Almay • Pure Blends 97.4% natural • Foundations

rated 2.8(99 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kgloverii on 9/15/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by kgloverii

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I found this in a clearance bin and it was terrible. First squirt and the only thing that came out was oil. That should have been a warning not to proceed. Undeterred, I shook it up, and tried again. Squirted it out, still it was 50% oil. I put the cap on and shook it again. This time, the consistency seemed to be even, I applied with a light hand, but there seemed to be no coverage. I layered it on, but still no coverage, and my combination skin was an oil slick. I used blotting papers to try to pull the oil out, and powdered my face... A lot. I think I got more coverage from the powder. This should be called a tinted moisturizer at best. More like a tinted oil.
I'm not overly picky about cosmetics. Usually, I can find a way to make them work, whether I repurpose it, or add it to another existing product. But this stuff? I immediately threw it away. There's no repurposing it. Garbage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 proudwelderswife on 7/10/2012 10:58:00 AM more reviews by proudwelderswife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

GREASY!!!!! after you try to rub in leaves your face shinny and oily,then you have to use twice as much powder to get rid of the shine.If you have oily skin like mine it makes your complexion worse.NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xhawnny on 12/29/2011 9:07:00 PM more reviews by xhawnny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is not even a tinted moisturizer. This provided zero coverage. Its pretty much oil colored to match your face... That was basically what it looked like coming out of the packaging and going on my face. Never buying this again. I got this for $3 because it was on clearance (imagine if I'd bought it at full price!). Now I know why it was on sale. Returning it tomorrow as I don't want it. Don't even think about buying this no matter what the price. I'll stick with my Colorstay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 curlygurlie on 12/26/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by curlygurlie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Is it just me, or does the entire Almay Natural makeup line smell like rancid grease? I bought this because it was marked down to under 2 bucks at my local Walgreens. Definitely a no-go. It feels like vegetable oil and the smell was completely offensive. I'm glad I didn't pay full price for this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lck2011 on 12/23/2011 12:47:00 PM more reviews by lck2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

l bought this at walgreens for $1.50, was on sale, l had use a almay before (eyeshadows) they're ok products, anyways back to this foundation....ITS GROSS, some people say that Colorstay smells? this stuff smells lilke cheap lipstick, maybe worse l have some cheap liptistic they dont smell that bad, firts smells bad, ok l already said that its very hard to blend, and it make my skin look cackey and greasy right off the bat, very bad product i will never repurchase again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cheriebeary73 on 12/19/2011 4:27:00 PM more reviews by cheriebeary73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up the other day at Walgreens for $2, thought what the heck I'll give it a try. So today was in a hurry so threw this on my face before going out the door to run errands, and OMG how gross this is. The instant I put it on it was super oily and shiny. I dusted my face with loose powder lightly too and didn't help that much. Every part of my face was shiny, not just the T-Zone. Some people may like that "dewey" look, but I certainly DO NOT. My husband came home this afternoon, and asks "what the hell is wrong with your face today?" lol told him I got a new foundation to try for $2. His response was.. "what the hell you buying $2 foundations for? Trying to ruin your face?" He insisted I better wash off asap, so I took that advice and did just that. I then tried my new L'Oreal Visible Lift Serum Absolute and WOW much much much better! I always have great luck with L'Oreal products, been using since my teen days, and now I'm 38. No more Almay foundations for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 naturalbeauty2468 on 10/29/2011 8:45:00 PM more reviews by naturalbeauty2468

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

im sorry to say that even though almay dont test on animals this foundation is very poor..it had the coverage of a tinted moisturizer and claimed to be a foundation.wich was very misleading for me because im searching for a good foundation. this foundation has its PROS and CONS.....
Pros: its over 90% natural ingridients
Does'nt test on animals
easy to blend
Cons:
oily/greasy finish
almost no coverage
sorry Almay :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 10/14/2011 12:52:00 AM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

wow- i know ive seen this foundation in a few diff sections for review but ill put mine here. Im sad to see the low rating for this foundation but it should be put in the Tinted Moisturizer section but i guess it does claim to be a foundation. Anyway i really love this foundation. im sorry others dont but like alot of things we all have different taste, likes, dislikes, and skin so we all cant love the same things all the time- ill break down my review...
PRICE- i have seen this from $7-9 depending on store/location and sale. pick up wherever Almay is sold even though ive seen this foundation on clearance so they may d/c's it?! sad if they did. Check your drugstores, Walmarts, Targets, or where Almay is sold in your area.
Almay is a bit overpriced w/ some items so wait for sales.
FORMULA/SHADE- I have this in the lightest available shade which is Ivory. Ivory is a slightly cool toned shade almost neutral. The problem i see w/ Almay fndts is the lack of shade range, they typically have about 6 or 7, or maybe its just my stores? but i i never see a wide range. lucky for me though, Ivory matches me quite well which normally is never the case since im so pale. The formula on this is def a very thin almost watery consistency ala- Natural...so if you are looking for med to full coverage- def not for you. i was drawn to the natural ingredients. This is more of a tinted moisturizer with light coverage. it does though even out my skin from hyper pigmentation and spots and blemishes. you will def need a concealer with this. i love using this on days i just want a natural barely there look but enough that i look healthy! this has a natural finish. i love that its hydrating on the skin. i do have normal to dry sensitive skin sometimes & this does wonderful on my skin. never looks cakey, drying or settles. it soaks into skin making me look youthful. this is seriously the only fndt that i grab for almost everyday & the only one ive used up almost completely. oily & combo skin may want to test it first for its very hydrating and more water based so it may fade fast on you. i find with my primer, this last all day. i do notice some fading after 8 long work hour days but no fndt withstands my work. i dont feel gross when i have this fndt on like most i tried. i suggest trying this w/ clean fingers. dab a few dots & blends so nice into skin. i like my fingers for natural fndt look. it looks like skin but 100x better. I also like using this to sheer out my other fndts that are too heavy coverage or too thick- its a great mixing foundation!
PACKAGING- this fndt comes in a white plastic tube with green & purple labeling on it. this is a squeezable tube which makes getting the product out so easy & also hygenic (unlike sticking brushes or fingers into jars or tubs) you dont have to bang or pat to get this to come out, simply squeeze w/ slight pressure and fndt comes out opening. there is a twist on top with flat lid to it stands up for storing away. ive traveled with this & it withstood airplane tossing, luggage throwing and smooshing, so its travel friendly. you get a decent amount of fndt considering a few dabs will blend out well & cover your whole face. w/ daily use this lasted me over 6 months.
overall, one of my fav fndts- or ill say Tinted Moisturizers! i love this but if you need med to full coverage, you arent going to like this. for those who want light coverage to cover imperfections, hyperpigmentation, sun spots or age spots, some freckles but w/ some peeking thru, natural satiny looking finish- try this, what i also love is the natural ingredients as well as Almay doesnt test on animals! i love this & will def repurchase so i really pray this didnt d/c this, i better find out-!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foamytea123 on 9/30/2011 12:46:00 AM more reviews by foamytea123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The price was right for me since I got it on sale at CVS for like 2 bucks and a half.

I got the shade "Naked" and really I just picked it 'cos that was all that was left on the shelf aside from "Ivory" and and while I am on the lighter side of the skin tone spectrum, I usually can't pull off the lightest shade of any foundation without looking absurd.

Luckily for me, this foundation is more of a tinted moisturizer than a full coverage product so color matching wasn't a big deal 'cos it sort of just "blended" in with my skin anyway. The texture is pretty oily and if you put it on without a finishing powder, you're going to look like a grease ball (personally I prefer a mineral finishing powder like "Aromaleigh's Peaches n'Cream"---which is sadly out of business but I'm sure there is a wide array of other mineral finishing powders on the market). Otherwise,

It's really not much for concealing darker scars or acne but it is good for evening out skin tone. Plus since the texture is so oily, you don't need to apply a moisturizer beforehand in order for it to spread evenly across.

For reference, I have dry skin and am mildly acne prone. Looked and felt great on my skin during the colder seasons. Not so much during the summer when my skin became more oily.

My only real gripe is that the SPF is 20 and that for me, is pretty low (it should be at least 30 in my book). On the other hand, the SPF in this product doesn't result in a white cast in pictures so ultimately it's something I'd buy again and wear on days where I won't be out under the sun too much if at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oxnicoleox3 on 9/19/2011 10:12:00 PM more reviews by oxnicoleox3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I figured I had nothing to do when I saw this at the dollar store. First of all, the smell is horrible. I cannot stand it. It just smells disgusting. I have combination skin and get oily in my T-zone. I can see why people are complaining about the oily feel it gives them. If you don't shake the bottle first, a clear oil comes out- gross! The problem I have with it isn't the oily feel, I don't seem to get one. But, it doesn't cover anything. I know it's supposed to be lightweight, but I might as well not put anything on. Plus, something so oily makes me question the almost 100% naturalism of it...So far Almay has been one of the worst brands I've tried!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products