Lavera • Volume Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.0(33 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Remembered on 3/30/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by Remembered

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Lavera volumizing mascara: One of my all-time favorite mascaras. I've been buying it since the mid 90s, when I got it in a wooden tube in a Health Food Store (Wild Oats, I think).

I always bought it in blue, but they don't make the blue anymore, unfortunately. I bought four tubes of the blue on sale a year ago, when they were discontinuing the color, and I'm finally out of product.

It met my requirements:

---Stayed on my lashes, didn't flake off on my cheeks;
---a great dark blue, not "royal blue", but a wonderful blue;
---I wasn't allergic to it;
---Washed off easily:
--Colored my lashes and didn't thicken them artificially, giving me the much-hated "doll eyes";
--Actually had a pleasant smell, like roses---much like the blue Lancome Maquicils mascara I bought back in the 70s/80s (wonder if they bought the old Lancome formula, it was so close)

The negative? It's stupid-expensive---costs about $23 a tube now, and I found it expensive five years ago, when I bought it in Target for $17!

And, of course, they no longer make the dark blue mascara. Just the same old black and brown. I'll buy it in brown (black is too harsh on me, I have long eyelashes already, just without much color to them).

If you are looking for short lashes to become long thick ones, this isn't for you, but for those with my specifications (don't want doll eyes!), you will like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coffeesan on 11/17/2013 10:38:00 AM more reviews by coffeesan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I love this product! It's very natural, but even better with an eyelash comb. I also like to pair this with a lengthening mascara for a more dramatic look. Does have kind of a funny play-doh scent, but mild enough to get past it. Very dark too. Overall wonderful product and my go to everyday mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Amie83 on 9/14/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Amie83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like this product. The wand is just perfect, and the formula did not irritate my eyes. It gives me a natural soft look, and is fine for work and daytime. I bought it in brown because I am very fair and blonde. I would repurchase.
I have to say, negative reviewers may not be taking into account that this product is meant to give a very natural subtle look. It is not a nighttime clubbing mascara, but a gentle and soft look. I like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stesko on 9/13/2012 12:04:00 PM more reviews by stesko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I read good reviews on this mascara and had great expectations as I have liked all other Lavera products I have tried (lotions & moisturizers) and really wanted to find a good natural cosmetics mascara.

Unfortunately I was disappointed; there was too much mascara in the brush, it spread all over (had to clean a lot with cotton sticks), it dried slow and what was most disappointing, it irritated my eyes a lot. I had to throw it away only after few times :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pearlbutton on 6/6/2012 5:37:00 PM more reviews by pearlbutton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used to use pout's now discontinued mascara, which I loved because it separated and coloured my lashes without clumping them.
I switched to the Lavera partly because it was natural and my eyes can get irritated after a few hours of most mascaras, and partly because I wanted something similar to the Pout mascara's narrow wand.

I do like this mascara; it isn't too wet nor is it too gloopy or dry when it goes on. I love how it really separates and lifts my lashes (long but fine) -including the bottom ones and the very corners. It's probably more suited to a daytime or low-key look as it you have to apply several coats to get any real thickness, like a lot of commercial volumising mascaras. However, I do like this mascara because it defines without making them too long; as they're quite long anyway, too much longer and they just smear against my glasses (not a good look). It's lasted quite a long time, too, so pretty good value for money at just under £12 for a mascara that defines well and doesn't irritate my eyes. The packaging is fine -not exciting, but quite slim so it fits in my makeup bag without adding too much bulk.

The only downside is that it appears to dry after a while -if I wear it for a day at work, or an evening out I get little flecks under my eyes, which is why I have only given it 4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 5/11/2012 10:03:00 AM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My review is for the 'Intense Volumizing Mascara' in black. I bought this at Target for around $12. First off, this mascara did absolutely nothing for me. No volume, no lengthening, nothing. After about 3 coats I could see some minor difference, but not much. I do have fairly long dark lashes to start with, but it was shocking how little this did. I've used lighter/natural mascaras like Aveda and Besame 1930s mascara before, so I'm not always after false-type lashes, but this literally looked like I had NO mascara on at all. Secondly, I do not have overly sensitive eyes, and in my 20+ years of wearing cosmetics, I have only had a reaction to ONE other product (Diorshow mascara). Two days into using the Lavera mascara, I had to throw it away. I had the *exact* same reaction I had to the Diorshow - horrible eye itching, swelling, and redness. I'm not sure what is in this product since it is supposedly all natural & safe, but it made the rims of my eyes itch so horribly it was unbearable. Red eyes & itching for 2 days after I tossed this. I am typically not one to post bad reviews, but if I could give this zero stars, I would. Zero performance and extremely irritating ingredients. Avoid at all costs!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jedi_girl on 2/12/2012 4:50:00 PM more reviews by jedi_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

To clarify, my review is for the 'Intense Volumizing Mascara' in black. It is a fat oblong tube and is found at this link here: http://www.lavera.com/products/Intense_Volumizing_Mascara_Black-987-1000024.html


This is another mascara that does absolutely nothing for me.


To begin it is important to share a few things about my lashes and my product experience so that you can take away from this review useful information for yourself:
1)my lashes are black and long and I have lots of them, but they are thin. So what I want is just volume or thickening.
2) Most mascaras smudge on me as I have extremely oily eye lids. This includes high end department store mascaras. As a result I only put mascara on my top lid, I don't even bother with the lower lash line (unless I get a water proof forumula).
3) My favourite mascara so far is Maybelline Full & Soft because it is so dependable. i.e. It does not smudge or flake and gives me a soft volume. Nothing crazy dramatic, just lush volume.


So my expectations from this Lavera Intense Volumizing was just to match the volume from Full & Soft, I wasn't actually expecting *intense volume* like the name implies.


Unfortunately this mascara was only able to add a tiny bit of definition to my lashes in that it made them a bit more 'black' looking. But there was NO volume or thickening to my lashes. So what I wanted from this mascara was not achievable.


The brush is very large and thick and not easy to use. It has so many bristles that I could not get my own lashes down into the crevices of the brush to get a proper coat of mascara on. As a result it look a while to apply this mascara as I needed to work very carefully with the brush.


The formula was smooth and creamy and applied easily (other than the brush issue). I did not have any smudging which is a great thing. Most mascaras can't say the same thing on my eyes ;) It is a wet formula so I needed to be careful not to get it on my lid.


And the price tag of $26.00 CAD was too much for me, but what I am understanding now is that when it comes to 'all natural' mascaras one has to cough up a little dough. Okay, fine, I can come around to this idea. But if I *am* going to cough up the dough then the product *needs* to do something and unfortunately this one missed the mark.


Because the formula is creamy and glides on nicely and there was no smudging I am giving it 2 lippies. Thank goodness the store took it back.


The girl at the store said she uses the 'Double Black Lavera Mascara' which has two ends/brushes to it and she swears by it. She was wearing it and I could tell she definitely had some thickness. But her lashes were very different than mine so I am not sure how it would perform on me. If I feel like risking another $26.00CAD I might give it a try. But for now I'm a little gun shy. (Another option the ladies at the health food store gave me is Dr Haushka's Volumizing mascara but that is a leap in price point and I'm not sure I would be able to take the disappointment if that one didn't work either ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 VictoriaMama on 1/29/2012 4:52:00 PM more reviews by VictoriaMama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My eyes, normally not overly sensitive, looked AWFUL with this on. After ten minutes I had eyes SO red they appeared to have pink eye. Hurt awfully. Had to rush home in middle of errands to take off and was soooo relieved when I did.
Would not buy anything from this line again. It's supposed to be natural, and for the sensitive? And the blue was not good. And the brush was old-school. (NOT in a good way.)
Save yourself the aggravation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nicola00 on 12/22/2011 1:53:00 PM more reviews by nicola00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this mascara. I'm fortunate enough to have long lashes as it so I wanted something to make them pop a little more and thicken them, this does just that! It doesn't crumble either so you won't look like a raccoon by the end of the day. It is a tad pricey but it's worth it since it's natural and does exactly what I wanted it to do. Itís my new fav mascara and I will continue purchasing.
UPDATE 02/27/12: not liking this anymore. It's starting to crumble throughout the day, I end up with little spots all under my eyes, it's been giving my styes (weird!). I never got styes until I started using this mascara. Still gives my lashes crazy volume and thickness but I won't be repurchasing. I have now moved on to Tarte lights, camera, lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gwgw on 10/21/2011 4:51:00 AM more reviews by gwgw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Horrible. Absolutelly horrible. i totally regret buying this mascara. i only managed to use it 3 times and everytime it irritated my eyes so much that both my eyes began crying.

this goes to trash can. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lavera products

More Mascara products