Clinique • High Impact Curling Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(154 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 73steph on 9/11/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by 73steph

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I want to try other tubing mascaras, so I said I wouldn't repurchase. I was initially very frustrated w this mascara because it's so wet and the brush pulls out way too much product. I've since figured out how to use it and I like it ok after it's aged a bit ;) I like to start w CG lashblast volume or lashblast length then layer this over. The key is building it up slowly and adding a small amount each swipe through. The key is getting all that excess mascara scraped back into the tube. I do each eye individually because once it dries, it's not moving anymore. I love that it doesn't budge or flake and is easily removable with warm water. I'm going to try out some different brands because I know there are better brushes out there :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 electropop3545 on 8/12/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by electropop3545

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use the Blinc Kiss Me mascara religiously as I have the unique ability to melt off any hyped mascara out on the market. Tubing mascaras were the only option for me and the only one I knew of that was fairly well known was Blinc. After I had realized I had mistaken the High Impact mascara for the curling version of it and decided to try this one out.
Turns out, its a great mascara! Blinc would set my lashes a bit too hard but the Clinique one left my lashes rather soft. Its volumizing, lengthening and gives good separation in my opinion if you build it up.*** I found that the trick was to wipe the mascara wand on a tissue first then applying several coat which makes it virtually clump free.
For those that have trouble finding a good tubing mascara, this is the one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 koihimi on 8/2/2014 5:19:00 AM more reviews by koihimi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was looking for mascara that would not leave with raccoon eyed as I have oily lids. I did not want it to be waterproof however. Here it is! It's not the easiest to apply mascara but lasts all day (no matter how long the day lasts) and I do not have to worry about it: it does not fall off, it does not smudge, it gives me long voluminous lashes and it comes off with warm water easily. I only wish it was easier to apply it. BTW don't see a point in curved applicator. In fact I use my own applicator to apply it. That's how ugly is inbuilt one((

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katwalker on 3/26/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by katwalker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First, I did not realize this was a tubing mascara when I bought it, so one lippie off for that - the promotional materials should make that clearer. I hate tubing mascaras and never would have bought it had I known. Second, I have flaking problems some days. I don't know what I'm doing differently those days (perhaps applying too much at once instead of in layers?), but it is annoying. Minus another lippie.Third, even with using a curler first, I don't notice a curling effect, and since this purports to be a curling mascara, another lippie off for that. Finally, I have long lashes, but after a week of using this mascara, they seem shorter (even when the mascara is off). I think the mascara or how the mascara is removed is breaking off the ends of my lashes. Minus two lippies for lash damage! I'm moving back to a traditional mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Doody999 on 1/20/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by Doody999

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is what I would term a "wet" mascara. Apply 2 coats & allow to dry then add a third and you will have amazing lashes; I'm frequently asked if I'm wearing false lashes! This mascara does not move - no smears, smudges, black eyes. However removing it is weird; even waterproof eye make up remover will not take this stuff off. You must wash your eyes with warm/hot water to "melt" it off; it then peels off like plastic - a little disconcerting but worth it for the effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ZannaSut on 1/10/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by ZannaSut

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this mascara in Brown, and it is literally the worst (and therefore fully the most overpriced) mascara I have ever used. As soon as it dries, it crumbles off, and that is no exaggeration. Secondly, and my biggest peeve with this mascara, the wiper is far too big and thus the brush comes out with so much product on it is impossible even to see the bristles any more. I have to scrape and scrape it to get it less goopy and disgusting. It's clumpy too once on. For a mid to high end mascara this is just embarrassing. If I can be bothered I scrape it loads and put it on my (quite dark) brows but mostly I can be bothered to mess with it, waste of time...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 demiller on 11/3/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by demiller

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Very easy to remove. Doesn't smudge or clump. Adds volume but takes time to dry

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CanadaGirlToo on 10/21/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by CanadaGirlToo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this mascara. It goes on really nicely and does not clump. I find that it stays on really well without flaking. It is not a waterproof mascara, but holds up really well even in humid conditions; I can even wear it to the gym.

I usually find mascara tough to remove. But not this one. It is super easy to remove. All you need is warm water, and then it comes off of the lashes in little tubes. A number of reviewers have complained that makeup removers don't work, but they aren't supposed to. I have never had an issue removing tbsp when following the directions. All it takes is a bit of warm water, and then gentle pressure to pull off the mascara.

Love this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 10/12/2013 1:04:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Another stellar mascara offering from Clinique.

I was given this as a Christmas gift from my friend who knows a thing or two about great mascaras but I would buy it myself after a very positive experience with the gifted one!

My tube lasted me a good 5 months of everyday use (I try to have only one mascara open at a time) - I think I would be able still use it for next couple of weeks as it was just very slightly dried up but still able to achieve good results but I am itching to try some other brand of mascaras - last two years of mascaras were strictly Clinique oriented (my other favourite is Lash Power which I have repurchased about 8 times already), so it would be a good time for some pastures new after finishing with this one.

As to this product, there are many pluses here:

+ thickened and elongated really BLACK lashes (shade 01 black of course)
+ lashes that are enhanced but not fake looking - it is NOT a subtle, natural lashes look by any means - it just gives this beautiful fanned out fringe of lashes visibly framing the eye
+ NO RACOON eyes!
This is my main worry with mascaras. My oily sunscreen that I apply underneath the eyes must dissolve waterproof mascaras or something because I always end with a blackened bottom lid - not a very good look in my case (I never put makeup on my lower lid). Not with this one. It survives showers, sudden downpours and lasts 12 hours easily, with no smudging. Yay!
+ easy to take off with a biphase makeup remover (I use Garnier one)
+ reasonably priced especially in comparison with high-end mascaras which sometimes are not of a good quality (hello Chanel Inimitable...)

The only minus I could find was:
- it does not keep the curl too well but I am not a curled eyelashes maniac (my eyelashes are delicate and thin and pin straight even after a serious squeezing session with Shu Uemura curlers), so this is making me to drop just one star.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lirong on 9/11/2013 8:00:00 PM more reviews by Lirong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It was a good mascara but made my eyes tear. It also dried very fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Mascara products