Physicians Formula • Shimmer Strips Custom Blush & Highlighter • Blush

rated 3.8(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 justinetindall on 11/21/2012 1:11:00 PM more reviews by justinetindall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok so I got this on sale for $8.50 in the Sunkissed Glow shade, which is a great price considering it has shades that contour, highlight, and give a blushing colour all in one. At first, I didn't understand if it was a highlighter or a blush, but after a few tries with it, I fell in love. It is very natural and subtle on the skin, but since I don't wear a ton of makeup, it shows up perfectly on my fair complexion. I take a contour brush, sweep it accross the palette a few times to get the layered colour, and apply it under and slightly on the cheekbones. The colour stacks from dark to light, so it highlights the top of my cheekbones, blushes my cheeks, and bronzes/contours under my cheekbones in one sweep. It looks shimery in the pan, but really isn't too shimmery on, and as I said, the colour is natural and pretty.
Not to mention, the peachy colours look amazing on my green eyes- really brings makes them pop naturally.
I wear this when I am not wearing any other makeup, as well as when I am going out- but in that case I would also use a bronzer.
LU-HUUUVVEE ITTTT

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bucephala on 2/10/2012 1:28:00 PM more reviews by Bucephala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It's not my HG blush by any means but I really like it. I have it in Healthy Glow and it's a very light frosty pink. It has just enough shimmer to give me a little glow in the winter months. I also like to use the lightest shade as a highlighter. I have used this on my eyes and it worked fairly well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missichicki on 1/11/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by missichicki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Well as you can see from the mixed reviews here it depends what you are looking for in a blush. I looooove shimmery blushes, so these two are a hit with me. I purchased Rosy Glow and Healthy Glow, both pictured above, Rosy Glow is the darker one. They retailed at RiteAid for 11.95, but were on clearance for 2.98. If they hadn't been on clearance I never would have spent 12 bucks on a d/s blush when for a few bucks more I can go to the dept store and swatch away, but I'm glad I bought these home, they're gorgeous. I bought these and a few other PF cosmetics all at 75 off and they've all made a good impression on me for the brand. I'm going to post swatches of these two gorg blushes, but I'm not the best swatcher!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovewithoutlimits on 9/2/2011 5:19:00 PM more reviews by lovewithoutlimits

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A little too shimmery IMO, the colour doesn't really show on my skin, maybe because it's lighter than my skin tone; but it gives the most natural flush so it's great for an everyday blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennabear131 on 8/2/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by jennabear131

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i love this product! i used posietint before this but i hated how uneven it was, blah, blah so i decided to pick this up in healthy glow.. such a good decision!

i have used it as a blush, highlighter and eyeshadow and it looks amazing! i usually only use the top three shades because i dont want it to look too dark on me.. it istantly brightens up my face! i loveee that there is a highlighter in it since i can just sweep my blush and highlighter on at the same time... sometimes i would just like to use a specific colour and the shades seem to run together but thats fine!

honestly i love this and dont see me buying another blush in the futuree!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 boilerscuba on 7/10/2011 4:59:00 PM more reviews by boilerscuba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the SS in Rosy Glow. I bought this compact as I wanted something that can multi-task as a blush, highlighter and an e/s. I have naturally rosy cheeks, so I wanted a blush that enhanced my cheeks and helped contour just a little bit.

Color payoff: low-medium. As a highlighter and an eyeshadow, the compact is almost perfect. It contrasts well enough with my natural skin tone so far during the spring and summer and helps with contouring. I love the darker colors as a pinkish red e/s. However, as a blush, it takes a while to show on my skin tone. It blends well and does not go on chalky on the skin, but is a little frosty for my liking.

Irritability: I have sensitive skin and I have yet to have broken out because of this product.

Price: At $11.95 a piece, it is on the more expensive side for a DS item. However, CVS and Walgreens, often have discount events going on for PF items, so I would wait to purchase till then. You get a decent amount of product. I've been using it for 3-4 months now, and I could probably use it for another 3-4 months and still not have finished it.

Packaging: I don't know if I just got a faulty product, but I have such a hard time opening the compact! I've nicked the pan several times because I had to force it open, and my finger would hit the pan while opening it. I wish it had a button to open it like the Happy Boosters do.

All in all, I don't think I would purchase this product again. I recommend that this item should not be purchased for the blush, but for its highlighter and e/s colors. Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maggiecuda on 2/21/2011 4:50:00 PM more reviews by maggiecuda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This blush is a really pretty highlighter. Also, the strips of color can be used as individual eye shadows, which, over a decent primer, are really pretty.

I wanted to use this as my blush, but I like a heavier pigment so I have been using it as a highlighter over PF's happy glow blush. When I DO wear it alone, however, I have received compliments. "Glowing" and "Healthy." It's actually brighter than you might think, so be careful not to over-apply and check yourself out in natural light from multiple angles first.

I can't really complain. PF really does make quality products. If you decide this blush isn't pigmented enough for you, give it a go as a highlighter, not just on your cheekbones, but also down the center of your nose and cupid's bow. It really makes your complexion glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 artsyjill on 1/11/2011 8:02:00 PM more reviews by artsyjill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product in "healthy glow" which i thought would be a nice peachy golden addition to my makeup instead of a defined blush color. I like the way that this can be used as an ombre if you swipe your blush brush and then apply to the face to get a gradation of color (not stripes mind you) and slightly buff. You can also pick and choose which colors to use together or separate. I like this also for travel as well as the other shimmer strip bronzer/blush/highlighters that can also double as eyeshadows to mix up your look. I would purchase this product again and perhaps try out a different color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zee81 on 1/5/2011 5:48:00 PM more reviews by zee81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love it on days where I want a hint of shimmer, easy to apply, blends well and generally goof proof. Great price for what you get!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rimmela on 1/1/2011 2:16:00 PM more reviews by rimmela

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely stunning to the eye. Love the packaging, and vibrancy of the waves of pink. Love the shimmer. Gives a very light pink sweep of radiance. Can be used as a highlighter alone. Can also pick and choose which shades to use. I like to pair the 3 darkest pink shades with a blush and use the first and/or second white/light pink shades to highlight. A 2 in 1 product. However, I don't see this working quite as well on skin that is tanned or darker (not enough pigmentation).

UPDATE: I like this, but it is a bit hard to wear without looking too frosty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Blush products