Crabtree & Evelyn Summer Hill

4.2

34 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/20/2012 1:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

lovely white floral with a hint of fruit and an animalic d/d. It reminds me a bit of White Shoulders. it is very simple and pretty with good sillage and great staying power. I really miss C&E Gardenia and this has filled the gap - a no brainer pretty, girly scent.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 2/26/2012 11:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great Spring scent that works well when you don't want something overpowering, just sweet and pretty. The packaging is really cute and the price seems very reasonable too, as it has lasted me a long time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Summer Hill sounded so lovely... "smells like flowering meadows in spring!" and all that. I bought this and the lotion.

To keep it short: Summer Hill makes me fee like a Laura Ashley catalog. My homie said he liked it; and that Summer Hill reminds him of a grandma, "... like, a clean grandma." Rude.


I wear it a lot, though it is not my taste. I would have been stoked for months if 25 years ago I had bought a Cabbage Patch that smelled like this. It's sweet and innocent; light, floral and inoffensive. Comes in an adorable yellow box.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is probably my favorite perfume. It used to be C & E's Spring Rain but since they d/c'd it, this has come in as it's successor. I used to wear Spring Rain in the spring, Summer Hill all summer until it started to feel a bit chilly and then switch out to Nantucket Briar for the colder months. Now I just switch back and forth between the remaining two (while peppering in my other goodies occasionally).

Anyhow, back to the actual review, Summer Hill is a bright and cheery floral that evokes mental images of bottled summer sunshine over a picnic lunch amidst a field of wildflowers somewhere in England. It's a very happy fragrance. Is it sexy? Not really. Is it complicated? Nope. But is a beautiful fragrance that will make you feel feminine and pretty? ABSOLUTELY!

I adore this scent. I repurchase this at least 3 times a year (in varying products) - the hand cream is to die for!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love it! Love it! Love it! Also, this is the only fragrance my fella has made a complimentary comment about (and I have been secretly testing him). Not overbearing. Feminine but not too flowery. The perfect soft 'green' fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2010 10:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have the Eau de Toilette. When I sniff this, I get the image of a ten year old in a sunhat and a yellow plaid dress in a bed of wildflowers. An ideal picnic, without earthly scents. It reminds me more of late spring than summer. This is a comfort scent for me, and mixes well with my body chemistry. This scent also reminds me of waking up very late on summer afternoons: it has that warm, cozy side to it. This fragrance does not turn on me like most do. Just with that, this perfume gets a 5. However, I dropped a lippie because it has this sharp, alcohol-like, and headache-inducing smell to it for the first hour or two of spritzing.


on 12/29/2008 10:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i LOVE LOVE LOVE this scent! first smelled it when i was 11 when a friend's mother wore it, loved it then, love it now. my boyfriend recently bought me the set, and i'm thrilled! in my opinion, the scent is pretty darn close to perfect. it smells like the perfect spring or summer day. just smelling it makes me so happy :D


on 11/11/2008 10:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a wonderful little scent in general and smells exactly like its name: green grass, light flowers, summer day. However--and this is hard to describe why clearly--sometimes I feel like I'm wearing a "room scent" rather than cologne. In addition, it doesn't make me feel sexy at all. It's a scent that I'm happy to wear for family gatherings, etc. but wouldn't wear when I want to feel sexy, desirable, confident. Maybe because summer days are wonderful, but not particularly sexy? (Or maybe it's because my son liked the scent on me so I associate the scent with "being mom.") Anyway, it's a nice little scent.


on 11/11/2008 4:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Living in the country, and especially in a hilly-flowery country, I have the luck to know exactly what a Summer hill smells like. This fragrance goes very close to it: I've spent years of unsuccessful searching for a grassy fragrance, but somehow every grassy fragrance that I smelled, or those that SAs and MUAers kept suggesting me, ended up smelling too "green", like vetiver green or cologne green, which is something that grass definitely doesn't smell like. Then it finally hit me that grass could be blended with white flowers and maybe wildflowers in order to smell like a summer meadow, and there it was: Summer Hill!
I like it, it makes me feel good and very English, clean and happy. Plus, I can't smell alcohol at all, not even at the beginning. I think I'll keep buying this forever. The fact that I took off a lippie is, this isn't exactly a masterpiece, it won't stand in a crowd, I admit it. Anyway, I'm not the kind of person who always stands in a crowd, quite the contrary in fact, so I wear it every day in my quiet routine and feel absolutely perfect like this, a four star like me.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2008 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this scent. I used this years ago and this winter I decided to purchase Summer Hill to brighten up the grey winter days. This is a beautiful soft and very feminine scent.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
340 Reviews
Light Blue
1409 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Top Rated Crabtree & Evelyn Products

Back to Top