Shiseido Perfect Rouge Lipstick [all shades]

4.3

64 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Diisostearyl Malate, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Diphenylsiloxy Phenyl Trimethicone, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Macadamia Seed Oil, Polyglyceryl-6 Esters Behenate, Triethylhexanoin, Pentaerythrityl Tetrabehenate/Benzoate/Ethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, PEG/PPG-36/41 Dimethyl Ether, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (Candelilla Cera), Iron Oxides, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Hydroxyapatite, Dipentaerythrityl Hexahydroxystearate, Polysilicone-2, Methicone, Totopherol, Tetradecene, Nylon-12, Silica, Dimethicone, Water, Red 27, BHT. May contain: Carmine, Red 7, Red 6, Yellow 5, Blue 2, Orange 5.


on 6/27/2015 11:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have these in RD514 Dragon - medium/dark bood red - and PK 249 Bloom - light/medium peachy pink.

First of all the packaging which is sleek and weighty deserves five stars. The same with the texture; smooth, moisturizing with creamy finish. Streak free application and richly pigmented.

The color range is rather limited and not really creative; many have dusty grayish undertones, some reds, some pinks and an orange. I'm happy with those I chose but wasn't impresses by the selection as a whole.

The other thing that could use some improvement is longevity which is rather average. I don't mind that much because these lipsticks are a joy to use and would like to get a couple more but still they aren't perfect.



on 4/8/2015 3:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favorite lipstick! I have MAC and NARS but always always go back to shiseido perfect rouge. never leaves my lips dry and wrinkly. it is pigmented, but feels light on the lips, easy to apply and moisturizing. unscented. i have rd 304, 305 and 142.

there is another variant of shiseido lipstick which is the tender sheer which as the name says, very sheer. I love the perfect rouge line than the tender sheer line.


on 1/20/2015 10:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Received the BR308 as a gift. It's amazingly creamy and smooth and the shade is awesome. Downsides are the staying power is really low. Will not buy again.


on 1/14/2015 11:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I originally bought 2 of these as gifts for my aunts, but due to certain...circumstances, I've decided to keep one for myself & gave the other to my Mom. (Don't worry, I'm still in good terms with my aunts. Haha!)
Anyway, the shade I'm reviewing is RD 304. I prefer to call it my "Running Errands/Going to Church Red Lipstick". My usual weapon of choice is NARS Jungle Red, but its semi-matte formula requires a lot of precision in applying. This, however, I can apply in seconds and instantly have my lips look fabulous. The color is a subtle, but gorgeous red with a bit of sheen in it. Goes very well with my Asian, fair and yellow-toned complexion. No scent and taste, either. Staying power isn't that long, but it fades into a lovely wash of color as opposed to simply disappearing or leaving an outline on your lips. My Mom has the PK 303 and it looks incredibly good on her.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2014 9:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Bought my mother this lipstick for her birthday and she absolutely loves it. I did try it myself and gosh do not regret buying it. Although it was a little on the pricey side, definitely worth it! It is so moisturising and the colour comes on beautifully. Hands down one of my favourite lipsticks.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have this lipstick in shade OR341. I bought it at Rexall's in Toronto, which is the only drugstore that carries shiseido. Unfortunately they don't carry all the colours, or else there are only a limited number of shades in this formulation. However, I really like the shade I picked. It's a nice peachy coral, just the perfect pick me up for winter, and it suits my fair skin very well.

It's a very moisturizing colour and I think because it's so highly moisturizing it will wipe off when I eat but that's no bummer because I will just reapply.

So I am happy with my purchase of this Shiseido lipstick, which I just bought to brighten up a grey day.

UPDATE: A week in, and I have to take off 3 lippies from my original 5. This lipstick bleeds to death. It is the only one of my lipsticks to do so. I never ever wear lip liner and I'm not going to start now.


on 10/7/2014 11:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I really wanted to love this lipstick, but I found it average. Yes it applies very smoothly, and feels nice on the lips. It does not run or smudge which is very good! However I found it faded really fast, which was a major disappointment. The truth is, there are so many great lipsticks out there, I think you can get a better quality one then this brand!


on 5/22/2014 7:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Beautiful colour range and they last for ages and are nice and creamy and non drying!


on 1/29/2014 12:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Pros:
Shiseido really excell at blending colours that flatter fair, olive or yellow toned skin. Colour RD514 Dragon is no exception; an extremely flattering as well as dramatic neutral true red.

Easy to apply thin for a red tint or defined. Can be applied straight from the stick! I usually think a brush is the way to go for a nice and perfect finish but this applies like a dream without. I use a brush only for perfecting outlines.

Pigmented yet soft and silky to the feel.

Softening effect, my lips are softer after use than before.

Protected lips well in the below zero temperature and hard winds here this week.

Wears well for lipstick. No unsightly patches or streaks when it wears off. Doesn't bleed, no use to lip line for that reason.

Nice metal tube. Stylish.

Cons:

No extraordinary staying power, but I was not expecting that either. A swatch before purchase on the back of my hand is all it takes to know that. Never, ever believe promotional claims! It's that simple. A lipstick sealer or a tint is the way to go if you want truly snogproof lipcolour.

Pricey. Worth it imho, but still.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2013 10:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

Bought this in RD506 - Tender Sheer shade - which is flattering for my Asian medium-fair skintone. The colour gives me a polished, not-over-the-top red kind of colour. I use this everyday for my work.

Pros:
1) Creamy / moisturizing / not too shiny - I have thick lips so I try not to get lipsticks that are too shiny/glossy in case I look like I ate something oily. I find this lipstick's shine just nice for me. I always blot my lips with a tissue once if I want to make it a little more matte-looking.

2) Very rich / pigmented colour - I love that 1-2 layers of application are enough for a day-to-day work/casual look. Layer on more for a more dramatic look.

3) Reasonable price. Conversion from my currency is around USD30, which is pretty reasonable for a mid/high-end brand.

4) Sleek packaging - no fuss.

5) Durability...? I'm not sure about this -- I tend to put this on at 8AM, and it normally comes completely off during lunch (after eating). But I guess this also applies for other lipstick brands so I guess it's the same level.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Shiseido Products

image

Facial Cotton

207 reviews
image

Eyelash Curler

1105 reviews
Back to Top