Etro • Gomma • Fragrances

rated 3.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karelin7 on 4/22/2009 12:10:00 AM more reviews by karelin7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The other reviewers are right. This is a leather frag in the Tabac Blond trad. Although at times the leather smells a bit like rubber, it's very much leather and tobacco and birch tar. I bought it. But by the time I got home, the scent had completely faded from my skin--and I had sprayed a pretty liberal dose on my arm and wrist. When I read that other reviewers noted its short life span, I exchanged it. Still, a very nice traditional leather-tobacco-floral while it lasts. If you like it, be prepared to carry it with you to refresh the scent during the day. And, while you're at it, try Bandit and Tabac Blond which, as other reviewers have observed, are substitutes that are actually better, albeit sweeter in the case of Tabac, spicier in the case of the Five Lipstick Bandit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 1/8/2009 3:54:00 AM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Gomma is beautiful. It starts as a leather, a fairly wet, musky leather with a slight tint of dirty hair. The dirty hair blessedly fades, and it begins to warm into a more herbal leather -- I'm reminded a bit of Jolie Madame. After about half an hour to an hour, the herbal leather, which is not unlike vetiver, begins to transform and you end with a spicy leather, quite lovely. This isn't new purse, shoestore leather. It's much more subtle, with a more fluid line.


The comparison to Tabac Blond is also spot on. I've layered Gomma with Patou's Divine Folie, or YSL''s Opium, or Coty L'Origan, or Diptyque's Eau Lente, and it accepts spices beautifully, bringing it even closer to Tabac Blonde. Basically, mix Gomma with L'Origan and you have a poor girl's Tabac Blond!


The lasting power is subtle -- Gomma opens with pretty sound sillage, but becomes more intimate with time. It won't broadcast after a few hours, but when you sniff your skin, or move around and warm up a little, it makes its presence known -- would be lovely in an intimate situation, I think.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jemimagold on 7/2/2008 12:30:00 PM more reviews by jemimagold

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

To be candid, Gomma turned out much better than expected. The last Etro I tried was the singularly frightening Anice and moreover, the name "Gomma" sounded a bit like something like a creature from outerspace so I was unsure what my little vial might hold.


I am pleased to report that while Gomma is a bit odd, it is not unpleasant. In fact, I found the spiciness in its top notes to be quite intriguing and it had a lot in common with Aftelier's Tango in case you've smelled ever that (St. Lucia buns, "baked seashells", etc...). Leather then emerged from Gomma in an enjoyable, slightly old fashioned way and the dry-down was just fine. Overall, Gomma is not something I would personally want to wear but I am glad to have had the chance to smell it.


From what I've been able to glean on the internet, here are the notes: citrus fruits, artemisia, Mediterranean jasmine, leather, and amber.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whataworld on 4/5/2007 1:38:00 PM more reviews by whataworld

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Mmmmmm. Oiled English tack compared to the Russian boot lick of Cuir de Russie. Polite and charming, not half as sharp as the Cuir. Definately nice for all-over spritzing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SpinDiva on 9/25/2006 8:28:00 AM more reviews by SpinDiva

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Love it - but Bandit is so much less expensive and every bit as nice...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oberon21 on 4/5/2006 6:34:00 AM more reviews by oberon21

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

no words to describe this beautiful leather scent the most beautiful i've ever smelled after knize ten the no.1 leather scent in the world,definitely i can do without this bottle in my collection

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maller on 9/25/2005 7:57:00 PM more reviews by Maller

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Your new SO is an extremely serious PETA member. Not just anti-meat and fur, but also no leather. Period. Your leather coats, bags, belts, shoes...all solemnly have been turned over to Goodwill for the sake of love. But your leather fragrances??? Stash them in the back of the closet. Love can be fleeting. However, in the meantime Gomma should be an acceptable subsitute. It's not a bad fragrance, but it certainly wouldn't make anyone suspect you've got a leather coat on. It's definitely got a leather vibe, but there is a slightly fake sense to it and the jasmine also adds an unusual note to it. Your SO won't be able to complain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rnornan on 10/18/2004 12:13:00 AM more reviews by rnornan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

All day I've been testing Cuir de Russie, which I can not make up my mind about. Does it make me smell like fatty piece of discarded whale meat? Sort of. It's fatty and not very "pretty" if you catch my drift.

THIS however, is sexy and warm and way more girly. I am not sure why others say masculine. Tho perhaps it is the contrast with the aforementioned Cuir.

It has the qualities that I like in my favorite musky scents tho from what I'm reading it has no musk (really??), or vanilla (which makes me happy).

Cannot comment on lasting power but I definitely dig on this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snakeskin on 9/27/2004 9:18:00 PM more reviews by snakeskin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Acrid, rancid, as ugly as its name.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* impishnature on 12/15/2003 9:33:00 PM more reviews by impishnature

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

STRIKINGLY similar to Caron's Tabac Blond, almost to the point I thought I had a mislabeled vial. Leather comes out en force after a few minutes, and the jasmine never really breaks through on my skin. A kinky, strong scent, but weirdly, it disippated on my skin within a couple of hours. I respect Tabac Blond, but am not a fan of Cuir de Russie, so somehow, this falls right in-between.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Etro products

More Fragrances products