Sally Hansen • Insta-Dri Nailpolish Colors • Polishes

rated 3.7(172 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 ViolinistRita on 4/1/2014 9:22:00 PM more reviews by ViolinistRita

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Wet N WIld is much better than these Sally polishes. They chip after only a day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 catmj on 3/22/2014 9:46:00 PM more reviews by catmj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought another one of these in Love Train-- this pinky purple color that is like a cross between barbie pink and lilac. It's gorgeous. I always use a base coat and top coat, and that helps minimize bubbles and chips. I can get a solid 5 days wear, and I'm a mom of 3, garden, cook, gym, work, etc. They're pretty affordable, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 turquoiseginger on 2/17/2014 4:39:00 PM more reviews by turquoiseginger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I do my own pedicures so I make sure I have good nailpolishes. Essie typically fits the bill, but I don't always feel like spening $8 on nalpolish.

The Insta-Dri polishes go on like a high quality nailpolish. They're smooth, shiny, and the colors are vibrant. They don't have the same selection of colors nor the cute names like Essie, but at less than half the cost, I'll take my Insta-Dry.

I currently have about 5 colors that I rotate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 flowersgrimm on 2/15/2014 5:57:00 PM more reviews by flowersgrimm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I gave these nail polishes 3 lippies because I have to add a polish thinner to make these nail polishes anywhere near usable. I don't like the brush at all, but the colors are beautiful and I can usually get these for a great price because they are often on sale. The people who said the brush was impossible to use must not know how to paint their nails, so it can't possible be the nail polish, but more a user error.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisaxlove on 1/6/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by lisaxlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These are great polishes! The brush works well for me. They dry pretty fast depending on how thick/thin your coats are. If you are into nail art stamping the entire Insta-dri line is great for it! I don't have a single one that doesn't work. I love the color range for this line too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emxs on 12/11/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by emxs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Things I like about this polish: It goes on perfectly opaque in just one coat. I don't know about anyone else, but I absolutely despise having to wait for the first coat of polish to dry all so that I can apply a second coat and then have to wait for that to dry too. The opaque first coat is a big deal to me. I also love the available color selection. So far, I only own the Blue Away color, but it's the perfect shade of blue that I've been trying to find for a while, and it looks like there are quite a few shades in this collection that are a little more unique than what you'd usually find at a random drugstore for a cheap price.

Things I don't hate, but am kind of on the fence about: I have mixed feelings about the brush. It's flat, which is wonderful, but it's also very wide. According to Sally Hansen's website, the brush that comes with this polish was made wide so that you could be done in a single swipe, but obviously that's just ridiculous since everyone's nails come in different shapes and sizes and require different attention to details. One thing I have to admit is that I get each nail done in fewer swipes with this brush, but it can also be a little bit harder to stay inside the lines. Also, for a polish named Insta-Dri, I'm not particularly impressed with the time it takes for this polish to dry. It does take less time to dry than a lot of other polishes, but if you're looking for something that will be rock solid dry in three to five minutes - well, this doesn't really do it. In my experience though, most polishes that claim to be quick drying don't entirely live up to the hype, so I'm not really very disappointed about this one. I'd definitely repurchase, considering all the cute color choices and fully opaque first coat.

Edit: Okay, I've been using this for a while now and I'm upping my rating from four to five lippies. I am officially in love with this stuff. I now own it in a few colors, but Blue Away is definitely still my fave. It's just the perfect shade of blue for me - Not too light, not too dark, and kind of reminds me of a clear summer sky, as cheesy as that sounds. As I mentioned already in my review, I LOVE how it always goes on opaque in one coat, and one thing I've noticed with repeated usage is that it's pretty easy to make perfect brush strokes with this formula. The brush may be significantly wider than most other polish brushes, but I've grown to like that too, maybe because I have a tendency to not leave enough polish on the brush while wiping off the excess before I put it on my nails. Anyway, I couldn't be happier about this stuff, and I'll buy it again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jwinter00 on 11/18/2013 9:16:00 PM more reviews by jwinter00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I HATE THESE MORE THAN I HATE THE SPLASH BACK OF TOILET WATER WHEN YOU POOP.

I bought one of them in Mint...Sprint? Julep? Mint something, I can't remember and I can't check because I threw it out a looooong time ago. Anyways, I bought one and I had super high hopes because hey, who doesn't love fast drying nail polish? I loved the color and I got home and put it on right away and I haaaaaAaaaAaaAaaTED the brush. It was thick and fat and picked up so much product it was ridiculous, I had nail polish globbed up near my cuticles and in between my nail and my fingers and ugh, it was everywhere. There is no such thing as a thin coat with this nail polish. Then when it 'dried' (which, when I say dried, I mean became not wet, just incredibly tacky) it BUBBLED. Like Spongebob under the sea type bubbles on every single nail. And it wasn't because of my topcoat because I've never had any problems with it before.

Then it chipped like shit the very next day and stained my nails green. I'm getting angry just sitting here thinking about it. Not to mention that the bottle was awkwardly shaped and the brush was too long. IT JUST SUCKED IN EVERY AREA AND IN EVERY CATEGORY, OKAY.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 11/2/2013 8:05:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have two shades of this polish, Silver Sweep and a bright pink cream shade whose name has worn off. Both are excellent. I particularly love the brush, slightly wider and firmer than usual. It makes painting my right hand nails with my idiot left hand infinitely easier, and it's easier to get streak-free coverage of thumbs & big toes. One coat is opaque; a second evens out any imperfections. And it really does dry almost instantly. I do also like the Insta-Dri topcoat, for use with other polishes, and to extend the chip-free time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ekat89 on 10/27/2013 3:20:00 PM more reviews by ekat89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been looking for a good quick-dry polish because the longest I can go without accidentally bumping/smearing/denting my nails while they dry is about 10 minutes. This is the second brand I've tried after Wet N Wild's Fast Dry polishes. I bought the color Petal Pusher which is a light milky peach-pink. It's a gorgeous color and I think it would be good on a lot of skintones. That's where the positives end. The consistency is super thick and gloppy so it's nearly impossible to get a nice thin coat. It takes at least 2 coats to get to opaque and 2 thick gloppy coats = bubbles. Lots of them. The insta-dry is definitely an exaggeration. At first tap it may seem dry in about 5 minutes but it's really still a tacky mess and WILL smudge and smear. I got it for about $4 at Walmart so it's not a bad price...BUT Wet n Wild's version is way better and less than $2. Definitely not planning on buying the SH insta-dry again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suesaroo on 10/16/2013 9:02:00 AM more reviews by Suesaroo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

A friend of mine uses this for her pedis and they always look great. Had to try it. I have Petal Pusher a pale nude pink. I used Essie ridge filler as my base and put on 3 coats and was ready to go in 5 minute. It does chip quicker but, that can be remedied by smoothing the chip out and adding another coat. I will keep buying this at 3.99 at target plus coupons it is a deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products