Laura Mercier • First Blush Face Palette • Palettes

rated 4.6(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 LL100 on 5/20/2009 3:36:00 PM more reviews by LL100

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Colors are natural and very flattering. There's nothing on this palette that is unusable.
The sleek pink compact fits nicely into a purse, has a mirror, though you will need to bring your own brushes if traveling. I would use this every day, not just as a purse/travel thing! Awesome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twillow on 5/9/2009 3:50:00 AM more reviews by twillow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this palette for a little over two months now and it's become a favorite. It creates a clean, natural daytime look and with colors that I don't ordinarily use. I'm usually a gold and brown eyeshadow person, so I'm a little surprised that I am so completely taken with this palette that I've been using it daily. The standout products for me are the eyeshadows and lip glosses. The eyeshadows are creamy and blendable with a subtle sparkle to the peachy-pinky color. The peach and grey are a beautiful combination and they definitely bring out blue eyes. The lip glosses are incredibly soft and have a little shimmer in them and the color range gives the option of a warm look or cool look, depending on what other colors you're wearing. The glosses last for quite awhile and feel comfortable and smooth -- I find myself using them even on days when I'm not using the rest of the palette. I don't use the blushes much because I have rosy cheeks already and I don't really care for sparkle in my blush, but these would be nice colors on someone with ivory skin -- as others have mentioned, it probably won't show on medium to dark skin tones.

I have always liked the quality of Laura Mercier products, but haven't bought any of her palettes before. I picked this up because the model for the look had the same hair, eye, and skin coloring as me, which seems like a logical way to pick out a palette, but hardly ever works out in real life...so I'm happy to say it worked this time and I ran out and got a back-up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jmccall93 on 4/20/2009 5:13:00 PM more reviews by jmccall93

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I splurged on this palette after recommendations from another MUA'er for a neutral palette for a PPP. I LOVE that it has blush and lip colors for a peach or a pink look. Will most definitely buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jvogel827 on 4/20/2009 4:41:00 PM more reviews by jvogel827

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

this is a great collection! perfect for daily make-up applications and weekend getaways. i love all the eyeshadow and blush colors. they are soft and natural and last all day. the glosses are nice too but they don't have much lasting power. i would prefer if there were a couple of cream lipsticks to choose from and than a gloss to use over them. that would make the product a little better. overall - i am very pleased with the purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 4/20/2009 3:41:00 PM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This palette is wonderful! It may be the first one I've ever had--and I've had many--in which I will use every product. FoxyKitten did a great job describing the colors so I won't go there again, but the looks--and there are many--you can create with this palette are all soft, fresh, and feminine, and appropriate for almost any occasion. I wear cool colors, but I find the warm colors in this palette truly wearable (and of course they can be combined with the cool shades). The powder products go on like silk, the two lighter shadows light up my eyes and bring out the color (blue) amazingly well, the darkest shadow makes a perfect liner when used wet, the blushes have just enough shimmer to be flattering despite the fact that it is almost undetectable--you only get the lovely glow--and the lip colors are flattering and moisturizing (although I wish they wore a bit longer). A truly great offering from Laura Mercier that I will be using endlessly this spring and summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marlavm on 4/14/2009 3:59:00 PM more reviews by marlavm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Even though I purchased this to be my spring/summer travel palette, I've been using it for my (office) work face lately. Really fresh and pretty colors - perfect for summer! Very neutral. Some of the colors have faint shimmer but are very wearable. Glosses are medium-long lasting (but I'm used to BB, the stickiest/longest lasting ever! LOL). I love that it has two blushes, which is a great for travel.

One thing - I'm a NC30-35 and have a feeling that those with skintones darker than mine might have a problem with the products being too light.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* minxgirl on 4/4/2009 8:01:00 PM more reviews by minxgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to be the 'rotten egg' in the carton by ruining all the great reviews here, but...I didn't find this palette to be anything spectacular. The eyeshadows looked very flat on me (I guess that's because I'm used to my Stila e/s); the lightest color, which appears to be a cream shade turned this nasty, orange color on my lids; the middle color was somewhat nice (w/ a touch of shimmer); the darkest color (a slate grey) was just 'ok'. The blushes (especially the pink color) turned a horrible Pepto-Bismol pink on my cheeks (even w/ a light hand). The peach color was just 'ok' as well; nothing that I don't already have in my Stila collection. I have to say though, that I really did like the glosses, but for $55.00 ($59.00 w/ tax), I would expect at the very least, a lip brush to come w/ the kit. I'm not a huge fan of dipping my fingers into my makeup. The glosses for the most part were nice in color and texture (not sticky at all). So I'm still debating whether or not I'm going to keep or return this kit (bought it last week from Sephora). For the high price tag, this kit should really wow me; and it just isn't doing that. I'll either return this or put it up for swap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nuttycoconut on 2/24/2009 11:20:00 PM more reviews by nuttycoconut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! It's my favorite palette right now and I take this with me every weekend when I go out of town. I love every single color, lip and eye, in this and that is rare for me.
Buff makes the perfect wash and highlight, it looks very natural. Tawny Apricot is a light brownish peach that adds a little something to my eye look yet still natural.
Granite is grey with just the slightest warmth to it, it works great in the crease.
The two blushes are very natural and look great alone or mixed together. I can't use many blushes because my cheeks are naturally rosy but I am actually able to use these without looking bad.
The lip colors are gorgeous.
Flushed is rosey brown, Natural is a nude/beige, Tawny is brown with slight pink tones. I love how smooth these go on, and I love the colors. I really wish these lip glazes were available to purchase separately because I would love to have back ups!
If you are looking for a very usable palette with very natural colors this is definitely for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foreverfrench on 2/17/2009 12:39:00 PM more reviews by foreverfrench

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is such a gorgeous collection! I love it because its a classic. Women of all ages seem to love it too! It feels incredible and looks beautiful! Plus its a convienent carryall! save room in that makeup bag and just carry this and few other key pieces! It is a natural a look as you can get!
I love the way it compliments me! so soft yet i still look very put together and finished!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyhuskiewicz on 2/7/2009 10:47:00 PM more reviews by amyhuskiewicz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The previous reviewer did an excellent job describing the colors. I would add that the colors are much more neutral than they appear in many pictures and really deserve to be seen in person. I am a very pale redhead and all the colors in here are flattering on me. I imagine they would be flattering on almost all middle or light-tone skins. I doubt they would show up on darker tones. I am usually loathe to purchase palettes since there is always at least one color (and usually many more) that I don't want or won't use. Not with this one! Even though it is expensive ($55USD), in my opinion, I have no buyer's remorse and really enjoy the colors. One gripe (or two) - the case's design makes it hard for me to use my long-handled blush brush to get to the peach blush (in the back of the palette) and I really wish she would sell the lip glazes available in the palette separately so I could take them with me without taking the whole palette! Overall, though this product is a huge winner in my book and I recommend it highly.
Add: I traveled for 10 days with nothing but this, spf lippie and mascara and was very happy - now I am sad I did not buy a backup!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Palettes products