The Body Shop Mango Whip Body Lotion

3.5

15 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water) (Solvent/Diluent), Helianthus annuus (Sunflower Seed Oil) (Emollient), Stearic Acid (Emulsifier), Talc (Absorbent/Bulking Agent), Glycerin (Humectant), Orbignya oleifera (Babassu Oil) (Emollient), Coco-Caprylate/Caprate (Emollient), Dicaprylyl Ether (Emollient), Mangifera indica (Mango (Mangifera Indica) Extract) (Natural Additive), Corn Starch Modified (Skin Conditioning Agent), Parfum (Fragrance), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Pentaerythrityl Distearate (Skin-conditioning Agent, Emollient.), Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer (Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer) (Emulsion Stabilizer), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Sodium Polyacrylate (Film Former/Viscosity Increasing Agent), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifier), Methylparaben (Preservative), PEG-100 Stearate (Surfactant), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Hexyl Cinnamal (Fragrance Ingredient), Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane (Avobenzone) (Sunscreen), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Butylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Propylparaben (Preservative), Isobutylparaben (Preservative), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Citral (Fragrance Ingredient), Geraniol (Fragrance Ingredient), CI 19140 (Colour), CI 15985 (Colour)


on 3/23/2015 9:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a basic plastic-mango scented body lotion. Nothing outstanding about it. The smell is not that bad but it doesn't smell like fresh mangos at all and some coworker are convinced that this lotion smell like Play-doh... and I kind of agree with them! It's not really moisturizing either, it doesn't help my really dry hands and it's ok on my legs, but not enough for the winter.

If you like the smell and do not need a lot of moisture (like maybe heavy humid weather), then give it a try. If you're like me and have sensitive and dry skin, this will not be enough.



on 7/21/2014 8:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As a lotion,this could pass for summer use as it's not too heavy. However I don't find it very moisturising either,and the smell is just WAY too strong. And the worst part,after a long day I feel like it becomes sour. Big waste of money for me.


on 5/13/2014 11:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

LOVE this! I find some of the butters can be a little bit heavy and I feel like they take too long to fully soak in. This is lovely and light but still leaves your skin feeling really hydrated and smooth. Plus the smell is so good i can't stop sniffing it after I've used it! Highly recommend this product :)


on 12/23/2013 7:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Got this as a travel size as part of The Body Shop's 2013 advent calendar. It's ok, but there are a number of things which would stop me from purchasing a full-sized version of it. Firstly, it's not that moisturising; I found I had to use quite a lot of product to see any noticeable difference to my skin. Secondly, although I liked the scent of this when it was in the bottle, once applied it was quite overpowering and made me smell like mango yoghurt. And although I like mango yoghurt to eat, I'm not so keen on smelling like it all day. Finally, much like a lot of The Body Shop's products, this has got parabens in it - Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben and Isobutylparaben - all of which are listed in the ingredients as 'preservatives'. I'm not sure why it needs so many of them, especially when you consider their Olive Body Butter (one of my faves) has only two and they're quite low down on the list of ingredients.

Overall it was nice to try this, but I'm glad I got the travel sized version and not the full-sized, as I doubt I would have finished using it otherwise.


on 11/23/2013 2:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really like this product!

My skin is super sensitive and difficult to deal with. I get rashes and eczema breakout really easily, and top to it off, I work in an air-conditioned office with air that constantly dries out my skin. Religious moisturization is a must! And not only do I have to find a lotion that does not irritate my skin, it also has to be 1. able to soothe my skin when I do get eczema breakouts 2. moisturizing enough, but also suitable for Singapore's humid climate.

This one does the trick. (Though if you have troublesome skin I really suggest testing it first. Not all eczema conditions are the same, so please don't take my word for it!)

This is my favourite scent in The Body Shop's Body Lotion range, in my opinion. (I wanted to get the Strawberry one but it smelled fake.. not very pleasant)

The lotion is on the pricey side though, at more than SGD10 for only 250ml.

I reckon i'd continue using this until I find another lotion that caters to all my (troublesome) skin needs.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in the small travel size bottle, I got it as a gift, and it's ok. It smells good, like fresh mangoes, and moisturizes my skin pretty well. However, I did have some issues with this. I read the ingredient list, and I was shocked at the amount of parabens in this. It had 5 parabens in it! If you don't know what parabens are, they are preservatives put in body and beauty products, that help give them a longer shelf life. However, they are also carcinogenic, and can cause cancer if absorbed through the skin in high amounts. Though, seeing how almost every lotion on the market has at least one paraben, I might use a lotion with one or two parabens. However 5 parabens is just too much. Also, the small travel size bottle is horrible, it's hard to squeeze the product through. Definitely not buying it for myself.


on 1/25/2012 3:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Looks like a solid cream but feels very watery when you first rub it onto your skin. This feeling soon leaves and then it becomes greasy and sticky. Remained sticky for a while, and skin felt thick rather than soft.
The scent is not subtle - very plasticy, sharp floral mixed with an overly sweet tropical fruit smell.
I recieved this in a set as a gift, and the 60ml bottle was terrible. It quickly buckled in the middle from squeezing to get the product out, and doesn't flow out of the bottle properly.
Overall I was surprised at how bad it was. I don't shop at the Body Shop but I thought it was meant to be a natural shop. But reading the ingredients all I saw were parabens, talc, glycerine, alcohols, artificial colours, artificial fragrances and other chemicals.
Seeing as it says 'for very dry skin' on the label, I don't know if this would work. If you had such a problem, I'd be looking for a medical moisturiser with active ingredients, as the ingredients list to me looks like it could be pretty irritating to anyone with a skin condition.


on 11/7/2011 9:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I only used this product twice and my parents have been been giving VERY negative feedback. They say it stinks up the entire house. What this means is that the smell is overpoweringly STRONG. My friend and I bought the same product and she said houseflies actually buzzed around her when she applied this product. I usually like the mango scent, which is why I bought this in the first place, but the smell is really TOO pungent. I live in a 2-storey apartment and if my dad says he can smell the product from downstairs I think that speaks a lot for the smell.


on 8/28/2011 1:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was so impressed with this product! I purchased it because of the mango scent, and at the time I was a little worried that the label says its for very dry skin, but it didn't disapoint. It is very rich but absorbs straight away, without leaving any residue. It's only early days, and I hope it doesn't make me break out, but I'm giving it two thumbs up!


on 6/15/2011 12:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Best. Lotion. Ever. I love this stuff. It's velvety on the skin, smells delicious and the moisturization lasts a long time. Unlike what I found with the butter, this is not greasy and all and absorbs quickly. A fabulous summer lotion, maybe using the butter in the winter on especially dry spots rather than all over. It's quite a bit stronger fragrance-wise than the butter, as someone mentioned, but it smells awesome and everyone I know likes it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated The Body Shop Products

image

Facial Buffer

31 reviews
Back to Top