E.L.F. • Studio Line Eye Primer & Liner Sealer • Eye Primer

rated 3.5(117 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 9/14/2014 11:57:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this primarily for the primer side, and I am really dissatisfied with it. I like the way it looks when you put it on, it gives you a a nice even look that I really like, even for using as a nude but finished eye look. It covers well and evens out discoloration. But it creases on me very quickly. I have tried different shadows over it, tried different powders to set it. Doesn't work. The liner side is ok, but I don't really line my eyes too often. I would not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 8/14/2014 8:40:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The eye primer is a pretty decent one, but of course there are much better ones that I would recommend you going with, especially if you have oily eyelids like I do.. It of course is more like using concealer to keep your eye makeup in place, however, when it comes to using it during warm/hot weather conditions it doesn't provide consistent results. This may be largely due to it having mineral oil listed high on its ingredient listing. And, the liner part, i have not even tried yet, and am not sure if I exactly ever will.

For me this is not a must have, so I don't plan on re-purchading it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/4/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was an ok product. I like the liner side but a wet liner brush or angle brush works the same for me.
The primer side was very dry and did not work well

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 akPhilly on 8/3/2014 11:43:00 AM more reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

While I like the liner sealer, I'm really not impressed with the eye primer. It creased on me. I've heard some say that if it creases to try using less, but the problem with doing that is that it isn't enough to give you that 'stick' I guess I'll call it for lack of a better word, where it makes your shadow really go on more vibrant & stay put well, & either way whether I use a little or alot it would still crease. But being a girl on a budget, I try to find ways to make things work even if they are only a few dollars, so what I actually have ended up using it for is sort of as a lip primer. Like if I'm going for that very pale, opaque nude look what I've done is I'll apply the primer to my lips, then apply a nude gloss over it.

The liner sealer works well, I've never tried it as far as trying to extend the wear of my eyeliner, but more as a mixing medium, Like I'll mix it with pigments & eyeshadows to make eyeliners, & for that it works well. Alot better than mixing it with water or glycerin/water combos. But, being that Elf sells a liner sealer/mixing medium by itself, I don't see myself buying this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MasksOffMasksOn on 7/28/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by MasksOffMasksOn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Sealer is really strong and amazing! I do have better primers, this one will keep the shadows in place for no more than 7 hours- which is not enough for me...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 5/23/2014 2:14:00 AM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The primer side is very thick but not horribly. I don't use eyeshadow so I can't provide any experience with that. I do like, however, how well the primer evens out my lid color. I am fair skinned and some blue veins are visible but these covers them very well!.
The sealer side took some time learning. I tried mixing it with eyeshadow but I got tired of having to re-dip the brush into the eyeshadow every few millimeters on my lids. It may be my laziness so please form your own opinion. :) I found it was great to use with ELF's cream eyeliner. I know it sounds weird using this liquid with a cream... but I found the cream smeared on my outer eye creases. When I applied it with this "sealer", it thinned the liner out enough that it stayed on without smearing!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sage4dylan on 5/5/2014 10:12:00 AM more reviews by sage4dylan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The primer end is ok. It gives a decent base for eyeshadow. The sealer end, at first, I didn't think I would use. Then I bought some cheap eyeshadow because I loved the colors but they would wear off easy. If you apply the sealer to your eye lid , then put on the cheap (powder) eye shadow, it stays all day. So overall this was worth the $3 I paid for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cdoles on 4/3/2014 11:42:00 PM more reviews by cdoles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

The primer end- looks a lot like a concealer stick, and it's best to either use your finger or a doe foot applicator to apply it to the eyelid. It seemed a bit thick, so warming it up a little helps to get an even coat, and a little goes a long way. I was worried it wouldn't give a good color payoff, but I compared it alongside my UD primer and it was as good, if not a little better with some colors. Staying power was good, lasted all day with no color loss. I even tried a chunky glitter UD shadow with it, and had little to no fallout.

The sealer end- as many have already said, this isn't to apply over your liner to seal it! It's to use with an eyeshadow to create a liner. With some colors, I found I had to apply a few coats to get the desired shade, and with others I found one coat was enough. Once on, it doesn't budge. I love that I can have any color eyeliner now, without having to buy a bunch of eyeliners! The only downside is the liner applicator, which is rather stiff, and looks like over time it will lose its shape. It was very easy to clean off though. Maybe an actual brush would do better.

Overall, for $3.00, it's a good buy for people on a budget, someone just starting out with makeup, or even to use between having to wait and save up for a higher end primer, like UD.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gazelma on 2/26/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by gazelma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I only use the primer because the liner sealer does not work for me. The primer is good enough, but still doesn't compare to eyelid primers like Urban Decay. I wish they only made the primer stick because I feel like the other half is such a waste. Also, I use eye makeup almost every day and I have been using this every day for the past few months haven't even hit the bottom yet! A little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sufferingfromvertigo on 1/5/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by sufferingfromvertigo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this for the liner, so I can't rate the primer aspect (because I use the Fergie primer at walgreens and feel no need to try anything else). I wanted a sparkly silver liner for New Year's Eve, so I bought this and a cheap NYC silver loose eyeshadow thing. I dipped the liner in, and it created a bright, sparkly silver eyeliner that was exactly what I wanted! It stayed on well, and didn't migrate or have any fallout. Therefore, I would recommend this to make a liner out of any shadows you might have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products