Boscia • Clear Complexion Tonic with Botanical Blast • Toners

rated 3.5(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edgexofxdesire on 7/10/2012 9:21:00 PM more reviews by edgexofxdesire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin absolutely adores Willow Bark, so I figured that this was going to be a product that would work well for me. It does, for the most part, but I will not waste my money on this again. While it is a solid toner--light and refreshing without being sticky--and my skin loves it, it's not worth the $24 that I spend on it.

To start, the texture of this liquid is kind of strange. Like any other toner, it's a watery consistency. Unlike any other toner, this is the driest liquid I've ever seen. I don't mean that it dries my skin out (because it absolutely does not). But I use this on a cotton ball--I'll explain why in a moment--and the cotton ball seems to drag on my skin, rather than gliding smoothly and depositing the toner. It's very strange, but not unpleasant, although it does waste a ton of product.

Now the reason that I use a cotton ball to apply this is because the spray mechanism on the two bottles that I've had did not work. Instead of a nice mist on my face, the product was coming out in a hard, steady stream (think Lysol or Clorox cleaning sprays). So after a few uses I just took the spritz cap off and replaced it with a regular cap, hence the need for a cotton ball. This didn't bother me much until I realized how much product was wasted because the toner is clearly not meant to be used on a cotton ball.

And this tiny little bottle is $24! I will genuinely be lucky if this lasts me another week or two, and I only just purchased it at the beginning of the month. That is terrible :( Honesty, it is incredibly similar to my HG Burt's Bees Natural Acne Solutions toner...only I like the Burt's Bees a whole lot more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 quotidianlight on 5/2/2012 1:31:00 PM more reviews by quotidianlight

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have no idea if this actually does anything to my skin but my goodness... I LOVE the way it feels. So I use it and love it but...can't see any difference from my usual cucumber witch hazel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xDevilicious on 11/21/2011 9:18:00 PM more reviews by xDevilicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

smells nice and is really refreshing, but doesnt clear up my complexion at all....
i use this in the morning to "wake myself up" because its quite cool and refreshing (:
but it didn't help my acne or blemishes at all...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lestrange on 11/21/2011 11:41:00 AM more reviews by lestrange

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this to use as a toner. I think it did a decent job and was good at removing any extra make up I may have missed. However, it feels kind of sticky and my face doesn't feel clean after using it. It comes in a spray bottle which is nice if you want to spray it on your face. It is meant to be one of those refreshing sprays. I'm not a big fan of spraying things onto my face and have no need to refresh myself in such a way, so I would spray it onto a cotton ball and use that way. While not a bad product, it's just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rrrrbravo on 10/29/2011 2:04:00 AM more reviews by rrrrbravo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not sure how I feel about this stuff. I have purchased the Clear Complexion kit twice now and I wish I hadn't. If you have I'd say mild to moderate acne the treatment won't do much, and the moisturizer is sticky and smells like hair dye. Too bad it took me two purchases to realize this. Anyways, I have been reusing the cleasner and this tonic. I bought the kit a week ago and I'm already half way through this tonic. It is very refreshing, especially after taking off a clay mask. It does not make my face burn or sting like I've experienced with some toners. I don't like the idea of spraying tonic/toner on your face. I don't feel it gets put on evenly or something so I just use a cottonround and wipe it on. Some nights I don't even use a toner and I don't notice a difference from when I do use this and do not. On one hand it's very refreshing and doesn't burn or sting my face. But on the other hand I don't see any noticable difference, and I don't feel it gets any left over make up off. And considering a full size is $19 I don't think I would purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 monokuro on 5/15/2011 4:18:00 AM more reviews by monokuro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Every time I used this I had a painful pimple pop in the area I sprayed it in.
I stopped and went back to it every so often, but it was not a fluke. Pimples happened every time.

I didn't know what to do with the rest of the tonic because I still had a full bottle, so I decided to use it again and stick through the pimple stage. Possibly its the purging stage, but it did not end my pimple stage.The willow bark extract is supposed to help my pimples, which I can't tell if it helps. Very misleading considering that the name is "clear complexion."

So it gives my skin this super duper softness comparable to the Shiseido softener. Whatever ingredient that softens the skin in both brand toners also is probably the reason why i feel tingly and itchy every time i use these softening toners.There is something in there that makes my skin just feel super uncomfortable despite the baby softness.

Quite refreshing to use after getting used to spraying at myself in the face.
This is quite expensive for a toner, I don't think I will re-purchase.

I recently found that Burt's Bee has a acne natural line with willow bark toner also, so I will probably try that instead as an alternative.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 athousandhearts on 4/21/2011 7:55:00 PM more reviews by athousandhearts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok maybe I am missing something, but I have been using this with the Clear Complexion cleanser and treatment for the past two weeks and I honestly am not sure it really does anything. I was spritzing it on after cleansing before the treatment, but I skipped it for the past two days and I honestly don't notice a difference. I do kind of like it as a refreshing mist after work or midday, but I don't really thinking I would pay the $ for it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenja536 on 1/23/2011 2:22:00 AM more reviews by jenja536

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great toner that does not dry my skin. It helps to keep my skin clear by quickly drying up any sebum that builds up and causes small pimples. I use this morning and night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katras on 10/30/2010 12:24:00 PM more reviews by Katras

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice- slightly moisturizing without feeling heavy or sticky, absorbs quickly into the skin, helps control acne with white willow bark (a form of salicylic acid). I use it mixed with my SPF, making it easier to blend into my skin, or as a quick spritz to wake my skin up. Will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fascinate on 7/15/2010 4:07:00 AM more reviews by Fascinate

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was introduced using a toner with a cotton ball/pad, so using this was a bit confusing. The first time I sprayed it on my face, wow, it was so cool and refreshing. I love it when it absorbs onto my skin. I stopped using it for a couple days and some of my pimples came back. Started using it again and loving it. My face has been acne-free since I've began using the whole Boscia line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Boscia products

More Toners products