NARS Multiple Duo - Orgasm / South Beach

3.4

10 reviews

20% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/29/2012 12:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I was younger, I debated buying this or the similar but cheaper Sugar -Tropic Tan Blush and Bronzer Duo. I bought the latter and really regretted it- it looked like clown makeup on my fair skin.
This is simply the best. I have fair skin with golden undertones, and Orgasm blush really works for me. It's subtle but makes a huge difference. Since I'm so fair, a lot of bronzers look stripey or orange on me but not South Beach. And the coverage is buildable, which I love, since I go from fair to tan in a summer.
The only drawback to this duo is that the palettes are really narrow, so when I dip my blush/bronzer brush in one, I feel like I get a lot of the other.



on 11/3/2011 1:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm a bit surprised at the low ratings for this based on how much love and adoration NARS seems to get around here. That said, I don't have any of the regular stick Multiples to compare against so my experience with them so far is solely based on this and personally, I like it a lot. I'm a highlighter and blush addict and this is a great addition to my collection for a couple reasons: it can be used as not only a blush, bronzer or highlighter by itself, but can also be layered over other blushes and bronzers to add some oomph without being OTT. I can use a little, or a lot and build up if desired to achive a little glow, or a lot of glow. I was initially concerned that the shimmer would be obvious in certain lighting (think fluorescent) but it's not. It's so fine it's barely noticeable because it sort of melds in with the skin. I do like the compact despite that it could be either more 'compact' or the pans made bigger to utilize more of the interior space. The large mirror is nice though, and I plan to refill the pans with other cream blushes when I use up the ones in here, like a DIY palette. I like this for travel; it's one of two NARS palettes I always bring with me (the other is the Paradise Palette) because these two meet all my blush, highlighter and bronzer needs in two compacts. I don't know that I'll run out and repurchase this one when I use it up though. I haven't experienced any irritation or breakouts from this, but I do not have sensitive skin whatsoever. Lasting power is pretty good, especially worn over a powder blush or bronzer. For the price I could probably get a stick Multiple with more product in it, but for me this is a great way to try a couple of them without a huge commitment, and I was lucky enough to swap for this so can't look a gift palette in the mouth, so to speak :)


on 3/22/2010 10:26:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is one of my go-to products. The South Beach color is a great cream "bronzer", I especially like it for me as a neutral eyeshadow - it brightens up the eye area. It can also be used as a light bronzer to add some glow and contour to the face. It's equally nice as a bronzey-blush. Orgasm I use on my cheekbones for a classic peachy-pink blush. I use this product almost every day, and find it very convenient, flattering, and worth the price.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

These go on very sheer and almost are the same color. I would call them a cream to powder to formula but they don't really set well and kinda migrate. Sometimes I get an occasional tiny breakout from using these.
They make a good base for NARS powder blushes, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2009 5:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I recently had a makeover from a NARS SA and she used the Orgasm/South Beach Multiple Duo on my cheeks. I loved the glowy look both of the multiples created so I bought the set before leaving the department store. At home, I still liked the way the multiples created a glowing appearance on my cheeks but it was too orange and dry to use on my eyes or lips. Plus, it creased after 1 hour on my eyelids and I have fairly dry skin so creasing of eye make-up typically isn't a problem. Unfortunately, after two days of use, my cheeks have broken out so badly that I feel like I'm back in the 7th grade. I read on the NARS web site that the multiples are oil-free but it isn't always oil that can cause break outs. Sadly, I had to return the multiple duo to the department store as I cannot use it again. I'm going to stick with NARS' powder bronzer and blush.


on 3/25/2009 12:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

It burned my face! I might be allergic to this, and I've NEVER been allergic to ANYTHING before! I tried this product for the first time last night, sweeping it across my cheekbones and eyelids, and left in on for a half-hour or less before washing it off and going to bed. When I woke up this morning, my cheeks were flaming red and burn-sore, and my eyelids were puffy, pink, and sore. I'll give it one lippy for longevity--it looks like I'm going to have flushed cheeks for a while!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2009 4:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

With all the hype surrounding Nars Orgasm, I was expecting a fabulous product, but sadly I'm a bit disappointed. The texture is creamy, easy to blend and dries into a nice powder finish. But, the colors are very sheer and not pigmented enough. I suppose that if I really layered the product then I would get the result that I am looking for, but I'm not really into caking on any makeup product. Another downside is that to me dewy, glowy skin just looks greasy and unnatural (the product itself isn 't greasy, but the finish appears this way). I have seen photos of women with medium skin tones who look nice with this product, but for me I just look sweaty and pink.


on 2/3/2009 8:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Had no clue I was buying a creme blush/bronzer. Creme anything makes me feel like I could break out. I use both the bronzer and blush when I'm going out on the town. Otherwise, I stick to just my powder from of Orgasm. I'd recommend this if you want to look glowy when out on a special night out on the town..other wise stick to the powders.


on 1/14/2009 10:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this, but don't love it...
The packaging is great, of course and the orgasm color is nice in a cream formula for blush; but as I am so pale (NC15) even the south beach bronzer is too dark for me. maybe it'll be better in the summer when I get some color back but it's an awkward shade for eyes or lips, so I'm stuck not using it. Basically, I bought the duo because it's pretty and I like the pan packaging vs. the stick multiple, but like the previous reviewer said, it's much less product than the stick- but you do get two colors.
Overall, I wouldn't buy it again and it's expensive for $45.00.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2008 3:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Product - I'm not a huge fan of the stick Multiples because they are so firm - I find them hard to work with in general. But, I do love multi-purpose products and this packaging is more conducive to using fingers for application; like NARS creme blushes, I can warm up the product with my fingertips and this makes it easier to apply and blend. Orgasm wears on my AAB/NC25 skin the same as the powder blush by the same name - shimmery peachy pink. South Beach is more of a shimmery golden honey-bronze (it's listed as a "shimmering apricot", but I don't really see the apricot); I don't get much use out of bronzers, but as it's a multiple, I can use this on lips or eyes instead.


Comparisons - These are exactly like the bronze and peachy pink shades in VL Face Paints in Light Ray... but the VL palette also has a third shade/highlighter in shimmering honey-champagne. The VL colors are also wearable on eyes, lips, and cheeks, but the texture is softer and creamier than the NARS.


Packaging - Standard NARS packaging, black rubbery exterior with full size mirror under the lid. Two rectangular pans of color, like the NARS blush/bronzer duos; same overall size as NARS individual bronzers, pressed powders, and 6-pan lip or e/s palettes. The pans don't reach from end to end in the compact, so there is some wasted packaging space - enough to notice, but not enough to annoy me.


Overall - The product is nice if you don't already have similar in your stash AND have the $$ to spend... The individual stick Multiples are a much better value for your hard-earned money: $37 for 0.50 oz stick, vs. $45 for 0.28 oz duo.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
66 Reviews
NAKED
2241 Reviews
The Nudes
73 Reviews
NAKED3
369 Reviews


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
Back to Top