Almay • Pure Blends Loose Finishing Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.4(44 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 2/11/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a bad powder. I bought it when I was dealing with a lot of acne and the dermatologist told me only to wear makeup that was noncomedegenic (won't clog pores). This was the only drugstore makeup brand I could find that said that on their products. I used it as a light powder over my foundation for a while and it's not a bad finishing powder. It's kind of pricey for a drugstore brand, so I probably won't but it again as it was not a home run for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ali8388 on 5/3/2012 1:31:00 PM more reviews by ali8388

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like to wear a lot of face-makeup, so I just use concealer and a loose powder to finish. This works ok in the spring, but in the summer I could use something with a bit more oil absorption. It is comparable to a mineral veil - would probably work best to set liquid foundation. On a nice day, and with a different brush, this does work pretty well to even out skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wendy1954 on 3/21/2012 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Wendy1954

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The packaging is the main reason this product fails. Opening and closing the sifter top causes powder to get out over everything. I used the puff which actually was okay but have also used a mineral kabuki brush to see results for that application.
Now the product itself is nice, with the powder having a nice smooth finish. Again I purchased this at a discount place for $2.99. If I had paid full price elsewhere I would have returned it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xaephan on 2/19/2012 12:19:00 AM more reviews by Xaephan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I got this at a liquidation center (which really should've told me about how popular this products isn't...), and even then I thought it was a bit of a waste of money. The packaging is needlessly huge, and the inner plastic part doesn't work well either. The product doesn't come out easily, and once it's out, it's very easy to lose a lot of it just by opening and closing the top. The puff it comes with is a joke, and I find it particularly annoying in that it doesn't fit into the plastic lid.

The product itself is pretty 'meh' for me. It helps my makeup stay, but it has no oil control whatsoever and it's very easy to make yourself look chalky with it. Overall, an okay powder, terrible packaing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 christalclr on 11/13/2011 10:17:00 PM more reviews by christalclr

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of my usual powder and decided to give this a try. That little applicator is horrible. Hard to get the powder out of that ridiculous sifter box.Very messy. The worst part is it makes me look chalky. Does not blend well at all. I would never buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alright2009 on 9/5/2011 3:41:00 PM more reviews by alright2009

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok Ok, I have read all the reviews on how terrible this product is and there are some points I agree on. FIRST the packaging does stink, its a horrible waste of recycled? cardboard to put a tiny plastic container in with the loose powder. SECOND, the applicator they provide is useless but then again I rarely use any powder puffs or tiny little brushes that come with some of my product. BUT what I did was dump the loose powder into an old empty makeup container and I always use my OWN makeup brush anyways on everything, in this case I use a big foundation brush from Mary Kay. I bought the product because I was out of my Bare Minerals, Mineral Veil which I LOVE! This was on clearance, {most likely cuz of its horrible way of packaging} for $3. I find that when applied after my foundation in the same way I used mineral veil, with my large foundation brush, it goes on smoothly, leaving a nice flawless finish. I even got compliments on my make up one day! SO I guess it all depends on what you will put up with to save some money, in this case, my changing it into an easier package and using a different brush, but as I said, I do that anyways. I did go back and buy another one just in case I don't get to the mall to get my Mineral Veil. But this works as a great substitute for me. Thats my story and I am sticking too it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeautyAndTheBlush on 7/27/2011 10:49:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAndTheBlush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, so believe me, I HATED this stuff for the longest time because of the unbearable packaging right?
HAHA! I totally destroyed the packaging and here's what I think...

-I got rid of the cardboard crap and long and behold, a small plastic tub with a lid and sifter...much, much more efficient.
-I used this as I would mineral foundation with a kabuki brush (I love it because it doesn't have talc, parabens, and it has antioxidants in it, which helps your skin) and I actually liked it! It's not like it's really high coverage or anything, but I like to put it on my oily skin throughout the school day and I also noticed it helps reduce redness around my nose.
-I still think it is a little too sparkly, but it's actually not noticeable once it was on my face!

So I actually went from wanting to ignite the packaging on flames, to loving the actual product, which I believe this product would be better if it focused on the "PRODUCT" and not the 'recycled' cardboard packaging and gnome-size powder puff! Overall, no I wouldn't buy this product again because I think there's definitely better! I am just suggesting that if you already have this, do what I did and get rid of that pointless cardboard box...once you get past the sides, the bottom might be a little stuck to the base cardboard piece, so have a knife handy ;)!

Thanks, and remember to celebrate YOUR beauty everyday girls!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alexrich on 5/14/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by alexrich

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I hate this powder with a passion!!!! It's horrible!!!!!!!!! The packaging is terrible. I can't get any of the powder out and the puff it comes with is too small and stiff. The powder itself is very chalky and doesn't blend into the skin. I find it just sits on top and just makes my face look dusty. This also makes my skin very oily! Really wish this product would have worked because it is a bit pricey for drugstore brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lcharles9808 on 2/2/2011 1:27:00 AM more reviews by lcharles9808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at CVS for around three dollars. It was seventy five percent off. I was very short on money and had run out of my usual. I like the powder very light and does keep me oil free for several hrs. The packaging sucks. Was it really necessary to put that small amount of powder in a huge box. Other than that was a decent powder

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 basicKatie on 1/23/2011 3:12:00 AM more reviews by basicKatie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I hate this stuff- i bought it on sale, thankgoodness, or i'd be really angry- first-
packaging: simple box, comes with the tiniest applicator, which i use a powder brush anyway, but still, that little thing is a joke. i have trouble geting the powder through the sifter, it is tiny as well. i tend to make a mess with it.
now the powder i also dislike, i find it is very clump prone it makes my face look scaley and old. not a good finishing powder at all.
i will not buy it again,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Loose Powders products