Unlisted Brand • Caruso Professional ION Steam Hairsetter • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.1(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MadchenRogue on 8/18/2014 1:36:00 AM more reviews by MadchenRogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this since 1992! As others mentioned the original set you had to put some salt and even came with a bottle of lavender oil/essence. The newest model no longer needs salt and doesn't include lavender essence. For me this product yields excellent results every time. If you don't like how your curls are coming out, then it's your technique you need to revise. I know how to make spiral, body waves. Due to my type of hair, my hair stays curly for months! HG all the way. 22 years and counting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poncholefty on 3/10/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by poncholefty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OK, I lied - THIS is my HG. My hair would never even THINK of holding a curl until this. I would show it a curling iron and get a shrug - hot rollers would elicit sarcastic laughter. Yes, hair can laugh at you. But then the Caruso came along.

Again, I'd been pointed to this by MUA and was lucky enough to find one at Ulta (I gotta say, the biggest bonus of moving to VA is access to Ulta. Sorry, my D-future-H!!) It takes me about two minutes to set my hair, and I have curl/volume that lasts all day. Leave it in while I brush my teeth/apply makeup, take the rollers out, bend forward and finger-comb, then flip up and to a spritz of hair spray. Sure, it loosens a bit as the day goes on, and on super humid days forget it, but at least there's SOMETHING left at the end of the day. I NEVER got that with hot applications. Sometimes the curlers slide down (it's like the cover doesn't click in or something) but you can secure it with a hair clip. I also use just the clip on the front section or I get a crease, but this is the best thing that ever happened to my hair.

BTW - I have the ion version, which I use (unless I'm leaving the house at the but crack of dawn before D-future-H because it makes a clicking noise) but I don't notice a difference in how my hair behaves on either setting. I'v read some people prefer (and still use) the salt method, but I haven't tried that. I did by an extra set of jumbo rollers (Amazon) and use them exclusively - my hair is about an inch past my shoulders.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BuffaloHockeyGirl on 2/8/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by BuffaloHockeyGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Meh... I just got these recently and I haven't had much luck with them. I HATE the crimp they give you from the big plastic cover. Not on does that plastic cover clip thing crimp your hair, but it doesn't really hold the roller in place. I would like to put these in and then go do other things like my makeup while they cool, but if I turn my head a certain way (or heaven forbid I should need to look down at something) the roller falls out of place. I feel like I'm balancing a book on my head!
It sucks because I really wanted a hot roller set and I saw somebody rave about these on youtube so I went with them instead of a traditional set and I'm really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gursk on 12/10/2011 8:54:00 PM more reviews by gursk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Loving my steam setters. Seriously. My fine, thin hair has just enough wave (just in the back!) to be neither straight or wavy, so I'm a slave to my blow dryer to give it any body or shape. Curling irons or hot rollers are a joke, with any curls falling flat in less than an hour.

I've had these for 4 months & find myself using them more and more. In Canada these are sold under the Revlon brand at London Drugs, but I've ordered some additional rollers from Amazon that are "Caruso" & they are almost identical & work just fine. (I wanted a few more of the smaller size).

Other reviewers here have gone through the drill of rolling your hair, my tips would be to MAKE SURE THEY ARE COMPLETELY DRY BEFORE TAKING THEM OUT. For me this is at least 45 mins. Sorry for the all CAPS, but that is a really important step, at least for me. You may want to pull out your blow dryer if your in a rush and give your head a few buzzes to speed up the drying.

If your hair is like mine, give the curls a good dose of hairspray immediately after unrolling, before doing anything to your curls (no water formula like Tresemme works great for me). You may look a bit like Shirley Temple at first, but the curls will relax.

The relaxed curls last. Seriously. I had big hair in the 80's when I lived in a dry, dry, dry climate. These give me big hair for the new millennium, even in the wet, wet climate of Vancouver!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wifemate on 6/6/2010 6:11:00 PM more reviews by wifemate

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The dents were an issue with me too, especially as my hair got longer. I do use the clips that come, because i also stteam them and it helps the curl last longer..something regular hot rollers c an't provide. Go get a set of little 'clips' that are like a small triangle. You don't have to pin it to death, but it helps keep the roller from rolling over the clip and leaving that dent. I actually have an ancient set i bought from ebay that has the salt, and i have to confess, they hold the heat better. I wish someone would make another salt set, or make it so perhaps you could put the setting lotion or whatever in the liquid. if you use too much styling product before you roll these on, they won't curl...your hair has to be DRY.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arvlyn on 11/15/2009 2:17:00 PM more reviews by arvlyn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE these hot rollers!!


I love the small unit, it doesn't take up much space on my dresser at all when I'm using it. My set came with three sizes of rollers and you can buy additional ones if you find you need more of a certain size. The clips hold the rollers very well and never cause any creases.


I love that I can use a styling product for hold for tight curls or none for loose waves.


It doesn't take long at all for the unit to heat up. As I take one roller off to use, I put another on the unit. It heats up perfectly in the time it takes me to section off and comb through the next section. I wait maybe 15 minutes after I've rolled my hair, checking to see that the rollers are cool, then remove them.


This unit does not rely on high heat to set the hair, it uses the steam. I feel this method is more gentle to the hair than other roller sets and especially more gentle than a curling iron.


Storage is simple. I just dump out whatever water is left in the unit, wipe it off and put it away. I keep the rollers in the original box with the unit sitting on top of it on a shelf in my closet and it takes up less space than my old Conair roller set.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angelixia07 on 11/15/2009 12:48:00 AM more reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

These hair setters does put curls in your hair but with that a hard crease line from where the roller and its clamping cup meets and there is nothing you can do to fix that unless you put your curls up. I cannot use this for my hair and leave it down it just doesn't look good. Also its pretty annoying to heat them one at a time and you end up with a million rollers in a bag. Having to fill it with water and dump it out and have it splash over if not careful is annoying too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* axialmeow on 9/25/2009 1:55:00 AM more reviews by axialmeow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I remember using these years and years ago(when they were sold via infomercial) and LOVING them. My roomate at the time and I shared a set and we both got great results. She had super long, waist length, bleached hair, very damaged and thin. Mine was a bit shorter, color treated, very fine. We both got excellent curls that lasted forever. Well, she kept the set when I moved out. I had cut my hair to chin length so I didn't have the need for them. Now that my hair has grown long again I figured I'd pick up a new set. I am sooooo disappointed! They don't work like they used to. My hair will be curly for about 15 min after taking them out then it's limp and frizzy with no real curl. I've used these a million times before so I know what I'm doing. One thing that's different is that no salt is added to the chamber. My old set required a pinch of salt. I just wish these still worked for me! I used to get such great results. I guess others don't have this problem though. So give it a try. They aren't expensive. Maybe I got a bad set?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattyngeorge on 4/16/2009 3:01:00 PM more reviews by nattyngeorge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

These are so amazing. I bought it after I read all of the positive reviews on the Sally Beauty Supply website. I always tried to get my hair to have celebrity looking waves and loose curls.. and this is the only thing that achieved that look for me. You can make loose curls, tight curls, large curls, small curls, make your ends go in, out, anything! AND, the best part is, it takes only a couple of mins to get them in your hair.. and at the most, 15 mins to let it set. Curling every strand with a curling iron is SO time consuming and would take me a least an hour. This saves so much time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkyohana on 12/8/2008 12:16:00 AM more reviews by pinkyohana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was rather surprised to not see Caruso on MUA, but this is one of the best Steam Hairsetters that I've owned. I've tried Conair hairsetter, Curling iron, Curling with a hair straightener, but nothing... Until I saw a sales girl at BeBe with amazing soft luscious curls. I had to ask and she told me she got a set called Caruso at Walgreens. I searched high and low since Walgreens did not carry it anymore. But I finally found it on Amazon! The reviews are amazing! YES! So I ordered the unit and could only hope for the best.

It's a small unit that steams up in a minute or less. The rollers are place on the unit individually. I find that day old hair is best and add a bit of product before you set up the steam hairsetter. I set up the rollers I need to use, take off the covers and place them next to each other. Once the unit has steam coming out of it, I wait a few more seconds to make sure the steam is hot enough. While I wait, I section off my hair. Put on the first roller on the unit and it gets hot in 10 seconds! Be careful, the roller may seem warm, but it is rather hot and sometimes moisture is inside the barrel if you leave it on the unit too long, so be careful of hot water/moisture that might come out. I gently tap just in case I did leave it on the Steam unit too long. I start rolling sections from the bottom back and work my way forward.

Clean up and storage is easy! I leave my rollers on as long as possible. I'll do my entire make-up routine. Then take out the rollers. My hair is amazingly soft with curls. The tighter you do the rolls, the tighter the curls... The looser the roll, the looser the curl, KWIM?? :)

Only complaint about this unit is that all the rollers are the same color for different sizes. If Caruso would do different colors for different sizes, that would be heaven! But even with that, it doesn't take any lippies away from this steam hairsetter.

Lots of practice with the rollers and you'll get perfect curls each and every time... I think I'm gonna curl my hair tomorrow morning! :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Styling Tools products