Unlisted Brand • Caruso Professional ION Steam Hairsetter • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LexiClarice on 9/29/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by LexiClarice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love my Caruso! I'm experiencing heat damage issues to the point that my stylist told me to lay off the flat iron for the next month. I had purchased this ages ago and just never got around to using it. I used it today and the result is hair full of bouncy healthy looking curls with NO heat damage to worry about! This is going to help me nurse my hair back to health while maintaing lovely hairstyles! If only I'd have used this instead of my Solia...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 robertson08 on 9/22/2014 10:53:00 PM more reviews by robertson08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This is the best NON DAMAGING roller set EVER. I have never tried rollers before I bought this product. The first time I used this product, I admit, I had no idea what I was doing. I watched YouTube videos of this product before I bought it and I was surprised that most of the reviews came from African-American women. I thought, if it could work on their hair, it can definitely work on mine. Plus, this roller set is DAMAGE FREE on your hair (huge plus), especially when your trying to grow out your hair or you already have damaged hair and are avoiding more. I put the roller in for about 15 mins, BUT, everyone's hair is different and I realized since I have medium straight fine hair that I should leave it in for 30 mins or more. Once I took out the rollers, I was pleasantly happy with the results. This set is fantastic, I will never use hot styling tools on my hair again when I can get away with not using heat at all. I usually finish off the look with a hairspray at the end. I went out to the club the other night and my curls lasted all night- so the staying power is great. I cant remember what I paid for the set, but I know it was worth it.

Since there isn't a picture of the product on here- I got mine from Sally's and the box is very old fashioned looking and red (don't let that deter you)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MadchenRogue on 8/18/2014 1:36:00 AM more reviews by MadchenRogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this since 1992! As others mentioned the original set you had to put some salt and even came with a bottle of lavender oil/essence. The newest model no longer needs salt and doesn't include lavender essence. For me this product yields excellent results every time. If you don't like how your curls are coming out, then it's your technique you need to revise. I know how to make spiral, body waves. Due to my type of hair, my hair stays curly for months! HG all the way. 22 years and counting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poncholefty on 3/10/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by poncholefty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OK, I lied - THIS is my HG. My hair would never even THINK of holding a curl until this. I would show it a curling iron and get a shrug - hot rollers would elicit sarcastic laughter. Yes, hair can laugh at you. But then the Caruso came along.

Again, I'd been pointed to this by MUA and was lucky enough to find one at Ulta (I gotta say, the biggest bonus of moving to VA is access to Ulta. Sorry, my D-future-H!!) It takes me about two minutes to set my hair, and I have curl/volume that lasts all day. Leave it in while I brush my teeth/apply makeup, take the rollers out, bend forward and finger-comb, then flip up and to a spritz of hair spray. Sure, it loosens a bit as the day goes on, and on super humid days forget it, but at least there's SOMETHING left at the end of the day. I NEVER got that with hot applications. Sometimes the curlers slide down (it's like the cover doesn't click in or something) but you can secure it with a hair clip. I also use just the clip on the front section or I get a crease, but this is the best thing that ever happened to my hair.

BTW - I have the ion version, which I use (unless I'm leaving the house at the but crack of dawn before D-future-H because it makes a clicking noise) but I don't notice a difference in how my hair behaves on either setting. I'v read some people prefer (and still use) the salt method, but I haven't tried that. I did by an extra set of jumbo rollers (Amazon) and use them exclusively - my hair is about an inch past my shoulders.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BuffaloHockeyGirl on 2/8/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by BuffaloHockeyGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Meh... I just got these recently and I haven't had much luck with them. I HATE the crimp they give you from the big plastic cover. Not on does that plastic cover clip thing crimp your hair, but it doesn't really hold the roller in place. I would like to put these in and then go do other things like my makeup while they cool, but if I turn my head a certain way (or heaven forbid I should need to look down at something) the roller falls out of place. I feel like I'm balancing a book on my head!
It sucks because I really wanted a hot roller set and I saw somebody rave about these on youtube so I went with them instead of a traditional set and I'm really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gursk on 12/10/2011 8:54:00 PM more reviews by gursk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Loving my steam setters. Seriously. My fine, thin hair has just enough wave (just in the back!) to be neither straight or wavy, so I'm a slave to my blow dryer to give it any body or shape. Curling irons or hot rollers are a joke, with any curls falling flat in less than an hour.

I've had these for 4 months & find myself using them more and more. In Canada these are sold under the Revlon brand at London Drugs, but I've ordered some additional rollers from Amazon that are "Caruso" & they are almost identical & work just fine. (I wanted a few more of the smaller size).

Other reviewers here have gone through the drill of rolling your hair, my tips would be to MAKE SURE THEY ARE COMPLETELY DRY BEFORE TAKING THEM OUT. For me this is at least 45 mins. Sorry for the all CAPS, but that is a really important step, at least for me. You may want to pull out your blow dryer if your in a rush and give your head a few buzzes to speed up the drying.

If your hair is like mine, give the curls a good dose of hairspray immediately after unrolling, before doing anything to your curls (no water formula like Tresemme works great for me). You may look a bit like Shirley Temple at first, but the curls will relax.

The relaxed curls last. Seriously. I had big hair in the 80's when I lived in a dry, dry, dry climate. These give me big hair for the new millennium, even in the wet, wet climate of Vancouver!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wifemate on 6/6/2010 6:11:00 PM more reviews by wifemate

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The dents were an issue with me too, especially as my hair got longer. I do use the clips that come, because i also stteam them and it helps the curl last longer..something regular hot rollers c an't provide. Go get a set of little 'clips' that are like a small triangle. You don't have to pin it to death, but it helps keep the roller from rolling over the clip and leaving that dent. I actually have an ancient set i bought from ebay that has the salt, and i have to confess, they hold the heat better. I wish someone would make another salt set, or make it so perhaps you could put the setting lotion or whatever in the liquid. if you use too much styling product before you roll these on, they won't curl...your hair has to be DRY.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arvlyn on 11/15/2009 2:17:00 PM more reviews by arvlyn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE these hot rollers!!


I love the small unit, it doesn't take up much space on my dresser at all when I'm using it. My set came with three sizes of rollers and you can buy additional ones if you find you need more of a certain size. The clips hold the rollers very well and never cause any creases.


I love that I can use a styling product for hold for tight curls or none for loose waves.


It doesn't take long at all for the unit to heat up. As I take one roller off to use, I put another on the unit. It heats up perfectly in the time it takes me to section off and comb through the next section. I wait maybe 15 minutes after I've rolled my hair, checking to see that the rollers are cool, then remove them.


This unit does not rely on high heat to set the hair, it uses the steam. I feel this method is more gentle to the hair than other roller sets and especially more gentle than a curling iron.


Storage is simple. I just dump out whatever water is left in the unit, wipe it off and put it away. I keep the rollers in the original box with the unit sitting on top of it on a shelf in my closet and it takes up less space than my old Conair roller set.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angelixia07 on 11/15/2009 12:48:00 AM more reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

These hair setters does put curls in your hair but with that a hard crease line from where the roller and its clamping cup meets and there is nothing you can do to fix that unless you put your curls up. I cannot use this for my hair and leave it down it just doesn't look good. Also its pretty annoying to heat them one at a time and you end up with a million rollers in a bag. Having to fill it with water and dump it out and have it splash over if not careful is annoying too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* axialmeow on 9/25/2009 1:55:00 AM more reviews by axialmeow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I remember using these years and years ago(when they were sold via infomercial) and LOVING them. My roomate at the time and I shared a set and we both got great results. She had super long, waist length, bleached hair, very damaged and thin. Mine was a bit shorter, color treated, very fine. We both got excellent curls that lasted forever. Well, she kept the set when I moved out. I had cut my hair to chin length so I didn't have the need for them. Now that my hair has grown long again I figured I'd pick up a new set. I am sooooo disappointed! They don't work like they used to. My hair will be curly for about 15 min after taking them out then it's limp and frizzy with no real curl. I've used these a million times before so I know what I'm doing. One thing that's different is that no salt is added to the chamber. My old set required a pinch of salt. I just wish these still worked for me! I used to get such great results. I guess others don't have this problem though. So give it a try. They aren't expensive. Maybe I got a bad set?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Styling Tools products