MAC Penultimate Eye Liner - Rapidblack

3.1

245 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/30/2015 8:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very first time I reviewed something as the experience was so bad. Itried the tester before buying but surprised to see the wings were gone when I arrived home. Tried the one I bought , and after an hour, the jet black turned grayish!! No pigment left at all!!

It takes forever to dry and smudges so badly!! It stays on for 2hrs max. I tried revlon's pen liner and it was so much better for $25 difference. Wow!!

Sooo disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/24/2015 2:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First pen eyeliner I ever owned. It's OK but I'm sure there's something out there that glides easier. Would not repurchase.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i just hate this product so much, for that price you're expecting a lot more. I have like two weeks with it and it's already dry... wtf???

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 2:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love the concept of this eyeliner but this formula is pretty much drugstore quality. Definitely not worth the money in my honest opinion.
The pen dried out within a month and I hardly used it. Wasn't a true black, I had to apply two layers.
It dries well on my arm when I swatched it but if you're even a tad oily this stuff will smudge and smear, total mess.
I usually use Chromaline which is AMAZING.
I wanted to try this pen one cause I'd do the leopard eyemakeup and it seemed easier with a pen. It faded throughout the day, smudged etc.
I'm really not happy with this liner.
I'll actually stick to the Chromaline and got the 109 brush I believe and its easier plus no issue with fading or smudging whatsoever

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2014 10:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've tried this off and on for a few months as it was pretty expensive and i'd say to anyone wanting to buy it it's not worth it. Very little pigment dries out very easily and the nib softens quite quickly so it's hard to get a very precise line after a few uses. Would definitely not recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2014 12:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This was the first time I've tried a pen style liquid liner. Really wanted to like it since there's not much other option around where I live, but for the price I was paying I'd say this was not really good value.

First up, I like the style of it. I'd say pen style is definitely the way to go. it's a lot easier to navigate, but a great deal of the precision relies on the tip. The tip of this particular pen was okay, it was not too hard, but for a novice like me it did take a little practice to get right. I have since found other pens that do a better job because the tips are softer and finer.

Now on to the real negative point, it dries up really fast. I had this for possibly 2 weeks, used it about 2-3 times and it started dragging on me. Now for the price I paid NZD40, I expect way more product than that.

I don't think I would repurchase this particular product. It doesn't quite live up to its purpose, the tip is just so-so, and the price is just too much for the amount of product or use we get.


on 10/3/2014 2:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product is seriously disappointing. The eyeliner doesn't go on easily. I literally have to push the pen down pretty hard to get any product out of it. The black is definitely not a "deep carbon shade". The only good thing about this product is the firm tip, which have would made it easy for beginners (that is if product would actually come out).


on 7/19/2014 4:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I bought this product because I'm a huge fan of pen eyeliners, and constantly wear winged eyeliner.

Having some experience with pen eyeliners, I should have seen a red light when I noticed the chunky tip of this particular pen, but I thought "I can probably work with this."

WRONG! This is by far the worst eyeliner I've ever spent my money on. Not only is it nearly impossible to create relatively thin lines, this eyeliner isn't true to the name "Rapid Black" at all! It's more or less a dark grey that you have to swipe over repeatedly to even achieve a dull black.

I tried creating a wing seven different times, and each time was a disaster. Keep in mind that I do have experience with pen eyeliners, and this just didn't work for me at all.

Save your money, or check out Physician's Formula's Serum Boosting Eyeliner if you're interested in a quality pen eyeliner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went to the MAC counter looking for the normal black eyeliner. The saleswoman put the bullet proof black eyeliner on one eye and the penultimate on the other. After thinking about it, I decided to get this one, and knew right after I left the store that I would regret my splurge purchase.

Later that day after I went swimming with both eye liners on, I saw that the bullet poof eyeliner hadn't moved AT ALL, but the penultimate had smeared all over the side of my face and took some rubbing to get it off. Come the next day when I went to work, the eyeliner went on with no hassle and stayed on throughout my shift at work. Two days after purchasing this eyeliner, I tried to see how it would go....one word...TERRIBLE. I had a doctors appointment, and this eyeliner had smudged all over my eyes, and was a pain in the butt to remove without having to take off all my makeup.

I'm going to the mall this weekend, and getting my $21 back and buying Urban Decay Eyeliner. This is the one time that I was actually disappointed with MAC since my mom had been using it since she was about my age and so had I when I started wearing makeup a few years ago. The price is absolutely ridiculous when you can get pen eyeliner at your local pharmacy for $6-$10 that will actually last and not be such a nuisance in your everyday life.


on 5/27/2014 8:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I hate this product with a passion. I went to MAC looking for a liquid eyeliner and the saleswoman recommended this one because it should be easier to use as it is a pen. I am from Chile so I can't buy Stila products and I've read many awesome reviews of their pen eyeliner so I thought this could be a dupe. Big mistake, BIG MISTAKE. Yes, it is easy to use, the pen shape is very comfortable (excellent for beginners) but it has ZERO pigment. You have to go over the same place many times to get a black line and if you dare to use this over eyeshadow, it's gone! I think I got 5 uses out of this pen before it lost all the pigment and dried out. Aweful. Don't do it, go for MAC's Superslick Liquid Eye Liner. You've been warned!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top