OPI • Hawaiian Orchid • Polishes

rated 3.9(81 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 AMBERROSE2885 on 1/12/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by AMBERROSE2885

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful color. I did 3 coats (because I had time) and it looks great. I've done two coats of this color before, too, and I liked it as well.

Satisfied!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 knitsnbytes on 8/21/2013 7:10:00 AM more reviews by knitsnbytes

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This did not blow me away. It's a sheer coral pink with lavender shimmer, but the lavender is very faint. If you go online, you often see very lavender pictures of this polish but I assure you, it's more of a coral pink. The duochrome shimmer is bluish-lavender but it hardly shows up. This is a good base for a French manicure or a work appropriate polish but it didn't send me over the moon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lavalon on 9/14/2012 11:11:00 AM more reviews by lavalon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Mmmm, what a classy shade of pink! It's got a rather understated holographic sheen to it that I love. I've got cool toned, very pale skin and this polish works magic with it. It does go on a little sheerly, but I got around that problem by applying as a base coat Sally Hansen's Color Quick Fast Dry Nail Color Pen in 05, Pink Chrome. After the pink chrome, I simply applied two coats of the Hawaiian Orchid, and Voilą! Perfect opaque pink.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sizza911 on 8/12/2012 8:19:00 PM more reviews by sizza911

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This color is just--OK. It's not bad, but considering how many pink nail polishes there are out there, I was expecting a little more from OPI. I saw flashes of irredescence in the bottle under store lighting and if this polish contained more I would be in love with it. I see a little bit of shimmer under bright sunlight but that's about. I have pink undertones in my skin, I'm very fair (NW15) in MAC and this polish just sort of disappears on my nails. I needed 3 coats to be opaque. It's a nice subtle color that is good for work for me but I won't be reaching for it when I want a pretty color to wear for a night out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Olgtat on 7/1/2012 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Olgtat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Too sheer, different on nails than in the bottle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariannepilgaard on 4/24/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by mariannepilgaard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favourite colour for french manicure. It is a pink with a bit of an edge to it which makes it more interesting. It has a bit of shimmer which looks a bit cooler, however it works surprisingly well with my warn skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nicolegryne on 12/13/2011 4:25:00 AM more reviews by nicolegryne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I see why i had to drive to two stores to get this beautiful polish. It looks fantastic on my NC50 skin. I have been looking for a neutral pink for everyday wear, and I found it in this. It's perfect! Not too much, and doesn't look like a dirty pink. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 3timesalady on 6/24/2011 4:17:00 PM more reviews by 3timesalady

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful pale pinky-salmon with flashes of violet to keep it from being a Plain Jane. Goes on like a *dream*. Not streaky at all; the reviews that complain it is puzzle me; maybe a bad batch somewhere in the past? Anyway, this is a classic understated look that works well on my warm, medium skintone. And I do love the complexity of the holographic tendencies that keep it from being boring. Viva la OPI! Love, love the gorgeous Hawaiian Orchid. Maybe I should take it on vacation...to where else, the Big Island! Your faithful reviewer, 3timesalady

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Triscuits on 5/18/2011 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Triscuits

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've had this polish for several years, and trying it out again I now remember why this color has been collecting dust among my nail polish collection.

This is a beautiful SHEER color probably meant to be used for french manicures, but despite the beautiful color and tone, it's a streaky nailpolish, so even for that use it's kind of worthless product, and needs a minimum of 2 coats to be noticably different than a bare nail with no polish at all. At 1 and 2 coats it's uneven and streaky, so I wouldn't even recommend it as a sheer polish for French manicures.

This would be a great color if was opaque, but it takes 3-4 coats to get the desired opaqueness and at least 4 coats to get rid of the streaking.

I wouldn't buy this exact product again, but I would buy this color again if and only if OPI fixed the streakiness problem and increased the opacity significantly.

But as the product is in it's current form, despite the beautiful color, I do not recommend it. Try it out you want to satisfy your curiosity to see how beautiful the color itself is, but see if you can satisfy that curiosity without wasting even a dime on it, somehow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 prettyeyelash on 5/1/2011 11:34:00 PM more reviews by prettyeyelash

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

:(
All I can say is, the google image for Hawaiian Orchid OPI that turned up as the first pic definitely does not match what I got in my bottle. I suppose it's the difference in lighting, or what, I'm not sure, but the pretty light soft pink is definitely not what I got.
I got some streaky weird pink polish with violet hues in the bottle that I could have gotten elsewhere with a much much lower price.
Maybe it's just not for me. :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products