Serge Lutens • Nuit de Cellophane • Fragrances

rated 3.4(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 9/3/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Screeching florals and overwhelming gardenia. On me (and I believe in general), gardenia is headache-inducingly sweet.
All I could smell is gardenia. You don't have to pay this price to smell like a white flower garden with gardenias.
At this price, I expect bells and whistles but it was just run-of-the mill white floral. A cheap smell for an expensive price. Don't trick the value center of your brain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 7/2/2013 10:58:00 AM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have trouble wearing floral perfumes when they're very sharp, artificial, and musky, and I definitely get that feel from Nuit de Cellophane (almost like the smell of hairspray). It's a little soapy on me, but mostly a sharp, slightly metallic, white floral perfume smell. It winds up smelling very much like a generic, cheap, drugstore white floral and it gives me a headache after only a few minutes of wear. It doesn't smell at all complex or appealing to me, unfortunately.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AJ6488 on 4/20/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by AJ6488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the most expansive perfume I've bought but also the best I've had. It smells literally like heaven to me. A little goes a long way, and the smell literally lasts for ever (even after washing my clothes, the smell is still there). It's a perfume, not fragrance spay, so it's more concentrated (that's why it's so expansive for such a small bottle). After I used the perfume from Serge Lutens, I don't think I will ever repurchase the perfumes I had from other brands (chanel, dior, prada, ysl, ck...) Their popular perfumes are so easy to be identified, that usually when people pass by I can tell the exact perfume or fragrance they are wearing. I love to keep a little mystery, this touch of light floral smell often gets people complementing how good I smell and asking what perfume I'm wearing. And when I tell them, most people have never even heard of this brand. Maybe I'm the strange one but this is another thing I love about this brand.

I don't know what kind of magic do they use in their perfumes, but they just happen to have the perfumes I keep finding myself falling in love with (Ambre Sultan, Gris Clair, Clair De Musc, Fleurs D' Orange, Sa Majeste La Rose...) But they are so expansive so I have to save up for each bottle, to me it worths every penny though. I'd love to own an entire collection of the perfumes I love from Serge Lutens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Piper47 on 4/1/2013 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Piper47

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I felt compelled to write a quick review here because a very kind sales associate in a boutique perfumery explained the name "cellophane" to me; so I thought I would share. Many reviewers here have listed things about the "plastic, artificial cellophane note" or how the "cellophane" smells. The name of this perfume is to reference the smell in the Parisian markets when fresh flowers are wrapped up in cellophane and bursting with floral fragrance. The name has nothing to do with the perfume smelling of "cellophane". Just fyi ladies & hope this helps!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 willowlady on 12/27/2012 7:21:00 PM more reviews by willowlady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this perfume. It is perfect! It smells light and pretty. A very soft clean floral!! So happy my boyfriend got me this fragrance. It was everything I wanted and more. Just a beautiful scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 11/10/2012 11:29:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A very nice but not overly impressive Serge scent. A fruity floral that suits both day and night wear. Personally I don't smell the cellophane note but then I don't have a trained nose :) For a Serge perfume its actualy rather tame so I can easily recommend to most people looking for a versatile scent that won't offend most noses! I probably won't be wearing again as it reminds me of a perfume or scent from my childhood that I can't quite place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MauveRebelle on 7/15/2012 4:23:00 AM more reviews by MauveRebelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

An airy and silky breeze, tinged by the acidity of the mandarin, which is made velvet on the skin. Apricot-tinted, it takes us to the heart of a jasmine adorned with a fine film of green notes which crackle as one Cellophane which we deployed to extract a bunch of flower from it. Its fragrance are purring carriers of a diaphanous summer night. If there was "healthy glow" scent, this one would be one of them. I know that we are far from Serge Lutens's deep nuances. Nevertheless the need of tenderness is totally in analogy with what's in the air now. In days of confusion so dear to our period of time, I feel rather delicate and light and the sensuality of the viscose pleases irreparably to my skin. This is a large public Lutens, fulfilling and not headache. I love it a lot and I find its name completely appropriate. After a couple of hours wearing it, it reminds me a little of J'adore de Dior.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 10/10/2011 3:05:00 PM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: jasmine, osmanthus, carnation, lily, almond, honey, sandalwood and musk.

This fragrance opens with a gauzy floral sweet, refined and delicate it is the equivalent of an apricot coloured silk evening gown with pearl beading. I see lily and osmanthus in this accord, yet there is nothing nature-like in it, only stylish sophistication. As the it progresses, the fragrance loses the freshness of the lily and in turn the musky powderiness of the almond and the sweetness of the osmanthus intensify. The scent is deeply feminine and sensual; however it ought to be applied sparingly, because otherwise the fragrance could be head-ache inducing. The dry down is a powdery sap note reminiscent of the head lily note. Lasts more than 6 hours on my skin.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 7/17/2011 6:59:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I waited a long time before trying this one as I was scared of the so-so reviews and the general comments about Nuit de Cellophane. I was scared about this plastic, artificial cellophane note that everybody seems to be bothered about.
Well, in my case, I cannot detect specifically a "cellophane note". There is a hint of something chemical, that makes it similar to a common mainstream fragrance. That's to say, it's not so unique!
The main point of Nuit de Cellophane is a bunch of flowers and apricot on a musk/sandalwood base. The apricot is given by the massive presence of osmanthus, that will -unfortunately - disappear in the drydown.
Again, I don't get the name; nothin here evokes the night; yes, there is some jamsine (and we all know that the Jasmine flowers, on a plant, give their richest scent after sunset), there is this apricot feeling, and this makes is an almost common fruity floral.
To me, easy to forget.
_______________
Notes
Jasmine, Chinese osmanthus, lily, mandarin, Sandalwood and musk.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelamdai on 6/8/2011 5:33:00 PM more reviews by angelamdai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in my May Birchbox. I love mild floral scents so this was a great one for me to try. I especially love how it reacted to my skin, it almost smelled slightly spicy. I can see how it could smell stuffy to some people as everyone's reaction is different. Too bad the price tag is so high. Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products