Chantecaille Vital Essence

4.3

54 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Squalane, Sodium Hyaluronate, Buxus Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Bifidus Ferment Filtrate, Xanthan Gum, Natto Gum, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Glycin Soja (Soybean) Extract, Pueraria Lobata Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Alanine, Bentonite, Rose Water Concentrated F2374, Carbomer, Stearic Acid, Polyglyceryl-2, Isostearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Distearate, Isostearate-20, Glycereth-25 Pca Isostearate, Potassium Hydroxide, Tocopherol, Dimethiconem, Butylene Glycol, Ethanol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben


on 5/9/2015 8:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a review for the regular Vital Essence (without Arbutin).

I love Chantecaille perfume and their Flower Harmonizing Cream, so I really wanted to like this. I read the reviews on MUA, and hoped for the best because I wanted a daytime serum that was light and good for under makeup. Alas, not to be.

I love the ease/cleanliness of the dispenser, but the goopy-ness of the product made me have to use 2 pumps to cover my face-- way more than I'm used to using. (My night serums are La Mer The Concentrate and La Prairie Night Power Charge, and I never have to use very much of those). Vital Essence felt good on the skin, and it was not a problem under makeup. However, I noticed that I started getting small bumps (clogged pores) from it. So, now it is a neck/decolletage serum, and I do have to say-- my neck looks better :)

Bottom line: seems to work, but try and get a sample to make sure your skin doesn't react to it.



on 11/27/2013 8:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like the other Chantecaille Vital Essence serum "with arbutin," I find this serum provides a great and lasting boost of moisture when used alone or with a moisturizer. However, this broke me out whereas the one with arbutin does not. Just my preference.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2013 10:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is just ok. . . it doesn't do anything my $25 Bioderma serum can't do better. That being said - if you do want to splurge it's a nice hydrating serum. Just don't expect any anti-aging miracles.

Pros:
- light, silky finish makes decent base for make up
- sinks in quickly with no oily residue
- fragrance is barely noticeable
- hasn't irritated or caused breakouts for my crazy skin
- can be used around eye area (may not be moisturising enough on it's own though)

Cons:
- no noticeable changes or benefits
- does nothing but add slight moisture
- very overpriced for extremely basic formula
- fragrant extracts and ingredients may be irritating for sensitive skin

For less than half the price of this serum - I got a Vit C serum which has actually made a difference in the appearance of my skin. The Vit C serum got rid of sun spots, brightened up my eye area and improved clarity and skin evenness. I would not repurchase because there are much better and more effective serums available.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2013 3:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This was one of the first Chantecaille products I tried. I have combination skin with an oily t-zone that can breakout without warning. I have used this serum on its own on humid days when a moisturizer would be too heavy, as well as under their Flower Harmonizing Cream and their Magnolia, Jasmine and Lily Healing Emulsion and it's worked wonderfully. I love that it is gentle, yet contains anti-aging properties we all want. The bottle itself (plastic) is designed really well, and is whimsical yet practical; you are able to see when you're running out of product. This serum can also be used on the delicate eye area. A lot of bang for the buck.


on 8/15/2013 3:12:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the only product that has relieved my chronically dry eyes. After my office moved to a new building with no moisture in the air system, I started noticing that my eyelids were so dry they were flaky. I've tried every eye cream from Neutrogena to La Prairie and nothing seemed to help. Then I started using Vital Essence on my face and it really helped. The directions said it was ok to use on your eyes so I tried it and in a week's time the problem is solved. My 87-year-old mother, who has beautiful skin, swears by this product and I have to say that mom was right!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2012 5:01:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Love this serum. It sinks right in and plumps up my skin getting rid of any dryness yet doesn't feel like I've put anything on my face. It looks and feels the way it does right after I've washed it, clean and fresh. I have reactive skin but this hasn't bothered it. I use this only in the daytime and usually mix it half and half with their Just Skin tinted moisturiser to give my face a wash of colour which is virtually undetectable but improves the look of my skin 100%. I guess it's the same idea as the Giorgio Armani Face Fabric only natural. The added colour gives my face a subtle glow and covers up any uneveness and the Vital Essence makes it look....well... 'younger' is the word I guess Im looking for. Because I need to use such a small amount of this serum it lasts a long time so what seemed an expensive purchase ended up to be a bargain. I can't use some of the Chantecaille products but this one is a winner.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2012 7:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Caused burning sensation, possibly attributable to its concentrated botanical element. Sensitive skins beware.


on 3/29/2012 3:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a wonderful serum. It sinks in right away and has no greasy/sticky feeling. i love the packaging as it helps to get every inch of the product out. I have found that this used with the Flower Harmoizing Cream has really improved my skin's clarity. My skin is significantly smoother, softer, radiant and brigther. My scars have also faded significantly. What is even better is the fact that its 95% natural ingredients vs. chemical, plus it does not test on animals. I love the fact that i can use this as my eye cream as well. It makes my routine much simpler and quicker. Not to mention, I can feel it working too. I am totally sold on this serum and this cream. Definite repurchase for both. I wll try the Flower Fluid for the summer months to be used on top of this serum because the cream can be sticky and hence I prefer using it only during winter months and at night.

EDIT (March 2014): Since I use the serum twice a day, i use it up pretty quickly (within 1 month) and that is the reason in combination with the ridiculous pricetag is why I wouldn't repurchase this again. In addition Bioderma Hydrating Serum gives the same if not better results for a reasonable price.


on 3/25/2012 4:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for almost a year. It is expensive. I had never used a serum before, and I think it made a difference in my skin although I had nothing to compare to. It smells really nice and looks really pretty. It's a light gel, so I felt like I needed quite a bit to get full coverage, like 1.5-2 pumps per use.

My skin is really dry and it didn't really help with hydrating so much so I am trying something new now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2012 10:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I must say I am really impressed with this product. Only a week of using it and my skin really improved! The lines on my forehead became very little visible! and i was already considering getting smth anti lines (only at an age of 27!). I will not need that! in fact im even getting our without any make-up today:) my skin looks fab:)5 stars from me!:)


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
108 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
286 Reviews
Unblemish
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top