Essie • Bold and Beautiful • Polishes

rated 4.4(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rosebud222 on 3/1/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by rosebud222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

What an elegant and rich shade! I'd say this is a brownish /burgundy red color. It applies very easily and without and hassles such as bubbles or bald spots. It may be only slightly streaky compared to other Essie polishes, but it's not a huge issue. I've had much worse formulas, by far. It goes on almost opaque in 1 coat but I feel it needs two thin coats to be perfect. In the sunlight you can really get a sense of the brown hue in the red which I love, but in indoor light the shade looks closer to a standard but pretty burgundy. With a good top coat (seche vite or Essie's good to go!) this polish lasts about 5 days without any chips, then by day 6 or 7 small corner ships start to show but I think this a standard for most Essie polishes and quite acceptable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kashinka on 2/13/2012 6:43:00 PM more reviews by Kashinka

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favorite polishes. It's a dark red that never looks black--it's always red (well, burgundy) and always dark. As others have said, it has a jelly quality to it, although it's opaque. Very classy polish in every way. And it lasts a week on me (with touchups), which is something not all Essie polishes do. For reference, I am NW20.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lfrueh on 11/26/2011 4:08:00 PM more reviews by lfrueh

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wow, I'm amazed at the descriptions of this as a true red - it is a very dark magenta red to me. The first coat in fact is just plain magenta. It's darker than Bordeaux but a somewhat similar look. I prefer the Bordeaux, which is more wine and less cranberry jelly. Still haven't found my true deep classic red.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 10/20/2011 12:43:00 PM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite Fall red from Essie on my light tan Asian NC30/C4 skin. It's more jelly-ish as others state, but I only need two coats. It's a perfect, deep, garnet red with TONS of gloss. I love it. Feels chic and sexy and not garish and the jelly-quality means less chipping in my experience. 5 full days without a chip! Recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* habakuktwo on 10/5/2011 7:10:00 PM more reviews by habakuktwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great vampy rich red. It has a jelly quality as other reviewers have stated so I used three coats to make the coverage more opaque. The formula was great and the brush cooperated with me as I have a hit or miss relationship with the Essie's brush. I also used three coats so I could get the color to be as deep as it is in the bottle on my nails. Nice fall/winter shade. NC55 for reference.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lexxe on 12/6/2010 10:50:00 AM more reviews by Lexxe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Really beautiful color - a very rich, deep red. Great for the holidays. Has a slight edge without being vampy. Will definitely repurchase when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caty_23 on 9/11/2010 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Caty_23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Bold and Beautiful comes from Essie's Winter 2008 collection, and at the time was seen as being the most boring colour of the bunch - the lone creme amongst a range of shimmery purples and a gold. I purchased the full collection and Bold and Beautiful was the first one I picked out to wear, and almost 2 years on is the one I use the most.


Whilst I do love almost all red cremes, this one is a particular favourite and stands out amongst others. Essie has the description spot on with "ruby red garnet" as it is a beautiful rich deep red. And it is a proper, true red, unlike many other deep reds that lean brown. I think that is what I love about it so much, the colour has a kind of clarity to it, whilst other reds may be tinged with brown or orange.


I use two coats of Bold and Beautiful - the first coat gives quite a bright red shade, but a second coat achieves the darker bottle colour. The polish has a jelly-ish finish to it, I say jelly-ISH because it is not completely translucent like some jellies and my nail tips are not visible after two coats. However, it does have the beautiful glossy shine of a jelly. My one criticism of the polish is that it does apply a little unevenly at times if I don't take great care when applying. It isn't too obvious when it does though, but it isn't the kind of colour you can just slap on in a rush.


Essies wear very well on me and I can go for about 4 days without chips. I would definitely repurchase this shade if I ever ran out (I am currently about a third of the way through the bottle).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iramasson on 6/17/2010 3:18:00 AM more reviews by iramasson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Beautiful color. Its a deep red but I wouldn't call it vampy. The finish is fantastic - so glossy. Its a jelly polish so it can look a bit uneven. I am personally satisfied with 2 coats but for close-up photos of nails one would probably require 3 coats. Overall I am blown away by how glossy and fresh it looks. One of the absolute best colors I own (out 110 bottles of polish) Would definitely buy again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* asaksa on 9/9/2009 8:05:00 PM more reviews by asaksa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Gorgeous ruby garnet color. A little dark for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* badkitty82 on 2/3/2009 4:21:00 PM more reviews by badkitty82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Described as a rich ruby garnet. Again, the color is deeper and darker in the bottle than what it actually looks like on the nails after two coats. It's a darker shade of red, very glossy and shiny. Quite nice actually! It's my first day wearing the this color so it has not chipped yet - we'll see how long it lasts! I don't wear a lot of red nailpolish so I don't think I'll repurchase, but for anyone who likes red tones, this one is a keeper!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Essie products

More Polishes products