Calvin Klein • Sheer Obsession EDP • Fragrances

rated 4.2(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Milisenta on 9/2/2009 4:04:00 AM more reviews by Milisenta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Other    

i've been thinking about buying it for couple years at least:-)- i would come to the store, sniff it, love it, then doubt, then leave.

anyway, since i am VERY picky when it comes to perfumes, and this scent is practically impossible to buy anymore, i thought i should give it a try, since i still prefer it over many other scents.

it's different, it's soft, it's warm, it's sexy, so i would say you will be comfortable wearing either day or night. the only thing that i am not particularly fond of, is the drydown which is very musky and sweet on me (not every time though). Overall, i think when the chemistry bw my skin and the perfume works best, i LOVE it. Would definitely repurchase

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StarStarHeart on 4/1/2009 9:15:00 PM more reviews by StarStarHeart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so sad this was discontinued, but I still have 1 bottle left and it makes me happy. It smells sheer and powdery not like the original which is too strong and musky for me.

It is great!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 12/10/2008 9:57:00 AM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT: in the summer, this is wonderful on me. I've been learning that many scents that are sharp in the winter are bright and refreshing in the summer heat. Adding a point. This might be worth checking out if you're looking for a less-expensive version of Shalimar Light--it's similar, albeit not so sweet, though it doesn't smell as complex or expensive.
ORIGINAL REVIEW: Thank goodness, no civet in this version (an animalic note I usually love, but it stuck out horribly in the original Obsession), but cheap, synthetic-smelling notes still ruin this for me. Like sharp, lemony men's cologne that hurts my nose. The vanilla-incense-musk combination is fantastic--pillowy and plush--not too sweet (I think a man could pull it off).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laumar27 on 12/11/2007 8:17:00 PM more reviews by laumar27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was a bit too young to wear the original Obsession when it was introduced in 1987, but remember it's huge popularity. I was curious to try Obsession so I sampled it at the fragrance counter and although I was not offended by it, I couldn't see myself wearing it. I liked the depth and richness, but on the other hand I also don't like to wear overpowering fragrances. Sheer Obsession is a much softer version of the original. Smells like a powdery, vanilla floral. It's very pretty, but unfortunately lacks the 'wow' factor of the original.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whitman on 12/7/2007 9:49:00 AM more reviews by whitman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

As a late teen in the 80's, Obsession was one of "the" scents to wear. I grew out of it but was immediately transported back when I smelled this. I think this is the perfect "sheer" interpretation, at least on my skin. The same delicious warm feel of the original without the overwhelming aspect. Many scents turn nastily soapy in an Irish Sping sort of way on me, but this one was true to form and I am really enjoying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BlackAmberMoon on 2/17/2007 7:13:00 PM more reviews by BlackAmberMoon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I still love the original Obsession. It was my signature scent of the late 80s, so I was excited to try this new version. It definitely did not disappoint! It is exactly what the name implies - a softer version of the original. Still recognizable as Obsession, but this one whispers rather than shouts. It's also more versatile - you could wear this to the office, a place where the original might be too much. It's sexy, yet demure and polite. It's much more "user friendly" than its predecessor, and even those who don't like the original might enjoy this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rocki on 1/16/2007 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Rocki

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this yesterday, because I wanted something a little less heavy than I usually get, and less spicy. I love spicy- exotic scents usually, so this time, I wanted to get something a little different. I used to wear the original, this version is similar, but not the same. It's okay I guess, but nothing exciting. I'm getting played out with fragrances lately, nothing knocks my socks off anymore. Most of the new fragrances are too fruity, flowery or candyish, don't like that. So I pretty much stay with the older fragrances, but like I said, I'm getting bored with most of the scents out there. Guess I've tried too many. Alot of my old favorites, have been "tweaked" and do not smell the same as they once did, so after awhile...who cares?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lorenbarton000 on 8/23/2006 9:22:00 AM more reviews by lorenbarton000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

True to its name it is a much lighter version of the original Obsession. I have received numerous compliments whilst wearing it. I like the original but always found it headache inducing. If you like the original you will love this it is just much sheerer.. When I purchased this it was on sale for a great bargain, so keep an eye out as you can get it dirt cheap !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smoochapooch on 8/21/2006 6:01:00 PM more reviews by smoochapooch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Of course it's being discontinued, because I like it! Not my HG scent, but I do like it alot. If you like Obsession, you will like the sheer. Smells just like it, only lighter. A patient in my office was wearing it as I was walking by and it smelled so beautiful. I had to stop and ask what she was wearing, and it was Obsession Sheer. I always thought the Obsession fragrance was a bit incensy??? And for some reason I get orange peel from it too. I think Obsession is unique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaxphotogirl on 5/20/2006 8:35:00 PM more reviews by jaxphotogirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I just stumbled on a bottle of the EDP at TJMaxx this afternoon, and it was already opened, so.... I gave a couple of spritzes to my wrist. I honestly don't get the spices or woodsiness. I get something tropical, but not floral. It smells like a warm but light creamy vanilla-musk with a touch of pineapple. Sorta reminds me of the scent of a pack of those tropical Life-Saver candies. (They're supposed to be different flavors, but somehow they all end up smelling and tasting a bit like each other). I normally despise anything overtly fruity, but this one didn't end up smelling foul on my skin. It was suprisingly light for an EDP. Don't expect sillage, but that's okay. It's non-offensive, would be good for the office in the summer.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Calvin Klein products

More Fragrances products