Unlisted Brand • Kett Fixx Creme • Crème

rated 3.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 looopy on 6/21/2014 3:49:00 PM more reviews by looopy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation has been good to me!

It isn't without it's downfalls, but I am happy with it. As a hapa, it's really difficult for me to find a color match and I tend to have to mix a bunch of colors to get what I need. However, if I don't use an oil reducing spray then it does make me feel oily but the coverage and color matching can't be beat.

It might be too much for others but I tend to grab it often. I use the neutral palette and I am a mix of N3 and N5 on my forehead and N3 and N1 everywhere else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mei_bee on 11/25/2013 4:07:00 AM more reviews by mei_bee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Kett Fixx Creme is a water-resistant wax-based stage foundation that photographs very well. Excellent Longevity. Highly recommend powdering over it for best results. Its potential might be wasted in the hands of casual cosmetics consumers who just want to use a no-fuss medium-coverage tinted moisturizer and run out the door -- if that sounds like your face routine, Kett Fixx Creme is NOT ideal for you.

Pigmentation: You will probably have to mix to get your shade. I use N1 with a bit of R1. Yes, the pigmentation is good.

Coverage: Level of coverage is adjustable, but I recommend that you don't try to build it up really high because that's not Kett Creme's bailiwick. It is less prone to flattening/creating a mask out someone's features than many others in the wax-foundation family; if applied with a damp blender you will not be forced to paint your features back on to avoid looking like Data from Star Trek. If you are a make-up artist, I would VERY highly recommend this as go-to for brides. It has a "Perfectly Natural" look in real life and especially on camera because it allows just the right amount of actual skin to show through coverage. I was wearing Kett Fixx Creme when I got my passport pictures taken. It concealed a noticeable scar above my lip ( I do not take special care to conceal my scarred lip), but let some of my freckles through. It is a weird foundation, in that respect.

Texture: Blends very well. Some people may not like the firm texture in pan. I find that unless I prime (I've been using Hourglass Mineral Primer) the area under my eyes, it settles into fine lines there, emphasizing them. People with more mature skin will likely find thorough moisturizing and priming to be absolutely necessary prior to application. I know that many people may not like working with this foundation consequently. Some people may dislike the texture on their skin. I definitely "feel" it on my skin, though I find it light for a wax foundation.

Finish: Unique. Sublime. Paradoxical. Kett Fixx Creme's standout category. It is slightly luminous at certain angles yet slightly matte at others. Dewy and not dewy. Sheer but concealing. Ephemeral yet substantial. Magical and addictive.

Overall:

Amazing finish, easily provides level of coverage most will find adequate yet natural, but some textural issues deprive Kett Fixx Creme of perfection (settling into fine lines if you do not prime/moisturize). It is, nevertheless, my favorite foundation at the moment.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaTristesseDuRoi on 4/19/2013 6:43:00 PM more reviews by LaTristesseDuRoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I so wanted this product to live up to its hype and promises, but sadly after extensive attempts to get this to work for me, I've got to consign it to my 'unusable' heap. If for no other reason (but there are other reasons!), this would be because it disintegrates big time after only a few hours of wear, and this is coming from someone who doesn't even have oily skin (I shudder to think of how this would behave on oilier skin types). Worse, it breaks down in a most patchy, streaky, uneven manner which has left me shocked and aghast at just how incredibly bad it looked when I've looked in the mirror at lunchtime. It's hands down the worst foundation I've ever tried in this respect. And this is with a primer, a good powder and fixing spray on non-oily skin! Looking more closely, I repeatedly noticed that it had not just broken down, but completely (and I mean completely) rubbed off along my jaw line and the lower part of my chin where my skin is in occasional contact with my scarf. The stuff claims to be waterproof but I can't imagine how this could possibly be the case - even very gentle nose-blowing, done with the lightest and most delicate of touches, takes the stuff right off. A well-known makeup artist whose advice I rate very highly says in a YouTube video that this stuff won't come off... sorry, but I found that it won't stay on for love or money! Looking at the reviews of comparable professional HD cream foundations it would seem that this is a flaw common to all or most of them, so it appears to be symptomatic of the unique formulations of these products, which were of course formulated to be applied by a professional makeup artist under the controlled conditions of a photo shoot or some such, and not to withstand a real life working day in London humidity.

The above point about it not staying on stems from the fact that the stuff never really dries or sets, which means that using it without setting powder as well as fixing spray is going to be a non-starter, so for those of you who prefer not to use powder, I'd stop reading here and start looking at other options. It also renders impossible the use of any type of cream product on the top of this foundation, such as cream blush or illuminator, as dabbing it on top of the Kett takes the Kett right off, no matter how feather-lightly you do it.

What about pure aesthetics, immediately after application? Perhaps this foundation just doesn't work with my skin chemistry, but I found it to be very obvious and visible on the skin, and to dramatically magnify my (admittedly already large) pores. Did it look like skin, as has been asserted? Hell no, it looked like a bad foundation job, and this is after at least 10 or 15 minutes of meticulous blending (I tried a damp sponge, a stippling brush, a flat kabuki brush, a rounded kabuki brush, my fingers...), and that was with relatively light coverage; attempts to build up the coverage in the localised areas where I need it naturally exacerbated this. Again, as it has worked well for others I suppose this is just down to my own skin chemistry, but if it fails so colossally to work for me then it will surely do so for plenty of others as well, so I think it's worth pointing out that this seems to be very much a love-it-or-hate-it, hit-or-miss product.

Shade notes: I'm about a NW15 and whilst N1 looked perfect in the pan it turned out to be far, far too light on my skin - this product seems to look much darker in the pan than it does on the skin. I ended up having to mix N1 and N3 (which is a big step up from N1 in terms of shade, there being no N2) to achieve a NW15ish shade. I would imagine that N1 must approximate NW10, whilst I think N3 must be beyond NW20, which is territory I'm unfamiliar with....!

Other purchasing notes: contrary to what I was thinking, the refills that are available don't appear to work out to be cheaper than the full size. Whilst they're about half the price of the full size, they are also roughly half the size, so don't represent cost efficiency for the non-professional user.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bgon on 4/9/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by bgon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i've bought n1 and n3 and i have to mix the colors to find the suitable shade. After reading revews I was so so excited when i got these foudations. And I'm so much disappointed now :( It's not good for my sensitive problematic skin. It goes off really quickly , it makes my face look very cakey after about 2 hours of wearing. Don't really know.. I've tried to apply it with the beauty blender and foundation brush and none of this works. Mabe I'm doing something wrong with application... really horrible for me :(

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vibrant77 on 1/1/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by Vibrant77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I previously bought the liquid Hydro Kett 05 and decided on giving the creme a whirl for the winter weather.
It certainly is not a creamy formula, but I swirl my brush in the compact and apply onto my face. A little goes a long way and the staying power is impressive. It feels light and barely there on the skin, yet makes my visible-pored skin almost flawless. Im happy with my purchase for sure. I think given the pricetag, Ill reserve it for going out or if taking pictures. Otherwise, Ill use my drugstore foundation for work. If you have a hard to match skintone, no worries. Its so blendable. My trick was to order the Fixx Creme in 05 and a sample size Hydro Foundation 07 to mix shades, especially when the weather gets warmer and my olive skin gets more tanned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lole_34 on 10/15/2012 5:22:00 PM more reviews by lole_34

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Kett is my fav HD cream. Its a little harder to work with then other cremes but its has good staying power on the skin. The color selection is horrible so plan on getting 2 colors and mixing. I am around a NC15 and use O1 and N3. Ketts N line still runs a tad yellow to me. I use these colors to contour my face then blend all together with a buffing brush. Since this takes a bit of time, its not my everyday foundation look. I use this when I want to feel pretty and dynamic. Since between the 2 colors and the slightly dewy finish I feel it makes my skin look alive. It is harder to get out of the pan so I would not recommend using a sponge or beauty blender (might rip the sponge). I would only used a sponge once it was already on the face. The packaging is horrible, the only way to get the smaller size is to get the refill pans. I found the these pans fit into smash box soft light and ben nye eyeshadow containers really well (had the containers left over from depotting). All and all this is my fav foundation of the moment.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shycho on 9/14/2012 12:13:00 PM more reviews by shycho

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Medium Tan Asian, yellow undertones
Mac Foundation Shade NC35, C4
Combination Skin, oily at t-zone & dry at cheeks

This is from now on, my HG foundation! I got the foundation in shade O5 since I have quite yellow undertones, but then think the N5 might have been okay too. I couldn't decide between the O3 and O5 for the longest time ever, since I live in Singapore and the only way I can purchase this is through the internet, but came to getting O5 after a loooooong research. I feel that the shade O5 might be a bit dark for me, but then think it would be much better than using a lighter shade for my skin, since I hate people that wear foundation lighter, so their face and body don't match... The O5 just seems darker I think, because it has a very olive or yellow undertone to it, which might make the product seem quite muddy, but once I apply it to my face, it work brilliantly! I love wearing this when I need a long wear foundation that doesn't come off with water or sweat. I do always blot it with a powder so that it stays even longer. Overall, I guess I could say it's just the best foundation I've ever used.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JoieDeVlvre on 4/27/2012 7:50:00 PM more reviews by JoieDeVlvre

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on a professional foundation craze since IMATS 2011, I am also reviewing RCMA, Graftobian, Mehron. ( haven't tried cinema secrets or mud yet but intend to soon). you can read my reviews if you're interested.
I do believe that professional foundation brands are superior to commercial brands. With that said:
Kett cream foundation the best foundation I've tried...ever...period!
Full coverage but looks like skin, not overly matte nor dewey, just like skin...can't come up with a better explanation than that! Looks perfect in photography, very HD. In fact, I recently had a professional photo shoot for which I have been impatietly waiting for over a year.  I actually bought all the professional foundations to try before the shoot and pick the best one. I ended up using Kett, and will post pics as soon as the photographer sends them to me.
Application: I  apply it with a damp beauty blender and then blend into my skin. It is a cream foundation but not the moistest of creams. I would compare it to the texture of butter which has been put in the freezer for 30 mins, so it's a cream but on the stiffer side so it requires a little bit of skill and effort to blend it ( totally worth it in the end though)
I set it with Kett Sett transluscent blot powder ( best powder I've ever tried).
Longevity: it lasts until I take it off at night with the rest of my make up.
It doesn't get ruined or effected by humidity, rain, heat or any other NYC weather forecast. It also doesn't transfer or rub off on clothes, which is so important.
Shades: I matched myself at IMATS. Their selection of shades was extensive. From the palest to the darkest. Yellow/pink/olive skin tones ( I would be surprised if someone was unable to find a matching shade from what I saw).

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ruskapunkkari on 4/21/2012 9:54:00 AM more reviews by ruskapunkkari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I ordered O3 which is a shade too dark for me but nevertheless it hasn't kept me from using it. I've found this foundation to go quite smoothly and the shade gives my skin a tan yet natural glow. You can't tell that I'm using a darker shade because the foundation doesn't just lay on top of my skin but it's part of it, if you get my gist. So picking a darker shade was quite a happy accident.


The coverage is buildable but like always with these kind of products you have to layer it carefully otherwise it will look cakey and like it's sitting on top of your skin. Usually I just put a sheer layer to even out my skin tone and then use Ben Nye's concealer to hide the blemishes. I would recommend setting it with powder. I've used Illamasquas pressed powder and I've found it to work well with this foundation. I have quite big pores on my cheeks and I feel like the FIXX makes them a no issue. It doesn't hide them but It doesn't accentuate them either. Something to note, even after building it to near full coverage it still doesn't feel on my skin.


Be warned though, if you have an oily skin or your skin shines from moisture this foundation might slip and slide and not stick to your skin. Also as your skin gets oilier throughout the day it will shine through. I think this might work best for my winter to early spring skin. The further we get in spring the less I'll probably use it but when the winter comes I'm sure I pick this up again.


Overall a good solid foundation that requires a bit work. I'm getting a bit overhyped vibe from it. Nevertheless, I would buy another one and I would recommend it to my friends.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VeroniqueDubois on 2/5/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by VeroniqueDubois

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have better luck with Kett's Hydro Foundation. It could just be that Fixx Creme is not suited to my skin-type and works better on those with oilier skin.


I got the Fixx Creme in N3 (was told by Kett that this would match best with the 03 Olive Hydro Foundation). The N3 Fixx Creme is too orange for my caucasian skin though, and is quite a bit darker and more orange than the 03 Olive Hydro Foundation.


Licorice root extract is one of the ingredients in Fixx Creme. This gives it an odour that the Hydro Foundation does not have. On me, Fixx Creme emphasizes any dry skin or fine lines. The Hydro Foundation doesn't have any of these drawbacks. If a person needs a scent-free product and one that is more moisturizing, my recommendation would be Hydro Foundation over Fixx Creme.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Crème products