E.L.F. • Studio Line Eye Primer & Liner Sealer • Eye Primer

rated 3.5(110 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 cdoles on 4/3/2014 11:42:00 PM more reviews by cdoles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

The primer end- looks a lot like a concealer stick, and it's best to either use your finger or a doe foot applicator to apply it to the eyelid. It seemed a bit thick, so warming it up a little helps to get an even coat, and a little goes a long way. I was worried it wouldn't give a good color payoff, but I compared it alongside my UD primer and it was as good, if not a little better with some colors. Staying power was good, lasted all day with no color loss. I even tried a chunky glitter UD shadow with it, and had little to no fallout.

The sealer end- as many have already said, this isn't to apply over your liner to seal it! It's to use with an eyeshadow to create a liner. With some colors, I found I had to apply a few coats to get the desired shade, and with others I found one coat was enough. Once on, it doesn't budge. I love that I can have any color eyeliner now, without having to buy a bunch of eyeliners! The only downside is the liner applicator, which is rather stiff, and looks like over time it will lose its shape. It was very easy to clean off though. Maybe an actual brush would do better.

Overall, for $3.00, it's a good buy for people on a budget, someone just starting out with makeup, or even to use between having to wait and save up for a higher end primer, like UD.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gazelma on 2/26/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by gazelma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I only use the primer because the liner sealer does not work for me. The primer is good enough, but still doesn't compare to eyelid primers like Urban Decay. I wish they only made the primer stick because I feel like the other half is such a waste. Also, I use eye makeup almost every day and I have been using this every day for the past few months haven't even hit the bottom yet! A little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sufferingfromvertigo on 1/5/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by sufferingfromvertigo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this for the liner, so I can't rate the primer aspect (because I use the Fergie primer at walgreens and feel no need to try anything else). I wanted a sparkly silver liner for New Year's Eve, so I bought this and a cheap NYC silver loose eyeshadow thing. I dipped the liner in, and it created a bright, sparkly silver eyeliner that was exactly what I wanted! It stayed on well, and didn't migrate or have any fallout. Therefore, I would recommend this to make a liner out of any shadows you might have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lynnnguyen on 1/5/2014 8:18:00 AM more reviews by Lynnnguyen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this for the line sealer. Overall this product isn't good

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Yolyalex on 12/5/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by Yolyalex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The primer is not bad. Like other reviewers have said you kind if have to warm it up a bit so it can be applied better but for the price it does a pretty good job. I haven't used the line sealed yet. I would re-purchase definetely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cr3m3 on 10/8/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by Cr3m3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I dont use a liner wo this review is based soley on the primer. Nothing special but it isnt horrible. I have a natural crease in my eyelid so my eyeshadow is gonna crease regardless if I use a cheap primer, the most expensive, or the one rated as the best. As for the other areas of my eyes I believe this primer holds my eyeshadow in place very well despite my very greasy eyelids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 12:29:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A really neat little product concept. The primer is excellent its slightly harder than your average concealer but warm it up a little with your finger and it's fine. Looks rather yellowy peachy in the tube but it hides redness/any veins on your lids for perfect shadow application - and boy does it amplify the intesity of your shadow. Unfortunately it creases within hours I'm better off not wearing a primer than this.

the liner sealer is workable but can make a real mess - all in all wouldn't rate this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jayjaybean on 6/17/2013 7:06:00 AM more reviews by Jayjaybean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Do people even read the product directions? You're not supposed to use this over eyeliner (I know from the name it sounds that way) you're supposed to swipe it in an eyeshadow and then use it as a liquid eyeliner. From the website and packaging: "The Liner side transforms your favorite eye shadow into a waterproof, smudge-proof liquid liner with this unique clear liquid and built-in felt tip precision eyeliner brush."

I like to use it with my pigments or Bare Escentual loose eyeshadows. Really neat way to get unique coloured eyeliners! When used as its intended, my liner lasts all day. Really impressed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debramarie on 12/5/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by debramarie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I do not line the primer on this, so I'm only really reviewing about the sealer. That's why I took of a point for the overall rating; the primer is pretty crappy in my opinion.

The sealer is a lifesaver, however. It keeps my gel/cream liner in place. I have very oily eyelids, and usually the only thing that stays on is liquid liner, however liquid liner always gets all over my lashes while I'm applying it. I prefer the gel liner. So I apply my gel liner, then I apply the sealer and it stays all day. There might be a tiny bit of smudging, but no where near what it used to be. I can even do liner on my lower line and apply this on top, and it stays! I do have problems with the liner staying on the outside corner of my eyes (yes I do apply primer there), but no where near what I used to.

I wish it came without the primer. I don't use it and it'll go to waste. I've been using one of the other ELF primers and it works great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AlexMorse on 11/27/2012 8:20:00 PM more reviews by AlexMorse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I liked the primer side better then the liner side. Just because the liner side stung, but also I didn't really have a use for it.... But I would definitely reconnect the primer side!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products