Chopard • Casmir • Fragrances

rated 3.8(126 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mimiacid on 5/7/2014 9:16:00 AM more reviews by Mimiacid

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Thankfully, Casmir absolutely loves me, and the feeling is mutual. I have a very generous MUA swapper to thank for my discovery of this beauty. I usually shy away from anything too boozy - Bond West Side, for instance, with its winy rose, worries me slightly lest people think I've been hitting the sauce when I spray it - and the descriptions of 'booze soaked fruits' concerned me a bit. But it's all so well-blended that nothing stands out as harsh or discordant. I get caramel, something slightly and deliciously boozy, a rich, sweet raisin or prune-like note, a dab of vanilla, and spices. Gorgeous, gorgeous oriental and very good value. It passes the ultimate test for me, which is that I get wafts of it during the day and think, 'what's that fabulous smell?' before remembering - of course, it's me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loobyl on 4/15/2014 6:17:00 AM more reviews by loobyl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought 30 ml bottle of this for 32 euros. Smells warm and vanillery and staying power is about 4-5 hours. Would use this for Autumn/Winter.Bottle looks cute.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shushkin2 on 12/27/2013 7:51:00 AM more reviews by shushkin2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a big fan of Fragrantica and take note of the reviews. This one sounded like a winner and it was. I have nearly a hundred scents so I am a bit of a fanatic. It cost peanuts but delivered like a really expensive perfume. Definitely a vanilla gourmand. It comes into its own as soon as it hits your skin. This is a perfume for cold weather wear. Warm, sensual and comforting. I cant say the fruit comes out on my skin but the other notes certainly do. Thankfully it is not sickly. I dont like the current tacky celebrity scents which always seem to be so sickly sweet. YUK!
My OH loves Casmir. Men seem to be drawn to it like magnets. The sillage is not bad, about average but the longevity is very good. Its a winner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harperhilton on 12/7/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by harperhilton

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

this is a coty vanilla fields, period.
i do not like either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 12/7/2013 9:33:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Created in the early 1990's, Casmir is like ordering from some type of fantasy dessert cart. According to Susan Irvine's "The Perfume Guide," the individual notes are as follows:

Top Notes:
Mango, Coconut, Peach, Cassis, Raspberry

Middle Notes:
Rosewood, Jasmine, Mandarin, Cinnamon

Base Notes:
Amber, Vanilla, Tonka Bean, Opopanax, Musk

Personally, I can't detect much in the way of rosewood or jasmine. Rather, this smells completely fruity gourmand to me. It's kind of like eating homemade peach cobbler with French vanilla ice-cream; sweet, warm and comforting. There are a lot of so called "dessert" scents out there today, but most smell like cheap candy or canned vanilla pudding. Casmir, on the other hand, is simply delicious.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anda on 12/10/2012 1:12:00 AM more reviews by Anda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely better for cool weather.
If you like voluptuous sweet-oriental scents like Jessica Simpson Fancy, Comptoir Sud Pacifique Vanille Abricot or even Pink Sugar, but want to upgrade to something a little more classic and classy, Casmir is the grown-up cousin to those scents; familiar and sweet but with an edge of powdery exoticism and animalic spice.

On paper, this can smell cloying as all the notes hit you at once. It's only on the skin that Casmir unfurls in soft layers like a luscious dessert. The initial fruity burst is very syrupy and sweet with undertones of caramel-ey toasted marshmallows, while a fuzzy powderiness and an oud-like rubbery note can turn some people off.

If you get past the treacly sweetness in the opening, you get a gauzy, enveloping veil that's not JUST vanilla. The musky amber adds some smokiness and depth, but I find the tonka to stand out most of all, creating that soft powderiness. If you like rich, ambery vanillas with a pinch of spice and complexity, give this a sniff. If you can't take sweet, voluptuous scents, don't bother reading any further down the page.

Lasting power is outstanding on my dry skin. Most scents weaken and disappear in about 2-3 hours for me but this has no problems lasting about 6-7 at a good scent strength before dying down to a soft sweet skin-musk for another couple of hours.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elle81 on 12/7/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by elle81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

If you like stronger perfumes like CD Poison you"ll probably like this one. A classic fragrance a must have in my collection (perfume addict), reminds me of the time when we used to live in Europe my mom would wear this. First spray it smells spicy amber once it drys down a bit I can smell the vanilla/orangey I just got this at Amazon large bottle $30.00. Plus free shipping.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 birdyb on 11/26/2012 12:54:00 AM more reviews by birdyb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wore this for a long time in my 20s and early 30s. I think I went through 3 bottles until I outgrew it- or realized that when I sprayed it on-even sparingly- I could taste it for the rest of the day. I used to feel like it was a warm cozy fragrance that could cut through cigarette/bar pollution. Men seemed to love it.
I ask different things from fragrance now. I enjoy the memories of that lovely red box and beautiful little squat bottle, but I'll keep the heavy vanilla scent at arm's distance.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emily0816 on 10/25/2012 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Emily0816

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I fell in love with this fragrance on a trip to visit my grandmother when I was 10. She bought me a sample of it and I loved the sweet, sexy, vanilla notes. About 20 years later, I repurchased it and was surprised that it smelled sharper, without the balance of the sweet, soft, vanilla that made it so delicious when I was 10. My advice for wearing Casmir is to give it time. Don't spray it on and immediately smell your wrist; you'll be confronted with an inharmonious blend of ... ick. The dry down is heavenly, and worth waiting 30-45 minutes for. I wouldn't wear this in the summer because it's spicy, but it's perfect for a cold evening.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chelles93 on 9/24/2012 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Chelles93

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this.

Very hard to find, but worth it. Everyone else has described the scent - it's hard to review scents because it's so objective. Definitely a staple and a repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chopard products

More Fragrances products