Cover Girl • Outlast Lipstain - 420 Sassy Mauve • Lips

rated 3.4(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kmciolli on 3/26/2013 12:47:00 AM more reviews by kmciolli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like Cover Girl Outlast Lipstain. The colors are very wearable and they are long lasting.

Sassy Mauve is kind of a darker rose color. It's very wearable and good for everyday.

Like with all lip stains, I would recommend layering balm over this so your lips don't get dried out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 4815162342 on 7/12/2012 8:11:00 PM more reviews by 4815162342

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

You have to be careful when you buy them because the colors tend to be too strong. It applies nicely and doesn't dry my lips out too much. It's a good product that lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 astrick on 3/4/2012 10:55:00 PM more reviews by astrick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love the CoverGirl lip stains, but you do have to be careful with their colors (some are WAY too intense). This is a very nice cool option. I use 2 coats, then a gloss or balm. Lasts nicely, not too drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 discoredhd on 2/24/2012 10:17:00 PM more reviews by discoredhd

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I like semi-neutral colors and this does it for me with a tiny bit of pink. Like the product, it isn't drying. I'll buy it again. It does what it says it will-lasts. I do put a gloss on over top though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 skclair on 10/8/2011 10:33:00 PM more reviews by skclair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

While I love the colour of #420 CG Outlast Lipstain, I have experienced difficulties applying it. The first 2-3 times, the felt-tip format was great, but it is already fuzzed out. It also seems to be drying out and has become increasingly difficult to apply. I donít know if it is a quality issue or a problem with the applicator (felt-tip), but I do really love the colour. It is just mediocre in terms of the long-lasting factor, but the colour is the big plus for me. I hope CG revamps the delivery method! Until then, I will not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cassy2790 on 4/15/2011 2:05:00 AM more reviews by cassy2790

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted something that would stay on for a long period of time while I was at work and I wouldn't have to touch up throughout the day. I talked to a lady at Shoppers Drug Mart and she said that my best bet would be to go with a lip stain instead of a long wear lip stick so I took her advice and bought Cover Girls Outlast Lipstain in color 420 [Sassy Mauve.] I normally wear pink so I went with this color thinking it looked like a pinkish color that wasn't super bright. I have to say after trying out this product I do really enjoy it. It stays on for a good time period (I'd say about 10 hours or so) and I didn't have to reapply or touch up during my work period which was nice. I of course ate lunch and drank here and there so I'd say it's a pretty good product and it does what it says it's suppose to. One thing I don't like about it though is I thought the color wouldn't get so dark, but if you apply to many coats onto your lips it seems to go very dark. Some people at work mentioned how they loved my "red lips" yet it says it's suppose to be sassy mauve, not red. I would NOT buy this again because I just went to go use it after a couple months of not using it, and it completely dried up. What a waste of money. I would rather buy NYC 16 hr lip stain because it's way cheaper, lasts longer and has given me no problems.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rambow on 2/21/2011 2:38:00 AM more reviews by rambow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a lovely, sheer berry colour that's not tacky-bright, but does really pop on my pale skin.


My lips are not very dry or flaky -- if they were, I think this wouldn't be a great choice. But I have smooth lips and really dislike caky/waxy lipsticks, so I wanted to try something different. Combined with a really light lip balm (Chapstick with SPF 15) on top to make it harder to lick off the colour, it feels just moisturizing enough to not be uncomfortable.


Thing is, unless you let your lips completely dry out, this stain really does not last. But, on me, no lipstick lasts for very long anyhow -- the best I can do for longevity is use a liner. Putting the Chapstick on top helps a little bit, though.


I do like the felt-tip format, but I've also noticed that, like a felt-tip marker, the tip can get a bit fuzzed or parched out with only a few uses. Still usable, however, and still preferable to a lipstick.


It's the only lip stain I've tried so far. Apparently there are others that may last longer -- I'll experiment when this one's running out and see how it compares.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* three_black_cats on 11/17/2010 5:45:00 PM more reviews by three_black_cats

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried a couple of other shades of this product, and they were all way too neon or bright for the subtle look I usually go for. I kept trying them again and again, but all the shades were were too garish to be worn during daytime.


And then Cover Girl introduced this shade. It is perfect. A very mauve, soft pinkish hue, subtle and more neutral than the previous candy-neon shades that came before it, but it still can be built up to a more dramatic look. I didn't find it to be drying, but it doesn't add significant moisture to my lips. That doesn't matter to me, I'm more about the pigment than having shiny glossy lips.


This is one of those put-it-on press-your-lips-together and forget-about-it kind of lip color products. Low maintenance, hardly any fuss with application, and viola! My lips look tinted and there's no gloss or mess to migrate beyond my lip line. No need to touch up except after eating. The ultimate in low-effort lip color that makes your lips look like YOUR lips, but better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleViolet on 10/23/2010 7:50:00 PM more reviews by LittleViolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought a handful of these after using one; I was sure this would be a disco product within months of its introduction...lipstain pens just don't last very long with those magic marker felt tips! Not sure any other company has though of a good way to apply them though.

I love #420. I have pale, translucent skin that is a hard match for lip colors, and this is just my lip color but more opaque. I have uneven top lips so I use this to fill in my thinner side and it works AMAZINGly. I love this! I can see where people can find this to be drying. It can be. But I mainly use it to create a natural cupid's bow where I was genetically disregarded. So I think it is a keeper! Especially for the natural looking color. I bought the berry version because it looked amazing on my 1920's Flapper-esque friend but on me it looked like a clown. Maybe I can wear that one late at night when the lights are dimmed. This Plum one I can wear every day. Good staying power, although I don't color my whole mouth with it! I just outline the outside of it; there is no weird seam.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thecaitycat on 9/16/2010 7:58:00 PM more reviews by thecaitycat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is actually one of my favorite lip colors. Lipstick is usually a disaster for me because it's gone within a couple of hours. Two step colorstay lip color disappears unevenly on my lips, so by lunch time my lip color is gone in little patches. This lipstain is great because the color doesn't deteriorate too quickly and it's less of a mess than lipstick. I just line my lips, fill them in, and let the stain dry before putting some lip balm over it. I need to re-apply it at lunch, but I don't get the flakiness of liquid colorstay or the hassle of getting my lipstick just right.


It's a tad drying on my lips, but I don't get the stinging sensation that some people seem to get. Also, I wish the color weren't so bright. It's still a great color on me and I'll continue to use/buy it, but I wanted something more like the actual tube!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Lips products