NARS • Cabaret • Lipstick

rated 3.4(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcg49 on 3/18/2013 7:53:00 PM more reviews by sweetcg49

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have several NARS matte lipsticks. They are a chore to put on. I have to use balm and gloss to make Cabaret work, but it is so worth it. Quite frankly, I was shocked to see how well this color worked with many of my purple clothes. Finding lip colors that look good with purple is a real challenge for me, and I am very pleased with this one. Just line it well and use some balm and it will look good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redeyelinerjunkie on 1/23/2008 9:27:00 PM more reviews by redeyelinerjunkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If Fire Down Below had a cool-toned sister... this is it.

It's darker, more opaque, thicker -- but wears and bleeds like a satin rather than a matte. FDB is blood red, this is burgundy: not as striking but still dramatic and intensely glamorous, very sultry and 1920's. Would not repurchase because it doesn't suit my warm skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizbathory88 on 6/18/2007 2:01:00 PM more reviews by lizbathory88

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I like and dislike this lipstick. I actually like the drying effect because it makes the lipstick almost like a stain. It makes my lips look very full and the color isn't terrible with my pale skin and blue eyes...esp. if I wear very understated eye makeup. I pared this with Bilitis lip gloss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 daisylee on 5/19/2007 7:05:00 AM more reviews by daisylee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wo, way too dark for me. It is a very very deep burgundy plum colour. Matte and drying too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Selenite on 12/31/2006 8:52:00 PM more reviews by Selenite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

They just had to discontinue this! NARS has a tendancy to churn out bold, rich shades and Cabaret is no exception. A great burgundy in their semi-matte formula (most of their really interesting colors are such as Fire Down Below)so if you're the type to whine about drying lipsticks then use a lipbalm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* claudias on 11/29/2006 11:22:00 PM more reviews by claudias

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Very pigmented dark burgunday shade.Hard to get on as the formula is quite dry and the consistency uneven. Not a great lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fulltiltredhead on 10/20/2005 10:48:00 PM more reviews by Fulltiltredhead

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A beautiful plummy very dark red. I have medium/fair skin with blue undertones, green eyes, and reddish hair, and this color works on me. I think it could flatter many complexions. I especially like that the formula is not too slick. It wears well, doesn't bleed or smudge excessively.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsiLLneSs on 5/4/2004 9:04:00 AM more reviews by MsiLLneSs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a dark plum that's too dark for me, it's also the only NARS L/s that feels drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ifthe on 4/22/2003 3:02:00 AM more reviews by ifthe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a gorgeous color! A very deep, smouldering burgundy red. although I do agree that the formula is a little drying, it is a small price to pay considering they wear quite exceptionally and the color stays true. I also like the recycled rubber packaging. It's very durable and can be wiped clean, so your lipstick cases never look shabby. Unfortunately, I ended up giving this away because the shade was just too dark for my pale complexion. I need a red that is a but more muted. I agree that the price is just a little absurd, but I would pay it again if I found the right color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NARS products

More Lipstick products