Lavera • Volume Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.1(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Remembered on 3/30/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by Remembered

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Lavera volumizing mascara: One of my all-time favorite mascaras. I've been buying it since the mid 90s, when I got it in a wooden tube in a Health Food Store (Wild Oats, I think).

I always bought it in blue, but they don't make the blue anymore, unfortunately. I bought four tubes of the blue on sale a year ago, when they were discontinuing the color, and I'm finally out of product.

It met my requirements:

---Stayed on my lashes, didn't flake off on my cheeks;
---a great dark blue, not "royal blue", but a wonderful blue;
---I wasn't allergic to it;
---Washed off easily:
--Colored my lashes and didn't thicken them artificially, giving me the much-hated "doll eyes";
--Actually had a pleasant smell, like roses---much like the blue Lancome Maquicils mascara I bought back in the 70s/80s (wonder if they bought the old Lancome formula, it was so close)

The negative? It's stupid-expensive---costs about $23 a tube now, and I found it expensive five years ago, when I bought it in Target for $17!

And, of course, they no longer make the dark blue mascara. Just the same old black and brown. I'll buy it in brown (black is too harsh on me, I have long eyelashes already, just without much color to them).

If you are looking for short lashes to become long thick ones, this isn't for you, but for those with my specifications (don't want doll eyes!), you will like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coffeesan on 11/17/2013 10:38:00 AM more reviews by coffeesan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I love this product! It's very natural, but even better with an eyelash comb. I also like to pair this with a lengthening mascara for a more dramatic look. Does have kind of a funny play-doh scent, but mild enough to get past it. Very dark too. Overall wonderful product and my go to everyday mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Amie83 on 9/14/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Amie83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like this product. The wand is just perfect, and the formula did not irritate my eyes. It gives me a natural soft look, and is fine for work and daytime. I bought it in brown because I am very fair and blonde. I would repurchase.
I have to say, negative reviewers may not be taking into account that this product is meant to give a very natural subtle look. It is not a nighttime clubbing mascara, but a gentle and soft look. I like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stesko on 9/13/2012 12:04:00 PM more reviews by stesko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I read good reviews on this mascara and had great expectations as I have liked all other Lavera products I have tried (lotions & moisturizers) and really wanted to find a good natural cosmetics mascara.

Unfortunately I was disappointed; there was too much mascara in the brush, it spread all over (had to clean a lot with cotton sticks), it dried slow and what was most disappointing, it irritated my eyes a lot. I had to throw it away only after few times :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pearlbutton on 6/6/2012 5:37:00 PM more reviews by pearlbutton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used to use pout's now discontinued mascara, which I loved because it separated and coloured my lashes without clumping them.
I switched to the Lavera partly because it was natural and my eyes can get irritated after a few hours of most mascaras, and partly because I wanted something similar to the Pout mascara's narrow wand.

I do like this mascara; it isn't too wet nor is it too gloopy or dry when it goes on. I love how it really separates and lifts my lashes (long but fine) -including the bottom ones and the very corners. It's probably more suited to a daytime or low-key look as it you have to apply several coats to get any real thickness, like a lot of commercial volumising mascaras. However, I do like this mascara because it defines without making them too long; as they're quite long anyway, too much longer and they just smear against my glasses (not a good look). It's lasted quite a long time, too, so pretty good value for money at just under £12 for a mascara that defines well and doesn't irritate my eyes. The packaging is fine -not exciting, but quite slim so it fits in my makeup bag without adding too much bulk.

The only downside is that it appears to dry after a while -if I wear it for a day at work, or an evening out I get little flecks under my eyes, which is why I have only given it 4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 VictoriaMama on 1/29/2012 4:52:00 PM more reviews by VictoriaMama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My eyes, normally not overly sensitive, looked AWFUL with this on. After ten minutes I had eyes SO red they appeared to have pink eye. Hurt awfully. Had to rush home in middle of errands to take off and was soooo relieved when I did.
Would not buy anything from this line again. It's supposed to be natural, and for the sensitive? And the blue was not good. And the brush was old-school. (NOT in a good way.)
Save yourself the aggravation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nicola00 on 12/22/2011 1:53:00 PM more reviews by nicola00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this mascara. I'm fortunate enough to have long lashes as it so I wanted something to make them pop a little more and thicken them, this does just that! It doesn't crumble either so you won't look like a raccoon by the end of the day. It is a tad pricey but it's worth it since it's natural and does exactly what I wanted it to do. Itís my new fav mascara and I will continue purchasing.
UPDATE 02/27/12: not liking this anymore. It's starting to crumble throughout the day, I end up with little spots all under my eyes, it's been giving my styes (weird!). I never got styes until I started using this mascara. Still gives my lashes crazy volume and thickness but I won't be repurchasing. I have now moved on to Tarte lights, camera, lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gwgw on 10/21/2011 4:51:00 AM more reviews by gwgw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Horrible. Absolutelly horrible. i totally regret buying this mascara. i only managed to use it 3 times and everytime it irritated my eyes so much that both my eyes began crying.

this goes to trash can. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Physeter on 8/4/2011 12:25:00 AM more reviews by Physeter

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I like the fact that this mascara is natural. It doesn't make my eyelashes brittle, or fall out, as all the chemical-laden mascaras do. My eyelashes were getting so short and thin before I started trying natural mascaras.

However, this does not give the dramatic, 'false eye lash' effect that some of the more chemical-laden mascaras give. It lengthens a bit, thickens a bit, and blackens quite a lot. It smudges a bit, but many non-waterproof mascaras will do that anyway. It is great for daytime wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KiwiPi on 7/19/2011 10:47:00 AM more reviews by KiwiPi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The pigment in this mascara is amazing (I use black). It's beautifully dark and rich, and makes my lashes look quite long. If I apply more than one coat, it doesn't clump, just builds more volume. That being said...I can't use it on my lower lashes because I'll have raccoon eyes within the hour. It does NOT react well to rain/sweat/tears/humidity, instead, it runs everywhere. I don't use it everyday just because I don't know how it will look after several hours. Best if I'm putting my makeup on late in the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lavera products

More Mascara products