Shu Uemura • High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil Advanced Formula • Cleansers

rated 3.9(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mybeautycravings on 8/31/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by mybeautycravings

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil is my holy grail makeup remover.

Top 3 Reasons for Loving it
1. 100% Perfect Cleansing
2. Non-drying
3. Save on Facial Cotton

Check out full review and tips on how to get it cheap at http://tinyurl.com/nmzwf9j or google 'myBeautyCravings'.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 winniel on 7/30/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by winniel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this cleansing oil because like many others have said on here, it does a good job removing makeup and breaking it down for further removal. However, I don't use this alone. I usually use a makeup removal wipe afterwards to get what ever is left off, which usually isn't much anyways. I find that if I use this first and follow up with a wipe, the oil will breakdown most of my makeup that after I rinse off the milky substance and follow through with the wipe, the wipe is almost clean with a few spots of brown from foundation and black from leftover mascara. It makes me feel like I have a cleansed face that I can sleep without my makeup transferring onto my pillowcase. But other than makeup removal, I haven't really noticed anything significant it did for my face. My T-zone is seemingly less oily and more balanced now, though that may be because of other factors too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 omgVitasoy on 4/28/2014 2:46:00 AM more reviews by omgVitasoy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I wasn't sure about using oil cleansers because, like many other people, I wasn't thrilled about smearing oil all over my face as part of my skin routine. However, when I compared this with another oil cleanser (from The Body Shop), this one did a better job at breaking the makeup down. I'm always wearing waterproof mascara and liquid eyeliner, so I need something oil-based to remove it efficiently. That being said, this alone cannot remove ALL the residue from my eyes, so I have to use a second makeup removing product.

The sales associate from Sephora told me that this particular oil cleanser can balance out the dryness on my cheeks while keeping my oily t-zone in check. I have yet to notice a difference, so I guess I'll have to keep using it to see. Because of this, I don't know if I'll be purchasing this again.

It's a tad on the pricey side, but it's all about quality, not quantity :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sw33t_lil_em on 1/13/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by sw33t_lil_em

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I discovered this product about 8 years ago when Shu Uemura was still available in the U.S. Let me start off by saying that I'm pretty fortunate to have good skin: I have combination skin with a little dry patch and some redness on my cheeks, but other than that, I don't have blemishes, large or clogged pores, etc. So when I first got this and although I liked it enough at the time to repurchase it a couple of times, I wasn't blown away by the results. As I was cleaning my face with a cotton pad, I did see some dirt coming off, but I guess I was still turned off by it because I didn't think that it could deep clean my face well and I admit, I also felt grossed out by applying oil on my face. So I stopped repurchasing after Shu Uemura went away in the U.S.

Flash forward to today, I'm pregnant with my second child. My hormones has gone haywire, and I started breaking out with little red bumps on my cheeks for a while. I freaked out because like I said before, I always had good skin so staring at myself in the mirror with those little bumps was just hard for me to accept. So I started experimenting with different kinds of cleansers, and I happened to have this Shu Uemura balancing oil as a sample lying around my bathroom. I figured, "I have nothing else to lose, so why not give it a try again". I used up all the sample, which probably lasted about 3 days, and my face was 100% clear again! I could not believe it! I now believe that cleaning your face with oil works so much better than with other forms of cleansers. I now include a 2-step cleansing process in my routine, which is wiping the dirt off with this oil, and then exfoliating my skin with a gentle exfoliator. I thought my previous HG could kill two birds with one stone by deep cleaning and exfoliating at the same time, but it just doesn't do it as well.

I highly recommend this product! I'm really curious about the other oils from the rest of the line, but I'm sticking to this, because it works well on my skin and that's all that matters!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ninadavon on 9/29/2013 11:31:00 AM more reviews by ninadavon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Buy this product if you want a super rinsed face after a day of wearing make up.
I have been using this product for many years and repurchased it over 4 times. It is fantastic to cleanse and rinse the skin off of literally ANY make up. I always wear foundation and find it very hard to take it off with normal cleansers such as creams etc. until i found out about this fantastic oil.

Many people think the oils will unbalance the skin but the oils actually help to absorb all the dirt and make up and after a good wash my skin always feels super clean. It never clogged any pores, on the contrary, without this product my skin would be clogged with makeup left overs. Since this product is very costly I would recommend buying the 450 ml bottle because you get better value for your money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hotsweetchocolate on 9/17/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by hotsweetchocolate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Reading a lot of great review about this product, I decided to give it a try.

Overall, I gave it a three. Well, I enjoy the process of cleansing my face with cleansing oil. But with this product, you have to wash your face around 10 to 15 times with lukewarm water so you can remove the entire oil residue. But after that, I have to say that you can sense the clean and fresh feeling in your face. I love the scent, very light but nice.

Unfortunately, that's all the good news. In the third day using this, my face started to break out. I have to admit that my Shisho Cleansing Oil from The Body Shop do its job better, in more reasonable price.

Conclusion, I will not re-purchase it.. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadorange on 5/30/2013 7:49:00 PM more reviews by sadorange

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I almost balked at the price when I had to pay around $82 CDN for cleansing oil, but I couldn't resist the cute limited edition OB packaging with the Tsuki Hime and I was in dire need of a makeup remover.

I didn't feel too great paying $82 for something that contained mineral oil right at the top of the ingredients list, but for the ingredient-conscious out there: DON'T BE DISCOURAGED! This product contains sorbitan trioleate, which helps emulsify the mineral oil. In conjuction with other ingredients, the cleansing oil emulsifies with water and washes off your face without residue. Since mineral oil creates a barrier from the external environment, it was a concern of mine (especially about potential skin clogging) until I noticed the chemistry between the ingredients and felt that my skin did not have any residue left from the oil.

This was also the reason why I purchased this formula; although the other formulas touted special ingredients and benefits, it seemed pointless when the product was mostly mineral oil, conditioning agents and emulsifiers. The skin simply wouldn't have much time or opportunity to absorb the so-called beneficial extracts, they would all be washed down the drain. If you are reacting to this product, I HIGHLY suggest you to check if you are using this product correctly first: it is absolutely crucial, given the type of formulation for this product. Shu Uemura uploaded a tutorial on YouTube on how to properly use it.

This was also the cheapest along with the Fresh Pore Clarifying Gentle Formula, which does not contain mineral oil but seemed to have a watery texture (I don't want any drop of $$$ to go to waste by dripping all over my hands and neck!). If I were to buy the different oils in the line, it should be solely because of difference in scent and texture.

I really hate lugging cotton pads, makeup remover and cleanser every time I remove my makeup, so having just one bottle of Shu Uemura cleansing oil is really convenient. It removes every last trace of makeup- like others have said, try the toner test for yourself and the cotton pad will come out clean. Not to mention the pump lock system is extra convenient.

The smell is pleasantly floral, almost a little herbal. It's no white flowerbomb, so my sensitive nose didn't mind.

Official instructions vary between 3-4 pumps, but was actually fine with just one.

Although it is a one-step makeup removal product, my skin felt rather soft and not dehydrated at all.

This is the best makeup remover I've used. Lancome's Bi-Facil was pretty pricy given the amount given and left a greasy residue on my face. Bioderma's Sensibio H2O stung my eyes, didn't remove that effectively, needed a lot of product to be efficient and was pricey for the amount given. I've tried cooking oils such as EVOO, organic coconut and macadamia- while they were economical, the packaging made it very messy and I needed to follow-up with cleansing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carlala on 7/8/2012 4:44:00 AM more reviews by Carlala

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

When I first started using this, I thought putting oil onto my already oily face was rather odd. I felt like I was putting diluted glue on my face only the smell of the oil was a lot more pleasant. Washing the oil off was also pretty hard in the beginning that I had to use a foaming cleanser to get rid of the greasy feel! My SA told me that the oil was supposed to cleanse the entire face without needing additional cleansers though, so I tried just using two pumps of the oil and warmer water as recommended, and the greasy feeling was gone. The warm water melts the oil off unlike the cold water I first used! Cold water won't remove the oil entirely and is probably the cause break-outs! Then after a month's trial, I found that this left my skin less oily, and it seems that my skin's oil production is distributed more evenly. I now also find it a lot easier to emulsify the oil and rinse it off and that I need less product per wash. It did not break me out either. In short, I grew to absolutely LOVE this product!

The oil removes my bb cream quite well without needing to wash twice though not nearly as well for my heavier eye-makeup. I used to find it troublesome that to apply the oil, I needed dry hands and a dry face, but it's not too much of a problem. Also the lockable pump is very easy to use, avoids accidentally wasting the product, and makes it easy to bring around during travel. So far, one bottle is lasting me about 4 months, so I think it's a worthy purchase and will definitely recommend to those of you with sensitive, acne-prone, or oily skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mi2092 on 6/19/2012 3:31:00 AM more reviews by mi2092

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Big NO for me. I got a deluxe sample as GWP. Since I didn't have the full size product but it look nice from the picture I gave the packaging a 4. But this thing broke me out. I don't break out easily so I was pretty surprised. Thought it was the change of weather or stress due to traveling. But l figured out every time I used it I started breaking out. For the record I rub this oil on my face and eyes to take of the make up. wipe it off with tissue then use cleanser to wash off the residue.
The worse part is my eyes became unbearably itchy after using it. I can't prevent it from getting into my eyes when I use it. It kills me that I have to deal with the itch! My eyes became red and I have little bumps inside my eyelids. you might say maybe it's my makeup getting in my eyes causing this. But I use coconut oil to do the samething too and it doen't give me itchy eyes. Now I know for sure it's the cleansing oil.
I don't fine it benifiting my skin other than being makeup remover. being so pricy and causing so many problems, this is not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Camchichi on 6/6/2012 8:13:00 PM more reviews by Camchichi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Found this product after my Japanese friend suggested it to me and have been using it for about 6 months - and LOVING it! I use it as my only morning cleanser and at night. An absolute must for removing my makeup and my secret weapon for nights when I need to take off makeup and cleanse quickly without having to put in much effort.

PROS
-removes anything (makeup, antibiotic creams, drying spot treatments etc)
-balances skin like none other!
-controls oil throughout the day
-lasts for about 3 months so price is totally justified
-gentle on my uber sensitive skin (For example, my skin is so sensitive that I get hives from scented laundry detergent)

CONS
-I need to use a deeper-clean cleanser after the cleansing oil because my oily, acne-prone skin needs it to keep acne at bay. This is not a one-step cleanser for me
-this is the only version of Shu Uemura's cleansing oil that I can use - the others totally broke me out!
-can't use in the shower because you must apply it when face is dry

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Cleansers products