Caudalie • Gentle Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.6(72 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 amoenaonline on 3/28/2014 10:43:00 AM more reviews by amoenaonline

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This gentle cleanser cleanes makeup OK, but it's impossible to rinse with water. It makes a film on the skin that seems to reject water. There is still cleanser and makeup on your skin after you rinse your face... and if you dry your face with a towel, there are cleanser and makeup in your towel... Ugh. So you basically have to get rid of this product with a cotton pad even though it is advertised in the bottle that you can rinse it with water. I feel that wiping my face with cotton pad does nothing to the film on the skin, I use micellair water after this. Micellair water + tonic water eventually removes the film... but I hate the fact that I have to use my expensice micellair water to clean a cleanser!!

Also you have to use a lot of this product to remove makeup. The first pump just disappears on the skin and you end up massasing your face with absolutely nothing. I usually wet my face before using this cleanser, because otherwise I would go throught the 100ml bottle in like one week.

+ removes makeup ok
+ it's gentle
+ the bottle looks pretty
+ the pump is nice and it works

- expensive considering how much you end up using
- makes a film on the skin
- impossible to rinse with water even though this option is advertised in the bottle
- gets towels dirty quickly if it's rinsed ony with water
- you end up using it a lot

I will not repurchase and I will not recommend this one to any of my friends.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CStuartMonteith on 2/15/2014 3:27:00 PM more reviews by CStuartMonteith

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Contrary to some other viewers, I find that this cleanser removes make up quite well. It is gentle and you can use it over the eyelids. However, the reason why I did not give it 5 stars is because it stings my skin (slightly, I must say, I am very sensitive) and also because when you get to the end of the bottle, there is quite a bit left but you cannot pump it up, so there is some wastage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cammmi on 2/15/2014 1:07:00 AM more reviews by Cammmi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the cleansing milk formula. This one you don't need to rinse it. So I usually use it in the morning when I don't take my shower neither wash my face. During winter I prefer to wash my face only at night. So this gentle clean leaves the natural oils on my skin in the morning. I love the smell. Leaves the skin soft and moisturized.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Shadox on 12/11/2013 8:59:00 PM more reviews by Shadox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Grey    

Ok I guess...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vaniessa on 12/8/2013 5:44:00 AM more reviews by Vaniessa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i've previously used caudalie products before but find this to be quite a disappointment, especially when it comes to removing make-up. doesn't remove makeup well especially eye make-up, and i end up with smudgy eye every night. usually i will use this with the mac makeup remover wipes, and find this combination to be working okay, just okay. however it had not caused me any break outs or any sorts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jenjen8000 on 9/11/2013 5:05:00 AM more reviews by jenjen8000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like other reviewers I find this does a really poor job of removing make up, I apply, massage in to melt make up, rinse, repeat. I would then swipe over with cotton wool to ensure all is removed, as I would expect it would be. However with the caudalie gentle cleansing milk the cotton wool comes away thick with make up. I only wear a bit of makeup (lush colour supplement mixed with my face moisturiser, dusting if powder and bronzer), I guess at least it shows my makeup has good staying power! I have to use loads of cotton wool and milk to clean my face several times over before it is all removed which takes ages. I have still given the product 2 stars as it doesn't upset my sensitive skin and leaves it nice and soft. I would not buy again or recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gale2509 on 6/23/2013 4:10:00 PM more reviews by gale2509

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a huge cream/milk cleanser fan and I've pretty much tried most of the brands variations, Clinique, Clarins, Chanel, Dior etc etc. I have been using shiffa cleanser and toner over the last year (not listed on here and I can't add them but they are amazing) but its so expensive I decided it was time for a less expensive change, I was ordering some caudalie beauty elixir on line and found the caudalie cleanser and toner on offer, so thought I would give these a go.
Packaging great, fragrance, hmm, odd, cant put my finger on it? not terrible but not pleasant either, it has a fairly fluid consistency. I use milk cleanser only in the eve, I do not wear heavy make up so there is not a lot of product to remove but even with many repeat applications, I wake up the next morning - swipe a bioderma sensbio soaked cotton pad over my face to find traces of make up? I've not experienced this problem with any other cleanser and toner so I'm not sure what it is exactly that prevents this product from cleaning the skin like it should?
I have found my skin getting super sensitive to the fact I have to cleanse repeatedly with this product so for me it's definitely not made the short list and I won't repurchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mariasara on 2/26/2013 5:48:00 PM more reviews by mariasara

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is a wonderful product. I'm using it at night, 2 times because I wear make-up. Since Ive started this I had no more breakouts and my overal skin condition is improving. For me the only problem with this product is its price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 12/4/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

4 years ago I bought a small bottle of this from a Paris drugstore liking the fact that it was all French, but quite cheap. To my amazement, this brand has really evolved since then.

It had a light pleasant fragrance but to be honest, it did nothing for my skin during its acne prone phase. It just felt like a lot of foam. Recently however my skin has become less acne prone but a lot more sensitive. Using this facewash along with my Clarisonic has worked out much better. It's kind to sensitive skin and the Clarisonic ensures that it also leaves my skin clean. On it's own, I may only use it in the mornings when my skin is not so dirty - but I am using Cetaphil for that and that's working out OK.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 9/15/2012 6:23:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Over many years of trial and error I have found a small range of cleansers that will work on my sensitive skin, and this is one of them and the one I'm currently using. At first I was very nervous because it has quite a strong smell, but whatever they are using for the scent doesn't irritate my skin. It is less expensive than others I have used and I really like the convenience of the (normal) pump bottle (if you've used Ren, you know what I mean). What can I say? It works for me - leaves my skin clean, pores clean, and no tight feeling. I apply to dry skin, remove with a damp muslin and then give an extra rinse. It takes off my eye make-up except for sometimes if I've gone heavy on the waterproof mascara so then I use a bit of olive oil on a cotton pad. Other cleansers I have used and equally would recommend for sensitive skin:
- Weleda almond cleansing lotion (inexpensive and takes everything off, but not so moisturizing and I had to use a lot)
- Ren hydracalm cleansing milk (very nice, my next best favourite but more expensive)
- Organic Pharmacy carrot butter cleanser (love, but too expensive for me to use on a regular basis)
- Inlight and Speizia organic cleansers (very similar to the carrot butter - same company but marketed under different brands in different countries - not always easy to find)
- Nude cleansing oil (like this one a lot too but also more expensive)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Caudalie products

More Cleansers products