Lavera Volume Mascara

3.2

32 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Alcohol, Sorbitol, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Simondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil*, Tricaprylin, Sodium Cetearyl Sulfate, Hectorite, Lysolecithin, Rosa Damascena (Rose) Flower Water, Xanthan Gum, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Fragrance (Parfum) [ /- Iron Oxides (Cl 77499, Cl77491, Cl 77492), Ultramarines (Cl 77007)].


on 5/21/2015 11:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I wear mascara everyday to my office job and was noticing that it was starting to make my eyelashes brittle and shorter so I tried a few natural/organic mascaras for the work week. This is by far the best one I've tried. I found the Dr Hauschka mascara would give me massive panda eyes if I exercised or in humidity and the Ere Perez one was too light in texture. This one conditions my lashes (no more lashes falling out), it's a lovely dark colour and makes them appear thicker. It stays put and doesn't give me panda eyes. The only complaint I really have is the brush doesn't separate your lashes properly so sometimes you can end up with clumpy lashes. I'm actually considering keeping a brush from another mascara and using that with the Lavera bottle.



on 3/30/2014 2:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Lavera volumizing mascara: One of my all-time favorite mascaras. I've been buying it since the mid 90s, when I got it in a wooden tube in a Health Food Store (Wild Oats, I think).

I always bought it in blue, but they don't make the blue anymore, unfortunately. I bought four tubes of the blue on sale a year ago, when they were discontinuing the color, and I'm finally out of product.

It met my requirements:

---Stayed on my lashes, didn't flake off on my cheeks;
---a great dark blue, not "royal blue", but a wonderful blue;
---I wasn't allergic to it;
---Washed off easily:
--Colored my lashes and didn't thicken them artificially, giving me the much-hated "doll eyes";
--Actually had a pleasant smell, like roses---much like the blue Lancome Maquicils mascara I bought back in the 70s/80s (wonder if they bought the old Lancome formula, it was so close)

The negative? It's stupid-expensive---costs about $23 a tube now, and I found it expensive five years ago, when I bought it in Target for $17!

And, of course, they no longer make the dark blue mascara. Just the same old black and brown. I'll buy it in brown (black is too harsh on me, I have long eyelashes already, just without much color to them).

If you are looking for short lashes to become long thick ones, this isn't for you, but for those with my specifications (don't want doll eyes!), you will like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2013 10:38:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I love this product! It's very natural, but even better with an eyelash comb. I also like to pair this with a lengthening mascara for a more dramatic look. Does have kind of a funny play-doh scent, but mild enough to get past it. Very dark too. Overall wonderful product and my go to everyday mascara!


on 9/14/2013 11:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like this product. The wand is just perfect, and the formula did not irritate my eyes. It gives me a natural soft look, and is fine for work and daytime. I bought it in brown because I am very fair and blonde. I would repurchase.
I have to say, negative reviewers may not be taking into account that this product is meant to give a very natural subtle look. It is not a nighttime clubbing mascara, but a gentle and soft look. I like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2012 12:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I read good reviews on this mascara and had great expectations as I have liked all other Lavera products I have tried (lotions & moisturizers) and really wanted to find a good natural cosmetics mascara.

Unfortunately I was disappointed; there was too much mascara in the brush, it spread all over (had to clean a lot with cotton sticks), it dried slow and what was most disappointing, it irritated my eyes a lot. I had to throw it away only after few times :(


on 6/6/2012 5:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used to use pout's now discontinued mascara, which I loved because it separated and coloured my lashes without clumping them.
I switched to the Lavera partly because it was natural and my eyes can get irritated after a few hours of most mascaras, and partly because I wanted something similar to the Pout mascara's narrow wand.

I do like this mascara; it isn't too wet nor is it too gloopy or dry when it goes on. I love how it really separates and lifts my lashes (long but fine) -including the bottom ones and the very corners. It's probably more suited to a daytime or low-key look as it you have to apply several coats to get any real thickness, like a lot of commercial volumising mascaras. However, I do like this mascara because it defines without making them too long; as they're quite long anyway, too much longer and they just smear against my glasses (not a good look). It's lasted quite a long time, too, so pretty good value for money at just under £12 for a mascara that defines well and doesn't irritate my eyes. The packaging is fine -not exciting, but quite slim so it fits in my makeup bag without adding too much bulk.

The only downside is that it appears to dry after a while -if I wear it for a day at work, or an evening out I get little flecks under my eyes, which is why I have only given it 4.


on 1/29/2012 4:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My eyes, normally not overly sensitive, looked AWFUL with this on. After ten minutes I had eyes SO red they appeared to have pink eye. Hurt awfully. Had to rush home in middle of errands to take off and was soooo relieved when I did.
Would not buy anything from this line again. It's supposed to be natural, and for the sensitive? And the blue was not good. And the brush was old-school. (NOT in a good way.)
Save yourself the aggravation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2011 1:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this mascara. I'm fortunate enough to have long lashes as it so I wanted something to make them pop a little more and thicken them, this does just that! It doesn't crumble either so you won't look like a raccoon by the end of the day. It is a tad pricey but it's worth it since it's natural and does exactly what I wanted it to do. Itís my new fav mascara and I will continue purchasing.
UPDATE 02/27/12: not liking this anymore. It's starting to crumble throughout the day, I end up with little spots all under my eyes, it's been giving my styes (weird!). I never got styes until I started using this mascara. Still gives my lashes crazy volume and thickness but I won't be repurchasing. I have now moved on to Tarte lights, camera, lashes.


on 10/21/2011 4:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Horrible. Absolutelly horrible. i totally regret buying this mascara. i only managed to use it 3 times and everytime it irritated my eyes so much that both my eyes began crying.

this goes to trash can. :(


on 8/4/2011 12:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like the fact that this mascara is natural. It doesn't make my eyelashes brittle, or fall out, as all the chemical-laden mascaras do. My eyelashes were getting so short and thin before I started trying natural mascaras.

However, this does not give the dramatic, 'false eye lash' effect that some of the more chemical-laden mascaras give. It lengthens a bit, thickens a bit, and blackens quite a lot. It smudges a bit, but many non-waterproof mascaras will do that anyway. It is great for daytime wear.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
427 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2008 Reviews


Back to Top