Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse

3.3

1138 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients for MAYBELLINE DREAM LIQUID MOUSSE FOUNDATION: Water (Aqua), Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG 9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, PEG 10 Dimethicone, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Polyglyceryl 4 Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, PEG 9, Aluminum Hydroxide, May Contain ( /-): CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides)


on 6/20/2015 1:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was the first foundation I've owned. I bought this when I was a 9th grader. I am now a freshman in college.

This foundation is not what I had expected. It's not as breathable as other foundations have proven, it can look cakey very easily, and it oxidizes before the printed expired date (which, I believe, is only six months.)

It oxidized to this very orange oompa loompa colour probably during school because I came home looking like a mandarin.

Although this product has many flaws, I have seen worse products and, in comparison, It's not that bad... If you can forgive the thickness and easy oxidation.

In conclusion, this product is not the best but certainly not the worst.



on 6/10/2015 2:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Green

A couple of years ago I asked a younger prettier colleague of mine what she was wearing on her face. She was so smooth and pretty. All glowy with a few freckles showing through. She said it was this, she even sent me a picture of it! I thought "meh, it's just because she's younger and prettier that it looks so nice" so I never did buy it. Then recently I read a glowing review on this on Beautypedia. And I'm trying it out now.

Why did I not try this sooner????

Recently I've gathered a few more wrinkles, a few more droops and annoying little dry patches which everything seems to stick to. Basically I've been looking dull, saggy and unglowy. I've tried Chanel vitalumiere and smashbox halo in an expensive attempt to glow. i didn't, and so, disappointed, I gave them both to my girls. But THIS foundation is VERY nice. It's sooo smooth. Gives a little glow and dare I say lift? My only concern is that it feels a little tacky on. But I'll take it for the result. I have not a single dry patch and it really smooths the wrinkles. It's very skin like without being overly sheer and shiny.

I chose Light as the lighter ones seemed very pink. I am white with red cheeks. This is 10/10 awesomeness.

Edit: after a few days of this I have to comment again. It's just too tacky ;( it never seems to dry properly even with powder on. I couldn't go near the cats without magnetically attracting cat hairs. And I'm just too aware of it all day. I'm sorry if I led anyone astray on this but I won't be buying this again, in fact I can't even stand wearing it again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2015 2:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This foundation blends very easily and is never cakey! The colour selection is realistic even for my warm, tanned, olive-ish complexion (I use natural beige). The coverage is buildable so you can have a light or a medium/full coverage. It has a very nice lightweight and silky texture. If you have oily skin, you'd want to powder it to set. I have dry skin so I have to prep with a moisturiser and I'm good. It's neither oily or drying. The finish is very natural, yet provides substantial coverage.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing! Covers very well, doesn't dry your face.. Makes you look like you have a glowing fresh face! Btw I got sandy beige shade

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2015 1:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this foundation a very long time again, when I first started using makeup and this was my everyday foundation for a while, then I stopped and got distracted by other foundations. Just recently, my to go to foundation (MAC FACE AND BODY) ran out, so I was on a hunt for a new foundation, but decided to try this one again. Now I know why I stopped using it.

COLOUR:
I think I used the beige colour or the most yellow-toned one there is, you can tell by going into store and picking the one with the most yellow coloured pump. However, like many of my other foundations, under sunlight it has a pinkish tinge. Quite disappointing for someone who is yellow toned.

FINISH:
I get an extremely oily forehead so it did get quite oily there during the day. Wasnt sure why, but I found that it didnt set properly on my face, it felt very sticky. I tried to powder my face but it just felt like I was caking more on my face.

PROS:
It was easy to blend onto my face, not a very thick liquid. GOOD coverage. I believe it does have SPF, so although not good for photos, perfect for protection. Probably better for dry skin people who have a pink undertone. Love the packaging, extremely convenient and the glass bottle makes it look very sophisticated ahaha.


on 5/5/2015 12:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using the Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse foundation on and off for the past 4 years and finally, it is time for a review!! This foundation has never been particularly popular among the beauty community but I remember what initially drew me towards this foundation was the "Dream Liquid Mousse" title- sounds divine doesn't it? Nice job marketing, Maybelline. As for my skin, I have combination skin with dehydrated patches in my T-zone. My skin is also acne prone and I almost always have a few zits along my jaw line and my chin. I buy this foundation at my local Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada which typically runs at about $15.99 CAD which is very average for drugstore foundation in Canada. The foundation comes in a very small, glass bottle with a pump you can lock (hooray!!) and still carries the standard 30ml/1 fluid ounce of foundation. I have very, very fair skin with neutral undertones and the shade I wear in this line is the lightest, Porcelain Ivory which is slightly too pink toned but I'm able to make it work. The formulation of the foundation is a fairly thick, yet light feeling liquid. I'm not sure I would describe it as a "moussey" texture but it does have a very luxurious texture and feels very nourishing on the skin which is wonderful if your skin is dehydrated! I apply this foundation with my Urban Decay optical blurring brush after applying a face oil and moisturizer with SPF and it glides effortlessly on to my skin, smoothing over all the dry patches. This foundation offers a very perfecting medium coverage, is very buildable and the finish is quite luminous and airbrushed looking on my skin. With most foundations I avoid using powder because I don't find it necessary but I do think powder is essential when using this foundation. The powder I use with it is the Bourjois Healthy Balance powder and they work together beautifully. The foundation evens out the redness in my skin and covers some of my smaller blemishes but with any larger blemishes I follow up with a concealer (Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer). On my skin, this foundation wears 6-8 hours. The wear time is not bad, but it is average to the lower end of average so if you're looking for extra lasting powder, this is not the product for you. The one upside of the wear time is that when the makeup starts looking oily, it never really breaks down or goes patchy. I blot my foundation once during the day using the Bourjois powder. As for the downsides of this foundation, I think the wear time definitely leaves some room for improvement but more importantly the colour selection is lacking. I once accidentally picked up the next shade up in this line, Classic Ivory and it was at least 3 to 4 shades darker than Porcelain Ivory and incredibly orange which means that I am unable to find a shade in the summer when I am a bit more tanned because my skin never gets quite that dark, or quite that orange! Overall, if you can find a shade that works for you I think this foundation is an excellent purchase and you will be very satisfied. I don't think I've ever found a foundation that looks as airbrushed as this without being actual airbrush makeup. Great product Maybelline.


on 5/4/2015 1:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have been using this product for about two/three years, give or take.

Of the drugstore foundations I've used, this one is easy to blend, matches my skin tone pretty perfectly -- I use "nude beige - light 3.5", and yeilds pretty great coverage (I have some mild facial scarring as well as the occasional monster-zit.) It doesn't irritate my skin (and my skin is allergic to almost anything!)

The only con is that I *do* have to reapply about 1x a day, or within 8-12 hours of initial application.


on 4/21/2015 9:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this product, it doesn't make me so oily. I doesn't break me out. This is by far the best drug store foundation I have tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 9:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

LOVE this product, covers well and lasts. BUT there lightest shade is actually quit dark, so its hard for me to blend.


on 4/8/2015 9:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loved the idea of a full coverage foundation giving me a pretty airbrushed and airy look. It really does give my skin a pretty, gorgeous look. I'm also in love with the pump, because it' so hygienic. The issue with it I that it melts off my face within a few hours and doesn't stay very long. If you need to run somewhere for a few hours it'll likely do the trick. The other problem I thought was odd, is that I'm usually a lower medium/ darker light shade and I got this in the second palest shade and it was a tad dark. I'm gonna keep it around for summer because I kinda look like I got a tan with it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top