Caudalie • Gentle Buffing Cream • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(48 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 luineumaiel on 8/18/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by luineumaiel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I say least about the stuff I most love, so here goes.

I cannot live without this product. It's heartbreakingly expensive at SG$43 for 60ml but I let this be one of my few splurges. It buffs away the skin, takes away only what shouldn't be on the surface. It's great for both oily and dry skin (mine is dry) and leaves your skin feeling soft and clean for a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jsirois on 6/8/2013 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Jsirois

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

One of my favorite exfoliators. It took me a couple of times to get used to the fact it was so gentle.. at first I doubted the exfoliating power. But I quickly realized it works very well, and my skin feels great after using it. Smells like many Caudalie products, but a little too sweet for my taste: it is the only negative thing I would say about this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kourki13 on 2/15/2013 5:37:00 PM more reviews by Kourki13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG manual exfoliator! I have dry skin that flakes easily. Even with AHA and BHA exfoliation, I'll get flakey patches that have only gotten worse during my phase of experimenting with sunscreens and tinted moisturizers. This scrub is very gentle but very effective. The round jojoba beads never irritate my skin, even when it's somewhat raw from peeling, while getting rid of all the flakes. The moisturizing base is really great at preventing irritation during scrubbing and protecting my skin once I've removed all the scrubbing beads. The only downside is that it's a little hard to wash off, but I've started just wiping of the beads, which saves me the step of moisturizing since the base is so nice.

I feel like there's no way to hurt myself with this stuff, no matter how much I rub, which is great since I'm a newbie to physical scrubs and the last one I tried (St. Ives Sensitive Scrub) scratched up my face so bad it took days of intense moisturizing to heal. It's expensive, but it's worth it since you only need a tiny amount and I think the bottle will last me for years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aurymalek on 1/21/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by aurymalek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is pretty dry and flaky around my nose and cheeks and ever since using this product along with the hydrating creme I have not had that problem. I use it once or twice a week in the shower. It seems to help my makeup adhere to my face better as well. It does not cause breakouts to my acne prone skin or any irritation because it is very gentle. It also seems to make my skin tone more even and have a better glow because it really does exfoliate well without irritating. I would recommend this product to people with combo skin who's skin is easily irritated. It is a thousand times better than that St. Ives crap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bluemymind99 on 7/29/2011 7:35:00 PM more reviews by bluemymind99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The directions say to use this scrub after you wash with a cleanser, but I switched it up. The product consists of miniscule beads suspended in an opaque white cream, and said cream would NOT rinse off. Even a washcloth wasn't doing the trick, hence I needed to use my face wash after exfoliating, not before. Used this way, it did a good job of exfoliating, getting rid of the flaky skin that plagues my nose without scratching.

The packaging is a mess. The graphic on the bottle is pretty, and I appreciate that it's not housed in a jar like so many scrubs are, but something about it attracts crazy mold. The whole cap area is persistently grimy, so I was always nervous about the product touching the mold (which I could never keep at bay for very long) and then going on my face. Ew.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dev161 on 7/3/2011 1:37:00 AM more reviews by dev161

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

More a 4.5. Love this exfoliant/scrub/cream. Initially thought it wouldn't work well because it's more creamy with only a slight bit of grain, seemed too gentle, but it definitely does the trick. After using it my skin was noticeably softer, smoother, with an all over even skin tone and really nice clean glow. Also seemed to subtly tighten up pores.
I've used it 4 times now. Same good results every time.
My skin is pretty dry and this doesn't make it any drier. My skin is also sensitive to so many things and my skin handles this really well - no redness, bumps or any irritation at all.
Use it about once a week, on slightly damp skin (wash face, pat dry, then use a bit of the buffing cream). I've tried exfoliants that took forever to rinse completely off, while you do need to rinse well/scrub, in comparison this rinses off pretty easily/quickly.
On the costly side, but a little really does go a long way.
Because the overall formula is so great I wish they could put in just a few more granules to give a deeper exfoliation but it has been giving really nice results - so happy I found it and thankful to Caudalie for making it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariavittoria1987 on 11/1/2010 9:11:00 AM more reviews by mariavittoria1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Caudalie makes excellent quality products and this is no exception. I have sensitive normal/dry skin, and I know the importance of exfoliating to preserve skin's natural glow and smoothness. However, traditional scrubs often feel too harsh on my skin, and this is why I prefer gommage formulas that are perfect for ladies like me.
This can be used either on dry skin or on damp skin (I much prefer the latter), exfoliates gently without drying out your skin, and can be used every 4/5 days, while with regular scrubs I have to wait 7-10 days and often get breakouts because they remove too many layers of skin. I'm in LOVE!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pretty_wannabe on 2/15/2010 11:18:00 PM more reviews by pretty_wannabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was too creamy and gentle for my skin. It did not exfoliate much and if I didnít wash my face super good, it tends to clog my nose pore badly. Maybe this is good for a person who has small pore but not me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NikkiM225 on 8/30/2009 1:03:00 PM more reviews by NikkiM225

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received a deluxe sized sample if this when I purchaed some items on Sephora's website. While I did not like using it on my face (it's too moisturizing for my very oily face), I love using it as a scrub for my neck and chest! It's extremely gentle and leaves my skin feeling super soft. Try a pea sized amount on your neck & chest when you're in the shower. It's a bit pricey, but I use it about once every few months and it's lasted for well over a year. I have since bought another tube and will continue to buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 junycherry on 8/21/2009 2:21:00 AM more reviews by junycherry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a exfoliating cleanser because it won't be able to wash your face thoroughly and remove dirt and makeup. Its sole purpose is to exfoliate your skin, and nothing else. I recommend using this after washing your face with a separate cleanser. So it'll be all nice and clean to whisk those dead skin cells away!

You're supposed to use this sparingly as it is concentrated + it spreads out well -- I use two or three pea-size drops. By the way, I love how Caudalie steers clear of parabens, phenoxyethanol, mineral oils, and artificial colorings. The texture is pretty runny. But if you rub the cream between your fingers, you definitely feel the grain. I'm not sure what it is, but its not one of those spherical beads. Reminds of St. Ives Apricot Scrub except a hundred times gentler. Smell is rather pleasant.

This scrub is really effective at exfoliating your skin but still gentle. In my opinion St. Ives scrubs are over the top rather causing damage, and those wimpy spherical microbeads aren't 100% effective...maybe for dry skin types. I think Caudalie's buffing cream would be great for combination and oily skin types! Any scrub can cause damage if you exfoliate for so long, so use this for about a minute tops, two to three times a week.

My skin feels always smooth, fresh and looks radiant after using this. That means it did a good job sloughing the dead cells! No irritated red marks, although one time I exfoliated for a good five minutes and my skin did get a little blotchy. Also I wouldn't use a lot of pressure, I think it has the potential to make microscopic tears in your skin if you press down too hard.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Caudalie products

More Skincare - Face products