MAC • apres ski • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 msimplicity on 9/29/2010 7:27:00 PM more reviews by msimplicity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product at a CCO and it's a great dark gray colour. It's sheer with just one swipe with the brush but it's definitely buildable. I pop this shadow in my makeup bag and take it to the gym and use it after I shower and just create a settle smokey eye with nothing else applied. The not-so-great side of this shadow is it takes time and patience to build the colour up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strawberrynkiwi on 3/24/2010 1:58:00 PM more reviews by strawberrynkiwi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just picked this up on sale because I needed a good matte grey eyeshadow. This is also my first MAC eyeshadow. After coming here and saw that people used it as eyebrow filler for black hair, I tried it. It works amazing. I have been using Urban Decay brow pot in brown that I got my sister and I just looked plain silly, because the brown was too light for me black/brown hair. Apres Ski matches my black eyebrow and it was still natural looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeepRose on 12/15/2009 2:14:00 AM more reviews by DeepRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yes 'layerring' this eyeshadow is a perfect brow powder and shadow in one. Would suit many brows as it is so neutral. I love to use it all over my lid crease for a natural look, or before I apply a deeper colour in the very middle of the crease. Great matt, grey with a hint of tan

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 layerring on 9/27/2009 12:52:00 AM more reviews by layerring

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my first review and after reading the current reviews, may also be the most odd for this eyeshadow. I am an NC30 with natural black hair and yellow undertones. With this combination, I have a hard time finding a suitable eyeshadow to fill in my sparse eyebrows. Basicly, I do not want brown eyebrows with my black hair because it simply bothers me. When I apply Apres-ski (grey) on my yellow undertone skin, it naturally creates the perfect dark brown shade that is very appropriate for my skin. Think about it, if you already have yellow undertones and you add a "dark brown" or "brown" tone shade on your skin, does it not look too brown or even reddish? If you share the same eyebrow issue as me, try this MAC shade or any matte grey tone eyeshadow. Also, if you dislike this shade and want to sell or trade, leave me a message.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bvan117 on 8/26/2009 7:48:00 PM more reviews by bvan117

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty gray color. It is matte and is great for a smokey eye look. You can put this in your crease to give your eyes some depth or you can apply this color all over. I would def buy this color again if I can find it, but it is not in the permanent line. Highly recommend if you can get your hands on it, please do!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenja536 on 8/23/2009 4:41:00 AM more reviews by jenja536

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow and used it tonight for a smoky eye on the lid, carbon on the outer half, soba as the blender, and the gray in assemblage MSF eyeshadow on the middle of the lid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aligirl on 7/2/2009 9:55:00 AM more reviews by Aligirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Released with the Chill collection 12/08...Think I may have gotten a bad batch..The only reason this is getting a 2 is for the color alone..Otherwise, it's a negative in my book. This is a slightly lighter more grey and less brown version of Copperplate which should be a good thing, but it takes a lot of work to get any color on a brush..The surface of this shadow is smooth and hard almost like it was over baked..Usually when you rub a brush across a shadow, you see surface disruption but you can rub all you like and barely pick up any pigment nor does it look like you've tried to use it afterward??!?! Very baffling and not worth the $$

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ianastar on 3/7/2009 9:30:00 PM more reviews by ianastar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Use this in the crease, a pale shimmery pink on the lid and black in the outer crease. Line with a dramatic line of liquid black liner.

Beautiful soft and smokey eye. This gives the perfect shade in the crease to build on a smokey eye that is not all black and bruised.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misscurlylocks on 2/11/2009 7:21:00 PM more reviews by misscurlylocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I would buy this again if it werent a limited addition!
I love this colour. Its a matt cool deep grey-taupe. Very Angelina style. I use this lighly on the lids and then I wet it and use it toline my eyes darker.
It is lovely for cool skins to provide that smokey eye look that looks less harsh than the browns and blacks.
Ths colour needs to be dabbed on with the fingers lightly and it is buildable and can be brushed on darker.
Sometimes I use a vanilla across the lid and then this on the corners of my eyes to create a feline effect.
Ijust love the delicacy of this eyeshadow and I hope it is popular and then I can always get it.
I cannot compare it to another brand as the matt eyeshadows in Mac are hard to find as they are such good quality.
Loving it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzcali4nia on 1/25/2009 12:18:00 PM more reviews by mzcali4nia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This looks pretty good on, but just a bit too matte for me. As much as I want to like this, I'm just not that much of a fan. I would prefer a lighter more shimmery grey. Just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products