The Body Shop • Mango Whip Body Lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Milicica on 7/21/2014 8:56:00 AM more reviews by Milicica

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a lotion,this could pass for summer use as it's not too heavy. However I don't find it very moisturising either,and the smell is just WAY too strong. And the worst part,after a long day I feel like it becomes sour. Big waste of money for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sophasaurus93 on 5/13/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Sophasaurus93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this! I find some of the butters can be a little bit heavy and I feel like they take too long to fully soak in. This is lovely and light but still leaves your skin feeling really hydrated and smooth. Plus the smell is so good i can't stop sniffing it after I've used it! Highly recommend this product :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TurtleMoon on 12/23/2013 7:41:00 AM more reviews by TurtleMoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Got this as a travel size as part of The Body Shop's 2013 advent calendar. It's ok, but there are a number of things which would stop me from purchasing a full-sized version of it. Firstly, it's not that moisturising; I found I had to use quite a lot of product to see any noticeable difference to my skin. Secondly, although I liked the scent of this when it was in the bottle, once applied it was quite overpowering and made me smell like mango yoghurt. And although I like mango yoghurt to eat, I'm not so keen on smelling like it all day. Finally, much like a lot of The Body Shop's products, this has got parabens in it - Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben and Isobutylparaben - all of which are listed in the ingredients as 'preservatives'. I'm not sure why it needs so many of them, especially when you consider their Olive Body Butter (one of my faves) has only two and they're quite low down on the list of ingredients.

Overall it was nice to try this, but I'm glad I got the travel sized version and not the full-sized, as I doubt I would have finished using it otherwise.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hcpp on 11/23/2013 2:16:00 AM more reviews by hcpp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I really like this product!

My skin is super sensitive and difficult to deal with. I get rashes and eczema breakout really easily, and top to it off, I work in an air-conditioned office with air that constantly dries out my skin. Religious moisturization is a must! And not only do I have to find a lotion that does not irritate my skin, it also has to be 1. able to soothe my skin when I do get eczema breakouts 2. moisturizing enough, but also suitable for Singapore's humid climate.

This one does the trick. (Though if you have troublesome skin I really suggest testing it first. Not all eczema conditions are the same, so please don't take my word for it!)

This is my favourite scent in The Body Shop's Body Lotion range, in my opinion. (I wanted to get the Strawberry one but it smelled fake.. not very pleasant)

The lotion is on the pricey side though, at more than SGD10 for only 250ml.

I reckon i'd continue using this until I find another lotion that caters to all my (troublesome) skin needs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sugaryspice82 on 5/4/2013 10:57:00 PM more reviews by sugaryspice82

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in the small travel size bottle, I got it as a gift, and it's ok. It smells good, like fresh mangoes, and moisturizes my skin pretty well. However, I did have some issues with this. I read the ingredient list, and I was shocked at the amount of parabens in this. It had 5 parabens in it! If you don't know what parabens are, they are preservatives put in body and beauty products, that help give them a longer shelf life. However, they are also carcinogenic, and can cause cancer if absorbed through the skin in high amounts. Though, seeing how almost every lotion on the market has at least one paraben, I might use a lotion with one or two parabens. However 5 parabens is just too much. Also, the small travel size bottle is horrible, it's hard to squeeze the product through. Definitely not buying it for myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 an0uck on 1/25/2012 3:24:00 AM more reviews by an0uck

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Looks like a solid cream but feels very watery when you first rub it onto your skin. This feeling soon leaves and then it becomes greasy and sticky. Remained sticky for a while, and skin felt thick rather than soft.
The scent is not subtle - very plasticy, sharp floral mixed with an overly sweet tropical fruit smell.
I recieved this in a set as a gift, and the 60ml bottle was terrible. It quickly buckled in the middle from squeezing to get the product out, and doesn't flow out of the bottle properly.
Overall I was surprised at how bad it was. I don't shop at the Body Shop but I thought it was meant to be a natural shop. But reading the ingredients all I saw were parabens, talc, glycerine, alcohols, artificial colours, artificial fragrances and other chemicals.
Seeing as it says 'for very dry skin' on the label, I don't know if this would work. If you had such a problem, I'd be looking for a medical moisturiser with active ingredients, as the ingredients list to me looks like it could be pretty irritating to anyone with a skin condition.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ic3fall on 11/7/2011 9:51:00 AM more reviews by ic3fall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I only used this product twice and my parents have been been giving VERY negative feedback. They say it stinks up the entire house. What this means is that the smell is overpoweringly STRONG. My friend and I bought the same product and she said houseflies actually buzzed around her when she applied this product. I usually like the mango scent, which is why I bought this in the first place, but the smell is really TOO pungent. I live in a 2-storey apartment and if my dad says he can smell the product from downstairs I think that speaks a lot for the smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lara_L on 8/28/2011 1:42:00 AM more reviews by Lara_L

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was so impressed with this product! I purchased it because of the mango scent, and at the time I was a little worried that the label says its for very dry skin, but it didn't disapoint. It is very rich but absorbs straight away, without leaving any residue. It's only early days, and I hope it doesn't make me break out, but I'm giving it two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoconutCutie on 6/15/2011 12:26:00 PM more reviews by CoconutCutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Best. Lotion. Ever. I love this stuff. It's velvety on the skin, smells delicious and the moisturization lasts a long time. Unlike what I found with the butter, this is not greasy and all and absorbs quickly. A fabulous summer lotion, maybe using the butter in the winter on especially dry spots rather than all over. It's quite a bit stronger fragrance-wise than the butter, as someone mentioned, but it smells awesome and everyone I know likes it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 euristocrat on 5/23/2011 7:45:00 AM more reviews by euristocrat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really suprised that this has only received a few reviews. Let me start by saying that I purchased this when I bought a couple of the travel-size minis to take on a weekend away. Normally, I prefer heavier lotions; TBS Cocoa and Coconut Body Butters are staples of mine. However, it was going to be an active weekend and I didn't have the space to cart around big tubs, the time to wait for my lotion to absorb and I felt like trying something new. This smells absolutely gorgeous and moisturises well considering it's so lightweight. I also like the pump packaging, which is attractive and practical. The price is good (more economical that the Body Butter) at 8.00 per 250ml but I think this is reflected in the quality of the 'Whips' (sounds kinky!); the ingredients aren't as nice as those in the Body Butters. Also, the price may be lower because you need more product to moisturise - I used this up very quickly. An important thing to note is that it smells quite different from the Mango Body Butter so my advice is not to buy this assuming that it will smell the same. I much, much prefer the smell of the Whip; lovely and fruity for the summer. In my opinion, for what it's worth, this smells less creamy than the Body Butter and more true to the fruit of a mango. Overall, I think it's a lovely lightweight lotion for warmer months. I will repurchase during the summer but can't see myself reaching for it in the winter. Ingredients:

Aqua (Water) (Solvent/Diluent), Helianthus annuus (Sunflower Seed Oil) (Emollient), Stearic Acid (Emulsifier), Talc (Absorbent/Bulking Agent), Glycerin (Humectant), Orbignya oleifera (Babassu Oil) (Emollient), Coco-Caprylate/Caprate (Emollient), Dicaprylyl Ether (Emollient), Mangifera indica (Mango (Mangifera Indica) Extract) (Natural Additive), Corn Starch Modified (Skin Conditioning Agent), Parfum (Fragrance), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Pentaerythrityl Distearate (Skin-conditioning Agent, Emollient.), Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer (Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer) (Emulsion Stabilizer), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Sodium Polyacrylate (Film Former/Viscosity Increasing Agent), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifier), Methylparaben (Preservative), PEG-100 Stearate (Surfactant), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Hexyl Cinnamal (Fragrance Ingredient), Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane (Avobenzone) (Sunscreen), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Butylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Propylparaben (Preservative), Isobutylparaben (Preservative), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Citral (Fragrance Ingredient), Geraniol (Fragrance Ingredient), CI 19140 (Colour), CI 15985 (Colour)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products