Parfums De Nicolai • Mimosaique • Fragrances

rated 3.5(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alba75 on 12/30/2011 8:31:00 PM more reviews by alba75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am in search of a mimosa perfume. I tried L'Artisan Mimosa Pour Moi, which turned out to be beautiful, but fleeting. Then I learnt about Mimosaique by Parfums de Nicolai and acquired a sample from theperfumedcourt.com.
This perfume is what I would call classical French. The perfume is floral powdery. I definitely smell a touch of anise, which does not overpower ethereal sweet mimosa. I found it complex as it develops on my skin and shows different facets. It is extremely dense and sheer at the same time. A staying power is amazing. The 1ml sample lasted two and half weeks.
Unfortunately Mimosaique has been discontinued. Otherwise I would have bought a smaller bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Silaira on 10/8/2008 7:15:00 PM more reviews by Silaira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite mimosa fragrance so far. I used to love L'Artisan Parfumeur Mimosa Pour Moi and almost bought it a few months ago, but the lasting power was incredibly poor. Mimosaique has a nice green quality that keeps it from getting too sweet or heady. I would definitely buy this scent again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ikura on 9/21/2008 1:25:00 AM more reviews by ikura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

starts out a very round cold tropical fruit, maybe in the melon family. The green wet melon/starfruit/whatever it is starts to dry out and ripen in the sun. An intense sweetness arises, and the notes all blend together into a non-structured mimosa blossom scent, complete with those fuzzy fronds that make it so hard to tell where the scent is coming from exactly. The boundaries of sweet warmth and greenness are unclear as it has already begun its quick descent to the scent molecule afterlife. Not very long lasting!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 12/29/2007 8:42:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Comes out on me as a very pale Mimosa washed out by green notes and dust. Doesn't smell much, doesn't last much, doesn't work much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rnornan on 11/24/2007 5:57:00 PM more reviews by rnornan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

really lovely, smells very similar to a mimosa blossom which I grew up with in the Southeastern US. To this day, one of my favorite smells. This scent is lovely straight out of the bottle, when it has most life. After drydown, it begins to smell a little more generic like a 'clean' scent a la CLEAN fragrances, similar to Eau de Noho by Bond 9. I have Eau de Noho and while the flower base is different the overall feel is the same. If you have neither, I would go with either...they are both lovely. Mimosaique is a great scent don't get me wrong, just I wouldn't buy now that I have one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* themeglet on 11/3/2007 1:34:00 AM more reviews by themeglet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This is hands down my favorite mimosa scent. I've tried oodles; none comes anywhere close to Mimosaique. I don't know how PdN manages to produce so many wonderful scents and remain so wonderfully afordable....Between L'Artisan's Mimosa pour Moi and this, I think PdN's is much nicer. It's a bit more green, but also remains more "airy" and light.
UPDATE (2/10//08) - Had to deduct a lippie; L'Artisan's Mimosa pour Moi has quickly replaced Mimosaique as my favorite mimosa. I'm finding now that I don't care for the previously-charming soapy note in Mimosaique.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maller on 9/19/2005 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Maller

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite memories of childhood has to do with climbing a mimosa tree and reading a book or just daydreaming while staring up at the sky. There are several mimosa scents I like a lot, but very few come close to recapturing that childhood memory. If I'd have had any sort of foresight I would have taken bags of cucumber slices up that tree to snack on so that years ago I could have recaptured that memory w/ L'Artisan's Mimosa pour Moi, but I was sadly lacking in that psychic vision of the future. I also don't remember the air being filled w/ synthetic, cloying sweeteners as would be the case with Calypso's Mimosa. Patricia de Nicolai uses only the highest quality ingredients and it shows. Mimosaique beautifully captures that childhood memory. It is an amazing, richly honeyed mimosa scent with depth and texture. The green notes, iris, jasmine and anice - all of which are very clear in this scent - give it added interest and complexity and somehow contribute to the sense of realism. Hands down, this is now my favorite mimosa.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rubykris on 7/15/2004 2:02:00 PM more reviews by rubykris

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not normally a lover of florals, I find this perfume appealing precisely because of its powderiness. It does not smell of baby powder; the powder accord in Mimosaique is reminiscent of the soft, gentle, cool dustiness you experience with certain ground spices, most notably Ceylon ("true") cinnamon, a paler, more complex, and more delicate spice than cassia cinnamon. Indeed, my first impression of Mimosaique was that it contained a hint of this wonderful, placid cinnamon, but the soft, velvety spice accord I'm describing is probably provided by the anise. In any case, this hint of powdery spice balances the mimosa and green leaves beautifully, resulting in a floral that's slightly rustic and earthy, never cloying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melis on 7/28/2003 12:08:00 PM more reviews by melis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

At first the sweetness is a bit too concentrated, but, imho, when it dries the sweetness disperses into a beautiful light floral scent (which i tend to stay away from but i find this one sweet enough to fit my personal taste).

I do agree that its staying power could be improved, but what is that saying about quality over quantity??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jennyb on 2/24/2003 2:18:00 PM more reviews by jennyb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This little delight combines airy mimosa with a peapod green note, and even a touch of mintiness for an unusual summery blend. As it dries down, hints of powdery iris and jasmine peep through, but never overwhelm the green and mimosa. Unlike other reviewers, I found this scent remarkably persistent and true. It may be simply that I sloshed on a generous quantity. In any case, I was not disappointed with the lasting power, which was more or less all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Parfums De Nicolai products

More Fragrances products