L'Oreal • HiP loose kohl eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(68 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tlee on 2/15/2011 5:11:00 PM more reviews by Tlee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

HG HG HG !! And apparently discontinued, so I stocked up.

I wear this is Black, by laying it on my waterline and then blinking. No need to swipe. The rubber tip curls if you try to jam it in there. Knock the side of the jar and shake it to keep the powder loose. And get the extra off the applicator before you head for your eye or you'll have fall out AND raccoon eyes.

I have gotten rid of all my pencils and gels and whatnot. A perfect waterline takes me 20 seconds, for both eyes, and looks mysterious and yet natural. I don't even wear mascara most days. This is enough.

Hooray!

BTW, the Guerlain colors aren't nearly as good, for me. I have this is black and burgundy and teal, and the Guerlain in Mirage. Dark grey (this, in black) is best for my grey/green eyes. The rest are for playing with.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RaeRae2 on 1/31/2011 11:05:00 AM more reviews by RaeRae2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I would have never bought these at full price just because I'm so darned cheap...ahem....I mean frugal :-) But they were on clearance at Walgreens for $2.99 each. I bought the Teal and the Burgundy. I actually like them a lot! They are strongly pigmented so a little goes a long way. The consistency is nice and it is easy to apply to moisturized or primed lids. Yes there is some fall out, but after all this is a loose powder product so it's hard to avoid that completely. The little flecks are very easy to clean up. The applicator is a hard felt wand and it could be a little softer and fluffier to be perfect. But with the harder, pointer applicator, you can make very fine, precise lines. This is easy to wash off using a gentle cleanser and I don't have any problems with smearing or smudging during the day. I would buy these again and I'll keep looking for a sale on the other colors to complete the set.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* normaestrada19 on 1/24/2011 10:50:00 PM more reviews by normaestrada19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been waiting to write this review since I really, really wanted to test this product out for several weeks. Well verdict is in boys and girls and this is by far the longest lasting 'kohl' for my waterline. This has lasted through my many nights of not taking off my eye makeup, drunken weekends and several hot showers. Most products on my waterline do not last more than an hour, exception would be MAC's liquidlast liner, but this is not starting to fade till about 5-8 hours into my day, to me this is most fantastic news. I know most people think 10-11 bucks is pretty hefty for a DS brand, BUT there is nothing else in the DS market like it. The one other product that is comparable is sold by Sephora and runs about 35 bucks! I own all the colors with the exception of the gold and brown. Don't care for the gold, but am looking to add the brown to my collection. One more thing I would like to add is that when these colors fade from your waterline they fade into your lashline giving you an ever so gorgeous, subtle smokey look. I would not use this for the upper lashline, only for the waterline and lower lashline. I just think it would be too much fall out if used on top lashline. Hope these don't get discontinued since I would repurchase in a heartbeat and you really do get tons of product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ineptinmate on 1/20/2011 8:41:00 PM more reviews by ineptinmate

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I say that I would purchase this again because I bought it for a little more than $2 at my local drug store. It was on clearence and I have been trying out different lining techniques. I have to admit that I didn't know it was a powder to begin with. I tried the black and had some powder residue on my cheeks. Wondered what the hell that was. I love the internet. I learned more about this product and the best ways to apply it. Now I love it. It really makes my eyes pop. The next day I went back and bought whatever other colors they had left (a navy blue and a plum). I only use it when I am "doin' it up" (which is sadly not that frequently).
I really don't think I would have even tried it if it was full price. I am glad I was able to try it cheaply. I don't think I would buy it at full price either. Maybe- to treat myself. I think it's pretty unique when it comes to drug store makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hautechic on 1/8/2011 12:56:00 AM more reviews by hautechic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not a fan. I feel like I get too much fallout with this liner. It's very powdery, and doesn't stay on long enough for me. I got it on sale for less than $2, so it's not a great loss. I will hang onto it, and use it on occassion, but I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mzb86 on 1/5/2011 10:05:00 AM more reviews by mzb86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i got this sincei like loreal eye makeup but i liked this one a lot until the tip broke off and i couldnt use the product anymore, it broke off like after the first 3 weeks of usage. it gave my eyes a pretty look but i hate the fact that the prodcut has a lot of fall out!!! i mean i tried it out the first time and a lot fell on my cheek when i was applying it was horrbile since i had to reapply my foundation to cover it up, beause of the fallout i would never buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carrasco on 12/3/2010 5:20:00 PM more reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product as an extra with a purchase from Allcosmeticswholesale.com and threw it into my eyeliner cup and never really thought about it. The color I got was bergundy and although I have no other colors like it, I HATE it. I have been playing around with it the last few days just to change up my look and have fun with shades of shadow and liner I do not normally use. I also figured bergundy is a great holiday color. First, when applying I get tremendous fallout which then smears across my cheeks when I try to remove it. Second, after several hours of wear I see a transfer line on my lid. Third, it tends to smudge quite easy leaving me looking like I have a black eye. I am glad I never forked out the money for this, what is it $11.99? Geez for an eyeliner. I would never pay that much for one, but since it was free I thought I'd give it a whirl. The packaging is ridiculous and the product is just awful. To the trash it goes and no I would absolutely not buy this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 voguevania on 11/14/2010 8:58:00 PM more reviews by voguevania

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like it! It's not quite black enough to be my favorite eyeliner, but it is a pretty satisfying wetline liner.

Before I bought it, I read several reviews here. The main complaint seemed to be that the applicator became bent and flimsy. This happened to mine, too after I'd been using it about two months. I continued using it with the bent applicator, then this morning I got the bright idea to cut the bent tip off. It's just the right length and thickness for easy application now!

The second most common complaint by reviewers was that the powder travels on your face. Of course, it does, it's powder! There is some transfer, but it doesn't bother me (it just looks like it's one of my freckles). I'm no makeup artist, so I'm not expecting perfection, just a really black eyeliner that doesn't burn my increasingly sensitive eyes. This comes pretty close.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bacasuso on 11/8/2010 7:54:00 AM more reviews by bacasuso

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

L'Oreal's loose kohl eyeliner is up there in HG territory for me. I own the black (of which I'm now on my second bottle) and Brown, which I've gotten a few weeks ago.

I wear this product nearly EVERY day. I don't go scrubbing my waterlines like mad, a simple swipe of a slightly dampened q-tip will clean this up. No need to tug on the lashes or lids to remove. I apply to my waterline by tapping the side of the foamy brush on my waterline, and then blinking hard to spread the goodness to my upper lid. I like the black because it is VERY black. The brown is slightly warmer in tone, but still very dark, and striking next to my hazel/light brown eyes.

Years ago, I previously tried Physician's Formula loose kohl, and can definitively say that this formula is 100x better. I refuse to use the foreign kohls, as I don't want to have lead or antimony anywhere near my eyes (heavy metal poisoning is dangerous stuff kids.)

Between this and my "Chemically Enhanced" (Careprost!!!) eyelashes, it is an amazingly striking look. I'm considering getting the other colors, but I really am a traditionalist in my Kohl.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anne3 on 10/24/2010 10:19:00 PM more reviews by Anne3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HG.
Seriously, HG. Bar none. Full stop.
I've been trying to line my waterline for years and never had luck. I've tried drug store brands -- including ones very favorably reviewed on MUA. I've tried HE brands, like MAC, Estee Lauder, and BeneFit. I've tried different formulations: matte pencil, metallic pencil, kohl pencil, waterproof pencil, etc. But no matter what, I endured the same scenario:

Carefully and gently line waterline.
Eyes fill with tears.
Color on the waterline is systematically and involuntarily cried off within 20 minutes.

I'd given up on putting eyeliner on my waterline until I stumbled upon reviews for these loose kohl liners on MUA. I checked out some tutorials on youtube, and I was fascinated. I immediately went out and purchased two colors from my local CVS: black and burgundy. I then went straight home, sat myself down in front of my makeup mirror, and easily applied this liner (black) on my first try, thanks to the reviews and tutorials I checked out online.

I simply removed the wand, tapped off the excess loose kohl, and pressed/smeared the applicator wand onto my waterline. I then shut my eyes for a couple of seconds so the pigment would transfer onto my upper waterline. I then waited a few seconds, and applied a little more for good measure.

The complaints about fallout are warranted. I had some particles of kohl find their way to my cheeks, but I just swiped them away with a blush brush. I used a q-tip to clean up under my lashline. As others have mentioned, just complete your eye makeup before applying foundation or undereye concealer, and the problem is solved.

In any case, I applied the kohl and held my breath, waiting for the tears to start.

Nothing. If anything, my eyes felt slighter drier! Not uncomfortable -- but certainly not weepy. It seems that the kohl powder absorbed the excess watering of my eyes. And to top it off, the kohl powder was ten times more black and pigmented than any pencil I've ever applied.

I've learned that I can wear this for up to seven hours with only minimal wear off on the very outer corner of my water line. There can be some smudging under my lower lash line, but it's the "sexy" kind of smoulder-esque smudging, and easily repaired by swiping a finger under my eye.

I'm beyond thrilled with this product.

********************************
Update: I now own every available color. I've also bit the bullet and ordered a Guerlain loose kohl eyeliner, because I assume that formula will be even better. I'm so fortunate to have found this product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eyeliner products