China Glaze Platinum Silver

3.8

14 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This was okay. I found it kind of streaky even after applying 3 coats. It dries very slowly, but it is still a beautiful color! I got this for $5 at my local Sally's.



on 9/28/2012 10:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I happen to love this color. I am fairly pale and this color is flattering against my skin tone. I had been wanting to find a nice silver. Something that isn't too dark or shimmery. This fit the bill. This color isn't a dark silver but it also isn't too light. It is quite shiny and very metallic. It's a nice formula but was a bit tricky to apply since the metallic quality tends to show crooked brush strokes. I applied two coats and it was perfectly opaque (also used CND Stickey base coat and Orly Sec 'n' Dry top coat). It's been four days and so far I only have minor tip wear. I will mention that it did seem to take a fairly long time to fully dry. Even with the Orly top coat I managed to get several dings in my polish even about eight or more hours after application. Overall, I love the color and am satisfied with its staying power.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this polish hoping it would look like the formula in the bottle. Unfortunately, it is not as chrome-like as it appears. Still good if you want a basic silver, but it does not reflect back at all.


on 11/19/2011 9:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

In my opinion this is the best silver polish for me to date. I have to use 3 coats and I still get streaks and they are still visible when completely dried but I've never had a silver polish be so opaque. All the ones I've tried are way too sheer. I love the way it looks on my nails, like someone else mentioned it looks like a silver sharpie! I would buy this again.


on 8/12/2011 9:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a complicated polish! To get decent results, aim for coverage on the first coat by making sure that you don't have too little or too much polish on the brush. Try to even out the streaks in the metallic pigment on the second coat. Don't be afraid to run the brush over your nail a few times on the second coat even after you've covered it in color; this will help to even out the streaks. The streaks disappear a little as it dries. The formula is not bad, but the pigment is just a tough one to work with. I'll definitely use the bottle I have, but would not buy another when it's empty. I think I'll look for a silver with metallic flecks nexts time instead of Platinum Silver's liquid metal look.


on 6/20/2011 12:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

this nail polish is very much a silver sharpie silver, if your into that youll love this. for me this is a take it or leave it polish, i find it looks sort of bland on the nail and not very shiny silver, also it is very hard to get a nice even colour, the other reviews dissagree but i found it to have not the greatest ocnsistency and is horrible for smudging and bed marks because it is thick so it takes ages to dry.


on 1/25/2011 8:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This nail polish is a very beautiful chrome-metallic silver. I did experience streaks with one coat, but after 2 coats the streaks diminished. After applying a coat of Seche Vite I have not experienced any smudging or drying problems like some reviews I have read for this polish. This would be an awesome polish to have as a base color for image stamping (Konad or fauxnad). I would buy it again, just not anytime soon, I am trying to find the best silver polish for me. This one will do the trick for now. =)


on 4/28/2010 4:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I do like this silver polish, but is very simulair to Millennium. overall i would certainly buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2010 3:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE silver nail polish and am always searching for the perfect one! So when I learned about China Glaze and read all the glowing reviews on youtube I was anxious to check them out. Platinum Silver was the very first polish I bought from them and BOY was I disappointed!! Application was horrendous! It was really stringy and I had major issues with bald spots; if I tried to correct them it just made them worse! Once I finally got it on it looked so streaky and brush-stroky... AND it never dried!! 24 hours later in the gym I scraped a few nails against a gnarled metal barbell and it left major dents and scratches in the polish! See Scrangies post: http://www.scrangie.com/2008/06/silver-swatches-part-1.html Forth pic down; she had similar issues. Wish I had seen her post before purchasing!! At least I found a BUNCH more BETTER silvers on her post and have since purchased them! I've since added Seche Restore to CG PS but haven't tried it out yet to see if it helped. I've now got way to many other silver polishes I'd rather use instead!!


on 11/25/2009 10:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the perfect metallic platinum silver! It does not give me streaks at all. It did take 3 coats, but I'm a perfectionist when it comes to nail polish. I would totally purchase again, and I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a metallic silver.




Top Rated China Glaze Products

image

Dorothy Who?

33 reviews
image

Ruby Pumps

386 reviews
image

Emerald Sparkle

67 reviews
image

Frostbite

69 reviews
Back to Top