, I automatically reached for the cream for drier skin but the consultant stopped me and told me to give this alternative a try as she felt that a lighter textured cream-gel was more suitable for me and the heavier version would be better reserved for the winter months. I was dubious but bought this and the serum along with it. It has been 3 months in summer and am using a 2nd bottle of this beautiful cream. My skin is looking great (there is no dryness at all); I wear only the serum during the day with a sunscreen and makeup if necessary and both the serum and this cream at night. I do not feel at all tight in the morning...just right. With autumn, I feel that my skin is ready for another treatment and because Clarins is winning points with me, I might just give their Capital Lumiere range for all skin types a go. If that works, perhaps I'll switch to the heavier version for winter. Will let you know how that goes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Moisturizers products