Neutrogena Pure & Free Baby SPF 60

3.3

92 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (4.9%), Zinc Oxide (4.7%) Inactive Ingredients: Alumina, Arachidyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Ascorbic Acid, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Beeswax, Behenyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol, BHT, Bisobolol, Butylene Glycol, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Dimethicone PEG 8 Laurate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Isohexadecane, Methicone, Methylisothiazolinone, Pantothenic Acid, PEG 100 Stearate, PEG 8, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polysorbate 60, Potassium Sorbate, Retinyl Palmitate, Silica, Stearic Acid, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Trisiloxane, Water, Xanthan Gum 5/21/09


on 6/21/2015 3:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Other

Bottom line: Do. Not. Recommend.
Pros: Effective, broad spectrum sunscreen. Does not budge one bit, even while sweating profusely. Does not sting/irritate eyes. Doesn't irritate skin if you use a sensitizing medication (like Retin-A). Good price point.
****
Cons: Looks like white costume makeup for Halloween - even if you have extremely fair skin like I do, it is VERY NOTICEABLE. Never completely rubs in, even after several minutes. Not comfortable to wear; feels very sticky and heavy. Difficult to remove (plan to use a scrubby pad or Clarisonic and cleanse twice). Basically, this stuff looks and feels yucky. The only good thing about it is that it's an effective sunscreen and will shield your face from wrinkles and skin cancer. For the $10 I spent, I will at least try to use it up when I'm only going to be exercising outdoors and won't be doing other errands first (it really does look that bad on me). I only gave it 2 stars because it DOES work as intended and is truly non-irritating.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I broke out in a bright red rash!! I'm positive it was this stuff. I used my cortizone cream to clear it up, but if you have sensitive skin-- don't use this junk!!


on 8/8/2014 7:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

lots of pros:
- fragrance free
- does not irritate my eyes or skin
- mineral based/ no chemical sunscreen ingredients
- broad spectrum (uva/uvb) protection
- dries matte most of the time
- seems to have more staying power than other (greasier) formulations

cons (why i can't personally recommend)
- formula can be gritty (gunks up around edges of bottle and often peels off in little white globs throughout the day, so it can get a little messy)
- leaves a blue-ish white cast on my warm/yellow toned skin (very odd and zombie-like-- though this might work fine if you have fair skin w/blue undertones)

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (4.9%), Zinc Oxide (4.7%)


on 6/25/2014 12:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ok, I am in week one of using this product. Let me start out by saying I've never worn sunscreen due to the fact that most of them are greasy, and have an all too familiar smell. Most of my life, I've stayed indoors, and left my time outside time to a minimum, being so fair and all. This product is Awesome!!! yes it may leave a very slight white cast but the pros weigh the cons for this product.

Pros: Does not smell like sunscreen. ( yay!)
Leaves a lovely matte finish.
Fills in your pores much like a primer.
Hydrates like a moisturizer
100% naturally sourced sunscreen ingredients.
Water resistant
And for the oily and acne prone......no breakouts!!!

Cons: If you are a darker skin tone, it may lighted the skin tone from the zinc and titanium dioxide ( but that's what bronzer is for).

So all in all its the best sunscreen I have ever used. Give it a try!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2014 3:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Cute packaging and the ingredients are very acne friendly however the white cast on this stuff is INSANE. In addition to ghost face, this stuff makes ALLLLL my foundation just slide off my face. I will be using this only for beach days. Would not recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Cute packaging and good price for the protection you get. However this sits white on my skin, and it stains my black clothes like no other sunscreen I've used. I definitely don't recommend!


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I broke out in an itchy rash all over my arms from this. I let it clear up and waited a couple weeks then used it again just on one arm, and it broke out in a rash again. I'm not sure what the ingredient is but I'm allergic to something in Pure & Free.


on 8/21/2013 4:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am allergic to most sunscreens and this is one of the few brands I can use. It is not oily, it has not broken me out and it lasts all day! It is a physical sunscreen so it can leave a whitish coloring on my skin if I don't rub it in well enough, which is why I gave it a 4 instead of a 5. I think this is a great product for people who are sensitive to most regular sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2013 12:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So far so good. It went on feeling perfect. No oily feeling. No resting on top of your skin. I can't even feel that it's on. I rubbed it into my eye...and no burning! Only con is that it DOES leave a white cast on your skin. I will try to blend it more quickly next time. I don't see that the white cast would matter for people that wear foundation though. Makeup sets easily on this, and you can add warmth with bronzer/foundation. I'd rather have protected skin than tan skin, so I'm going to suck up the white cast since this is the best sunscreen I've come across yet (compared to Shiseido, Clarins, etc). Will update if I break out. I only use this for face/neck/chest/hands. I was looking for something that feels light and doesn't burn eyes. It also is very affordable! Will update if I notice any breakouts because of this. I do think it will need a deeper cleanser than my usual one because I don't think it will wash off easily. This can be a good and bad thing.

UPDATE: Took a lippie off for white cast and too much SPF. Will use this when outdoors, but in my opinion, not a good everyday sunscreen. Better to use Neutrogena's Break Out Free SPF 30. No white cast. No breaking out. Just the right amount of SPF. Too much SPF will clog.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2013 1:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Cant. get. the. whiteness. gone.

Gave it 2 stars because I am at least protected.

...a protected ghost.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top