Chantecaille • Vital Essence • Skincare - Face

rated 4.3(53 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 pandabear5 on 11/27/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by pandabear5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Like the other Chantecaille Vital Essence serum "with arbutin," I find this serum provides a great and lasting boost of moisture when used alone or with a moisturizer. However, this broke me out whereas the one with arbutin does not. Just my preference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/15/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is just ok. . . it doesn't do anything my $25 Bioderma serum can't do better. That being said - if you do want to splurge it's a nice hydrating serum. Just don't expect any anti-aging miracles.

Pros:
- light, silky finish makes decent base for make up
- sinks in quickly with no oily residue
- fragrance is barely noticeable
- hasn't irritated or caused breakouts for my crazy skin
- can be used around eye area (may not be moisturising enough on it's own though)

Cons:
- no noticeable changes or benefits
- does nothing but add slight moisture
- very overpriced for extremely basic formula
- fragrant extracts and ingredients may be irritating for sensitive skin

For less than half the price of this serum - I got a Vit C serum which has actually made a difference in the appearance of my skin. The Vit C serum got rid of sun spots, brightened up my eye area and improved clarity and skin evenness. I would not repurchase because there are much better and more effective serums available.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GwenNYC on 10/25/2013 3:22:00 PM more reviews by GwenNYC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was one of the first Chantecaille products I tried. I have combination skin with an oily t-zone that can breakout without warning. I have used this serum on its own on humid days when a moisturizer would be too heavy, as well as under their Flower Harmonizing Cream and their Magnolia, Jasmine and Lily Healing Emulsion and it's worked wonderfully. I love that it is gentle, yet contains anti-aging properties we all want. The bottle itself (plastic) is designed really well, and is whimsical yet practical; you are able to see when you're running out of product. This serum can also be used on the delicate eye area. A lot of bang for the buck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kalenalli on 8/15/2013 3:12:00 PM more reviews by Kalenalli

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only product that has relieved my chronically dry eyes. After my office moved to a new building with no moisture in the air system, I started noticing that my eyelids were so dry they were flaky. I've tried every eye cream from Neutrogena to La Prairie and nothing seemed to help. Then I started using Vital Essence on my face and it really helped. The directions said it was ok to use on your eyes so I tried it and in a week's time the problem is solved. My 87-year-old mother, who has beautiful skin, swears by this product and I have to say that mom was right!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beetee on 7/29/2012 5:01:00 AM more reviews by beetee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love this serum. It sinks right in and plumps up my skin getting rid of any dryness yet doesn't feel like I've put anything on my face. It looks and feels the way it does right after I've washed it, clean and fresh. I have reactive skin but this hasn't bothered it. I use this only in the daytime and usually mix it half and half with their Just Skin tinted moisturiser to give my face a wash of colour which is virtually undetectable but improves the look of my skin 100%. I guess it's the same idea as the Giorgio Armani Face Fabric only natural. The added colour gives my face a subtle glow and covers up any uneveness and the Vital Essence makes it look....well... 'younger' is the word I guess Im looking for. Because I need to use such a small amount of this serum it lasts a long time so what seemed an expensive purchase ended up to be a bargain. I can't use some of the Chantecaille products but this one is a winner.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 4/28/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Caused burning sensation, possibly attributable to its concentrated botanical element. Sensitive skins beware.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 3/29/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful serum. It sinks in right away and has no greasy/sticky feeling. i love the packaging as it helps to get every inch of the product out. I have found that this used with the Flower Harmoizing Cream has really improved my skin's clarity. My skin is significantly smoother, softer, radiant and brigther. My scars have also faded significantly. What is even better is the fact that its 95% natural ingredients vs. chemical, plus it does not test on animals. I love the fact that i can use this as my eye cream as well. It makes my routine much simpler and quicker. Not to mention, I can feel it working too. I am totally sold on this serum and this cream. Definite repurchase for both. I wll try the Flower Fluid for the summer months to be used on top of this serum because the cream can be sticky and hence I prefer using it only during winter months and at night.

EDIT (March 2014): Since I use the serum twice a day, i use it up pretty quickly (within 1 month) and that is the reason in combination with the ridiculous pricetag is why I wouldn't repurchase this again. In addition Bioderma Hydrating Serum gives the same if not better results for a reasonable price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snozzle on 3/25/2012 4:12:00 PM more reviews by snozzle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for almost a year. It is expensive. I had never used a serum before, and I think it made a difference in my skin although I had nothing to compare to. It smells really nice and looks really pretty. It's a light gel, so I felt like I needed quite a bit to get full coverage, like 1.5-2 pumps per use.

My skin is really dry and it didn't really help with hydrating so much so I am trying something new now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ep229 on 3/24/2012 10:01:00 PM more reviews by ep229

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I must say I am really impressed with this product. Only a week of using it and my skin really improved! The lines on my forehead became very little visible! and i was already considering getting smth anti lines (only at an age of 27!). I will not need that! in fact im even getting our without any make-up today:) my skin looks fab:)5 stars from me!:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yuangao2 on 12/15/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by yuangao2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

As a serum for both face and eyes, it is not pricy! However, it goes really fast! It does make my skin soft and brilliant after I finished 2 bottles.

More reviews for skincare and makeup are at my blog:

www.fabbylife.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chantecaille products

More Skincare - Face products