Too Faced • Chocolate Soleil • Bronzers

rated 4.5(335 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bubbelbad on 7/21/2014 7:15:00 AM more reviews by bubbelbad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

I got a travel size off ebay for ten bucks and I'm so glad I did. To be honest, I haven't tried a lot of (high-end) bronzers, but the ones I did try were just too orange for my liking, and the grey-toned contourpowders were either muddy or too red-toned for me - yes, I'm looking at you, NYX Taupe.

I heard most fair people would stay away from this because it would be too dark for them. But for some reason, I prefer dark/pigmented stuff over buildable, less pigmented stuff (don't ask me why) so I ignored the advice of many and gave it a shot. Even though I'm reallyreally fair, NCsomethingbelow20Iguess, I still can absolutely get away with it - and I don't like the 'look I got some heavy cheekmakeup going on'-look on me (I use this bronzer for contouring only, maybe for an all-over bronzer this might indeed be too much for fair people). You can make this as subtle or as strong as you like. It blends really well too!

It's all I look for in a bronzer! The *slight* brown undertones make it more natural than a lot of bronzers out there, and of course, the smell. I honestly don't think it's smells like a real chocolate bar, but more a vanilla-cocoa sortof thing. I don't know. Still really nice though. (It also tastes nice! So if you're out of chocolate, just dab your finger in here and you got yourself a snack - just kidding, DON'T EAT MAKE-UP!)
The pigmentation is perfect too. Just between 'you have to swirl your brush in there ten times before it even shows up' and 'just let some bristles lightly touch the powder otherwise it will be too much'.

I feel like I'm all over the place in this review but overall, really pleased with this bronzer. It's my go-to contourpowder. Nice benefits: no parabens & cruelty free. Would recommend!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tulipsplash on 7/2/2014 12:29:00 AM more reviews by tulipsplash

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Got this in the Candy Bar Pop-Out Makeup Palette & Phone Case at Ulta for $15. I am pleased to report--that was money well spent mostly because of the Chocolate Soleil bronzer. Never, ever in a million years would I have thought to try out this bronzer--it appears so dark in the pan. And, besides, I'm a light-skinned lady who doesn't tan much at all and I have a lot of red in my face. Bronzers have NEVER worked for me, since bronzers are primarily loaded with shimmer and pigmented to add "warmth" to the face and I already have too much so called warmth, and not the good kind either. But, this bronzer is refreshingly different! No shimmer. No shine. And the pigment actually neutralizes redness. And even light skinned people can wear it to add a healthy dose of color to the face and neck. Funny though, in this palette, it has no scent at all. I wonder why... LOVE this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Justminick on 6/25/2014 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Justminick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Got it at as a free gift. Decent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HotPinkLips101 on 6/25/2014 3:02:00 AM more reviews by HotPinkLips101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Only bad thing: the price... Other than that, i love it! Perfect shade, and im pretty fair (nc20) it's matte, doesn't look orangy, i love it to contour, highly recommend :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darthodis on 6/23/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by darthodis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was so worried about this one breaking me out, due to the whole made-with-cocoa powder-concept, but it didn't. It's a wonderful bronzer! I love how it doesn't make me look orange or muddy, due to the perfect pink-based undertone it has. It smells quite good, like a natural sweet scent unlike many other makeup products. It's matte which makes it great for contouring. The packaging looks cheap tho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xmissmilly on 6/22/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by xmissmilly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

AHMAZING.

Smells soooo goood, matte no annoying sparkle, not orangey.

I use this mainly for countering and it works like a charm. I use it after setting my foundation and it applies smoothly, no blotchy look. Best part it does not make me break out, I have used this brozer for over a year, I have hit pan but still a lot of product left.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/14/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Great product. Smells great, almost makes you want to eat it! Somehow it's universally attesting. Makes for a great bronzer AND good for contouring. Only ONLY downside is that after a whole, if you haven't applied proper prep-routine (be cream, or some type of moisturizing serum like base) it can "set in" and appear blotchy. To avoid this I make sure to apply pre-make up products, wait for it to dry completely, and then apply foundation super evenly. Blot face afterwards to avoid excess moisture/oils and you will have a perfect application :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Schmanna22 on 6/12/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by Schmanna22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I would like to preface this by saying that I'm not generally a fan of Too Faced, as I find (along with Benefit) their packaging and marketing to be too kitschy and twee for my liking. That's just a preference, and when you're paying these kinds of prices for mid to high end makeup, I think it matters.

Having said that, I love this bronzer. I bought it in the small size that came with a travel brush for ten bucks from Sephora on a whim, and holy smokes, this is my HG. I suppose this is supposed to be for darker skinned people, but it looks fantastic on my NC20 skin. No orangey effect, it just looks like the sun hit me in all the right places. It's pigmented, but not overly so, and it just compliments the face and makes me look like a slightly tanned goddess.

I could care less about the chocolate scent, but if you're wondering if it really smells like cocoa, it does. Not a selling point for me, but not enough to deter me from using and loving this awesome product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupdiva224 on 6/10/2014 4:38:00 AM more reviews by makeupdiva224

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Smells so good and it is so pigmented. Love it, its nice and matte

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* april1976 on 6/10/2014 2:48:00 AM more reviews by april1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just need to say it aloud: "I miss Aqua Bunny Bronzer from Too Faced!!"

Okay, got that out. Because I loved Aqua Bunny so much I decided to try the Chocolate Soleil. I was looking for more of a matte bronzer and this fit the bill. It has a nice (minimal) cocoa powder scent. It's sweet without being disturbingly sweet.

I find that the coverage is buildable and I appreciate that as I'm a olive-skinned girl who, despite wearing SPF daily like it's my job, gets tan in the sun. Another thing I noticed is that it's not chalky like some bronzers.

I would say the best thing (which is probably a weirdo thing to say) is that it doesn't make me look 'dirty'. A few other department store matte bronzers make me feel like Pig Pen. For instance, Benefit Hoola made me look like I was heading to a callback for Les Mis, auditioning for the part of a street urchin.

Nonetheless, this is not orange, but I detect something in the bronzy color that makes it more 'I just spent a day at the beach' versus 'I just did some major dumpster diving.'

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Bronzers products