L'Oreal • HiP Kohl Eyeliner in Brown Kohl 803 • Eyeliner

rated 3.8(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hancam1030 on 8/3/2011 10:55:00 PM more reviews by hancam1030

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This worked just fine for me, first time I even used this. I don't know what everyone's problem is, it is basicly like applying a liquid liner but in powder form. I used a primer and a colored base and pigmentation was really good, used on my upper and lower lash lines. The brush doesn't hurt me, and no fall out at all. The product stays on the brush while I am putting it on. It also lasts all day. I really like this instead of liquid liner. Much easier to apply and I always get a thin line, and it takes me like 2 minutes tops to put on both eyes. Where as with liquid, I am always twisting and turning my hand trying to get the line thin enough while trying not to accidently draw a line above where I am trying to. Love it, and it was 5 bucks at target. Going on a hunt for the black and burgundy ones, totally going to stock up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dawnsch on 1/24/2011 11:33:00 PM more reviews by dawnsch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

IF you have a steady hand...IF you have lots of time and patience...IF you don't mind making a mess...THEN this product may be for you. I love other HIP products, so I gave this a try when it was on sale at CVS. After two uses, it went into the trash. It took too much effort for what I got out of it, which was a sparkly mess on my makeup table and on the skin under my eye. Also, the wand that came with it was a joke, if you give this a try, I suggest using your own brush.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 simplyviki on 1/3/2011 11:30:00 AM more reviews by simplyviki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This is one of only two brands of loose kohl eyeliners commercially available in the US, to my knowledge. The other one is Guerlain, with a fancy bottle and a hefty price tag, and as such I've never tried the other one.

Basically, this is a waterline eyeliner. I don't use it outside my lash line, I can't imagine it working very well - it'd probably just fall out all over the place, and that's really not the way a loose kohl eyeliner is supposed to be used anyway.

Cost: I picked this up for a little over $5 at Walgreen's. It was on sale, with the dreaded orange "Last Chance" stickers. I'm afraid this one's probably soon to be discontinued, so I picked up two just in case.

Packaging: There's good and there's bad points to this aspect of it. It's really ugly. I'm just sayin'. I know not everything can be as pretty as Guerlain, but Physician's Formula used to make one that was at least in a pretty bottle. This thing looks like a Teletubbie's head. The wand is not the best, either - it's a plastic stick with a felt tip (if you remember the Physician's Formula one, that was also a felt tip, but this one is actually a better quality - it's longer, at least a centimeter, and it doesn't curl up into an unusable twist right away like the PF one did; the tip's stayed in decent shape for a good three months now). That works alright, but you can't apply it the traditional "Eastern" method (more on that later). On the plus side, the clear packaging allows you to view the true color of the product. Also, the flat bottom allows you to stand it up while you apply the product with both hands.

Staying power: this stays until I carefully remove it with a q-tip soaked in makeup remover, or until I've washed my face twice or so if I'm lazy. It does fade a bit, mind, and I do end up with some brown eye gunk after a few hours, but I think that's to be expected with pretty much anything you put on your waterline.

Color: Looks just like it does in the bottle. It's a deep, rich, shimmery brown. Worn with nothing but mascara, the effect is quite similar to Angelina Jolie's trademark eye look, slightly smoky but still defined.

Buy again: If they keep making it, I'll definitely buy it again when I run out. I'm crossing my fingers. This is the only waterline eyeliner that I've tried that actually stays decent looking.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Phanatical28 on 7/7/2010 11:37:00 AM more reviews by Phanatical28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love love love. I have this, as well as burgundy and black. I find it easy to apply if you pat on, and that it only takes a little product to achieve a wonderful smokey look, whether with other shadows or simply on its own. I will definitely keep repurchasing in the future!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SinisterRouge on 5/30/2010 8:14:00 PM more reviews by SinisterRouge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not impressed with this at all. I needed a brown sparkly eye liner so I looked up one that got good reviews and asked my fiancÚ to run to Walgreens to get this for me. For $13, I could have gotten a much better quality liner. This stuff is powdery, messy, and hard to apply. I read someone used a brush to apply, but mine didn't fit in the packaging so I used the wand. The wand was hard and scratched my lids. I needed several applications to get the color I needed and I ended up with powder all over my face that I couldn't get off. However, once I did get it on, it did have pretty good staying power. Other than that, not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaymemarie on 5/18/2010 6:35:00 PM more reviews by jaymemarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought it on sale at wal-mart, so I didn't really have any hopes for it. It actually turned out to be really great! I apply this with a brush, not the wand. This is a good brown color, it's dark, but you can still tell it's not black. It doesn't fall out, and it wears well. The packaging is okay.. it could be better, but it doesn't hinder the product that much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pisces31919 on 5/6/2010 7:09:00 PM more reviews by pisces31919

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is absolutely amazing! It's brown with a touch of sparkle. Makes my eyes really pop. I know that a lot of people tend to have issues with this but I have yet to encounter them. It can be a little messy to apply but I just use a sheet of toilet tissue under my eye in case of any fallout. I bought this on special from CVS for $5 and I plan to stock up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jacky21roxx on 2/22/2010 12:22:00 AM more reviews by jacky21roxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok I'm not gonna lie this eyeliner is a good quality liner and the color is just beautiful, but the wand u put it with is just horrible there is no way u can apply this eyeliner in ur lower lashes without it falling all over ur cheeks and then u gotta dip it again 2 finish the rest of ur water line and the same thing happens again lol i guess if u practice wit it u could kearn 2 use it more, but as for me it's not gonna happen i rather stick 2 a pencil eyeliner or shadow

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madamey on 2/21/2010 10:45:00 PM more reviews by madamey

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I went mad for the Mad Men eyeliner look this fall and bought just about everyone's in hopes it would stay on my super greasy eyelids. The only one which gave me what I was looking for was L'Oreal's Kohl. You really don't put it on the way that eyeliner goes on. You put it on your waterline so that it colors the rim of your eyelid. You really need to watch a video to see how it's done properly. If you can do that (or paint it on the waterline) you will have eyes that retain the color around them for the entire day and into the night. It also degrades gracefully when it's time to go (unlike most conventional eyeliners).

The color is magnificent. In brown there is a slight sheen but the color is a lot like olive green, which is very very flattering, especially with brown eyes.

The container has a bendy wand but I cut off the bending tip and it works great.

My only complaint is that it does cause crumbs to fall on your face when you are putting it on and they are tough to get off because it does indeed stick like crazy glue. But I put it on before the rest of my makeup and use what I need to get it off (toner).

It's really cheap and will last a long time. Despite the bendy wand, the package is well conceived with an insert which keeps it from spilling out. Comes in a wide variety of colors, too.

So get hold of one of those nifty YouTube videos which show you how to put on kohl like real Egyptian beauties do and go for it. You could put it on like conventional eyeliner, too, I am sure. I guess you would put it on dry with the wand but I think it would be hard to control. It's more fun to do it the "old fashioned" way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cbabyc on 1/2/2010 6:32:00 PM more reviews by cbabyc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is good product, but the packaging is defunct. The eyeliner point bends in half when you screw it back into the tube. Otherwise its a good powder eyeliner, with good saturation of color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eyeliner products