Frederic Fekkai • Au Naturel Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.8(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 sarahalthea on 1/21/2012 5:33:00 PM more reviews by sarahalthea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The quality is good, but the price is a little too much. There are equally good drugstore conditioners for half the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sphi on 9/21/2010 2:41:00 AM more reviews by sphi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A pretty decent conditioner. It does what it should - conditions, detangles - but not amazingly so. I found that it doesn't leave my medium-thick, wavy hair super moisturized or soft, though it doesn't dry it out or have any apparent negative effects either. The scent is pleasant enough but the price isn't justified in the results. So it's really a so-so product for me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* h2okolor on 5/5/2010 10:34:00 AM more reviews by h2okolor

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I did a turn-around on this product. I didn't care for it much when I first got it, but after continual use I've grown to REALLY like it. I have lots of fine, long, color-treated hair that easily tends toward fly-aways. But my main problem and concern is after-wash TANGLES. I'm always on the look-out for a good detangler...! Very few detanglers actually do...detangle...! This one does a darn fine job, doesn't leave my hair clumpy, heavy, flat. The smell is pleasant to me. Packaging is fine (I prefer a see-thru container). Price is a little spendy. I complete with a light mist of Fekkai Brilliant Glossing mist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeeFee34 on 8/19/2009 3:15:00 AM more reviews by FeeFee34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I loved this product as much as everyone else, but it simply isn't to be. This just didn't work on my medium/long, fine, curly hair. After trying it out multiple times, my hair never looked like itself the next morning. The problem for my hair type is that this makes hair very, very soft. Beyond silk. And while this sounds fantastic, what happened with my hair is that it became so soft it couldn't hold the rigidity of a curl and became limp and undefined, with lots of fly-aways and temperamental texture. I probably would have used up the bottle simply because I like a looser wave to my hair anyway, but I couldn't justify the results with the price and had to return the product. I would much rather shop around and find my perfect conditioner than continue using this.

As for other aspects of the conditioner, the consistency really is a very interesting thick whipped mousse that I liked because it was fairly light but not runny whatsoever. It moisturized my hair well enough but didn't provide the extra moisture my ends desperately need. The smell is all herb and lemon, which I'm neutral toward. While it's not the most pleasantly scented hair product on the market, it's livable and lingers in only the cleanest and most likable way possible.

I actually tried it this product out because I'm looking to incorporate more products in my daily routine that don't contain ingredients with high toxicity levels (trying to avoid methylparaben is my new obsession). I mostly use Cosmetics Database to research products, but because this product isn't yet listed, I pasted each ingredient into the search engine individually (btw, the ingredients list for this product is, for whatever reason, located on a sticker on the bottom of the bottle) and never found anything in the product that's above a 4 on a 1-10 toxicity scale. However, I was a little concerned to find that almost every single other Fekkai product has an exceptionally high toxicity level. On top of that, the company's animal testing policy is listed as unknown, although I do know that the major company that owns the Fekkai brand--Procter & Gamble--does conduct animal testing for cosmetics purposes. (Of course, this isn't a direct reflection of Fekkai. For instance, The Body Shop maintains its cruelty-free standards despite being owned by L'Oreal.)

To get back to the point, I'd say those with curly hair could still use this product, but only with some trusted curl-enhancing styling products, while I'm much more of a wash, air dry, sleep, and go type of person with my hair. I basically strictly rely on my shampoo, conditioner, and, well, genetics, for my hair to look good every morning, and while I loved running my fingers through my hair after using this conditioner, it just couldn't deliver consistently livable hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 newyorkshopper on 4/25/2009 7:00:00 PM more reviews by newyorkshopper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the whole Au Naturel line and love all the products. My hair is color treated, dry, course and curly so it needs moisture and I typically use something heavy (Fekkai shea butter) but this is absolutely amazing! I do need a bit more than other conditioners but I don't care. In the winter it will probably not do the trick for me but it's going to be an HG product for the summer when I wash my hair a lot. I bought the whole line of products on ebay for $32, worth checking out considering the conditioner alone is $23.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JSH812 on 3/6/2009 6:38:00 PM more reviews by JSH812

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow! I have never had such beautiful, bouncy hair until this morning! I couldn't believe the difference!!! I used the All Natural Shampoo and Conditioner and then a drop of Moroccan Oil before I blow dried --- and I swear to you - I look like I stepped onto the set of a Pantene commercial!

I LOVE this stuff - I balked at the price, at first, but after seeing the results... and hoping my color will last longer, I will continue to purchase.

I gave it a 4 because the smell is ok. It's very clean smelling, but usually I enjoy a stronger smell when it comes to my hair treatments.

Fantastic Product!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goldenstar on 2/26/2009 4:44:00 PM more reviews by Goldenstar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Well, so far so good. I've been using this about 2 weeks, & I'm impressed. I have fine, long, straight, color-treated hair that gets coated & weighed down VERY easily. The Au Naturel conditioner moisturizes without coating or weighing my hair down, & it does feel weightless. My hair looks shiny & is a little bouncy when I use this, & it doesn't seem to cause any build-up. I'll continue to repurchase, but Fekkai's conditioner's seem to last forever!
Update 8/26/09- Still loving this. This is the best conditioner for my fine hair, & it has never caused any buildup. I only need to use the tiniest amount, so a bottle lasts me about 6 months. .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snoopy126 on 2/17/2009 9:48:00 PM more reviews by snoopy126

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine wavy hair that tends to get flat and greasy at the roots but dry at the ends. Therefore in the winter months I like to use a richer conditioner on just the ends. I bought this on a whim having tried some other FF products which I've found to be of decent quality and lovely scent but far too expensive for what they are. I do like this conditioner though. It is moisturizing, has a great texture and is light but rinses clean. It detangles and leaves my hair bouncy and free of frizz. The smell is not overpowering but I quite like it actually. The Technician conditioner smells nicer (if you like perfumey scents) but I like having a non-sulphate option.
This is a great conditioner for fine hair that needs weightless moisture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pr0cessa on 1/16/2009 2:57:00 PM more reviews by pr0cessa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this together with the Au Naturel shampoo and so far I am very pleased with the results. I am always looking for shampoo/conditioner with no sulfates/silicones. I have yet to fins a Fekkai product that really "wow"ed me, but this is pretty good. It is a nice lightweight conditioner, perfect for my long, fine, wavy hair. Usually, "natural" conditioners are very watery in consistency, (example: Nature's gate herbal conditioner) but Fekkai Au Naturel conditioner has some "slip" to it, and does a great job at detangling. It has a nice, light, nonoffensive smell which is sort of lemony/herbal, but it doesn't smell completely "natural," either. There's one thing that bothers me, though. While both the shampoo and condioner are free of sulfates and parabens, the conditioner contains dimethiconol. Dimethiconol is a cone and it's not water soluble! I don't understand why they are selling a sulfate free shampoo together with a conditioner that contains dimethiconol. However, I do like the results. Nice, basic combo that leaves my hair soft and detangled, and not flat. It is expensive, but no worse than your average salon brand. Recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Frederic Fekkai products

More Conditioner products